We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel The Grand is Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #12 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sofitel The Grand is Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Sofitel Legend The Grand is grand indeed. Located within the Central Canal Ring you know that you will be staying at a grand hotel the minute you walk into the central cobblestoned courtyard. We were greeted by several doorman who handled our luggage, then escorted us to the front desk. Equally impressive was the courteousness and thoroughness of the staff. Our luggage arrived wiithin minutes of arriving in our superior room. Room 410 (top floor) faced one of canals. We had a lovely view. Our room was well-appointed with a very comfortable bed and down-duvet. The bathroom has a wonderful walk-in shower with both rain-shower head and a separate shower wand. Towels hung on a warming rack which was very nice. The first morning we treated ourselves to the scrumptious buffet breakfast The waitstaff was very attentive and pleasant. After a long day of walking Amsterdam we took advantage of the in-house swimming pool and sauna. The spa is serene, quiet, clean and well stocked with towels and a perfect way to refresh. The Sofitel is only several blocks away from the Red Light District and Dam Square where you can hop onto any tram or bus to take you around Amsterdam. The concierge was always helpful in arranging dinner reservation even at the last minute. Check out was very easy and the staff had arranged for a taxi to take us to Schipol Airport. The Sofitel Leged The Grand is a superb luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    954
    228
    64
    35
    18
See reviews for
175
625
62
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here mid May and were very impressed. Our junior suite was large with a lovely view of the canal. Our Room was spacious very comfortable and we loved the history and location of the hotel. We were going on a cruise for two weeks and Paul (concierge) said when we return two weeks later we could leave our luggage at the hotel for the day as our flight was only at night. We were very grateful for that. All the staff we met were wonderful and very friendly and accommodating. We would definitly return to Sofitel Grand legend. We were within close walking distance to Dam square, good restaurants and shopping.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed four nights at The Grand. The hotel has an excelent location, you can walk to the main Amsterdam's attractions. Clean sheets and rooms. Great pilows. The bed was too soft for me, then I asked the reception and they fixed this "problem" in a few minutes. My room had a Nespresso coffee machine and a great shower. The give you still water and nespresso coffee as a complementary. The pool and the room service were really great either.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for one night in April 2012 prior to a river cruise, and were very impressed by the ambience of the hotel and the service at the restaurant. The hotel was a convent at one time and then became a town hall, but the rooms and public areas are totally modern. There is a nice inner courtyard and a sculpture exhibition during our stay. The Bridges restaurant served excellent seafood. I had dinner there by myself because my wife was not feeling well, and the waiter managed to serve me very quickly at my request, and I finished my dinner in 30 minutes! The breakfast next morning included an amazing outlay of fresh fruits, juices, cold cuts, bread and hot items to order, and we had one of the best waitresses we ever encountered. We would rate this breakfast experience perhaps only second to the one at the Liao Liao Resort in Argentina. The hotel is also located near the Dam Square and an easy walk to many places of interest. This was our third visit to Amsterdam, and if we go back there again, this would be the hotel of our choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed two nights for the business. Hotel is very nice, location very OK, without dirt and noise directly nearby. Service absolutely good and welcoming. What was disappointing, that the rtoom airconditioning system did not work at all. There was +25 outside, and maybe same also in the room. I asked twice to check it, but as it stayed like this I also dont know the reason why it was not fixed in the hotel with such class. Was it not caring, which I cant believe or just completely broken aircon. Nobody explained...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed the service and The Grand’s city centre location.

During your stay the air-conditioning system in the entire hotel, indeed broke down. Technicians worked non-stop to solve this as soon as possible, but it is still a shame that you were not informed about this during your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

When your future travel plans include Amsterdam, I do hope you will choose to stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, so we can prove ourselves better.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Clearly, this hotel has good everything you would expect for this level of accomodation. So, no surprise you find it almost falutless. Location, especially, cannot be beaten. But, hey, this comes at a price. I think they could as well lower the rates of some 30-40 EUR. Parking you car close to it proves also difficult and/or expensive.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for your stay and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding parking your car, may I inform you that the hotel does offer a Valet Parking service, priced at €50 per 24 hours? Hopefully this will be helpful, should you visit Amsterdam again in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.