We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #12 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rayleigh, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday. On arriving at reception we found to our dismay that the 3 rooms I had booked through a website had not been received by the hotel, therefore only one room had been allocated. After a brief discussion the receptionist went away only to return to give us good news - they could fit us all in! From then on our stay at this hotel was truly memorable. The receptionist gave us drinks vouchers to make up for the confusion - even though it was not their fault, which was a very nice touch. Once they knew it was my birthday I received biscuits, dried fruit and half a bottle of champagne. All a lovely touch. All the hotel staff were friendly and attentive. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night which didn't disappoint - quality of the food was amazing and worth the cost. The hotel also has spa facilities (which we didn't have time to use) plus a small pool which we did use! The one good feature of the pool is the 'infinity jet' which definitely works! All in all a very enjoyable weekend break and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am happy to read that, despite the confusion upon check in, you were able to fully enjoy your stay with us on this special occasion.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again and hopefully you will have some more time to enjoy the SoSpa facilities.

A bientôt,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    280
    78
    38
    21
See reviews for
227
797
73
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at The Grand for 4 nights in mid March and it was truly EXCELLENT. I have stayed at most of the top Amsterdam hotels (The Amstel, The Dylan, etc.) but in my opinion The Grand is far superior. Every member of the staff at The Grand treated my wife and I like VIP's at all times and were eager to please. I can honestly not think of a better run hotel anywhere. The location of the hotel is perfect- only one block south of Dam Square in the middle of the Centrum.

The hotel looks breathtaking inside & out. (Check the tripadvisor photos.) A major renovation was completed not long ago so all of the rooms feel brand new. Lastly, my recent great stay at The Grand was not a fluke. I've had great experiences there for years. When given the choice I always stay at The Grand because it simply is the Best of the Best...!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear James,

It is with great enjoyment I have read your review. Thank you so much for all your kind words. It is an absolute honor to read your words about the service provided by our Ambassadors. We always aim to treat our guests as VIP’s.

Thank you for your loyalty and taking the time to share your experience.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my husband's 40th birthday as we had stayed there once about 8 years ago and had already thought it was fabulous. But this time, it was even better - the hotel has been renovated completely and is now very modern. Upon arrival, we found out that they had upgraded us to a junior suite and we also found a birthday cake in the room, which was really nice (and very good!). Breakfast is expensive (35 Euro/person) but very nice. All in all an amazing hotel with very friendly staff and a nice spa. Would definitely go back there anytime...

Room Tip: Room 352 (junior suite) has a very nice view out onto the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate this special occasion. I am delighted to read we have turned your husband’s birthday in a memorable one.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

stayed for 1 night, for business.

Great location
impressive building
friendly staff
incredible break-fast buffet
large and modern rooms
Bridges is the best fish restaurant you can find in Amsterdam
(low) WiFi is free (still not standard at many upscale hotels)
real turn-down service

the only "minus": staff is trained to say "bonjour", "merci" etc. but if you want to continue the conversation in French, they have to apologize for not speaking French.....so, a lit awkward/artificial.

if you can get a deal like I got (upgrade to suite, free break-fast, free wine,...): unbeatable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Erwin,

Many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Sofitel is a chain of French origin and as part of our French ‘DNA’, greeting the guests with ‘bonjour’ or ‘bonsoir’ is indeed the standard in each Sofitel around the world. We strive to always have an Ambassador on duty that speaks French as well.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Legend on the 20/04 - 22/04, when we arrived we were upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful and with a lovely view over the canal. The reception staff were helpful and very knowledgeable of the local area. The location of the hotel is one of it's biggest assets, but don't be put off by this as we no problem with street noise

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent, my only complaint would be that the service was a little slow. This was also evident at breakfast, I would recommend getting down early or you might have to wait for a table.

All in all it is a lovely hotel with excellent staff in the perfect location, I would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 350, overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Merci bien for taking the time to review your recent stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is great to learn you enjoyed the hotel, its location and the staff so much.

Thank you also for addressing your experience in the restaurant during both breakfast and dinner. I will ensure the speed of the service will be improved.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We booked this hotel through American Express Fine Resorts and Hotels Collection. If you've ever used this amex service you know that you can expect high end amazing quality. The hotel was in a great location, central to the square in Amsterdam but far enough away (a few blocks) that you could feel a sense of peace and quiet in and around the immediate area of the hotel. Rooms were really nice, the service was great. We enjoyed hanging out in the bar and appreciated the special drinks that Ruddy made for us; he was a great bartender. There was another guy (maybe in his late 30's early 40's) looked very nordic (maybe germanic) who worked at one of the other bars. He was also awesome. We had a lot of fun and will definitely return in the near future. Thanks again for a great stay, we enjoyed. Also I should mention the beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We had such an awesome sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear guests,

What a wonderful compliments, thank you for that. I will make sure to share your review with Rudy and Dennis (I believe this the Ambassador you are referring to) and the rest of the team.

The beds you enjoyed so much are Sofitel MyBeds (called SoBed in the US), which are especially designed for Sofitel and available in all Sofitels around the world.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again the near future.

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.