We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Amsterdam hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #11 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Top Amsterdam hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

stayed for 1 night, for business.

Great location
impressive building
friendly staff
incredible break-fast buffet
large and modern rooms
Bridges is the best fish restaurant you can find in Amsterdam
(low) WiFi is free (still not standard at many upscale hotels)
real turn-down service

the only "minus": staff is trained to say "bonjour", "merci" etc. but if you want to continue the conversation in French, they have to apologize for not speaking French.....so, a lit awkward/artificial.

if you can get a deal like I got (upgrade to suite, free break-fast, free wine,...): unbeatable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Erwin,

Many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Sofitel is a chain of French origin and as part of our French ‘DNA’, greeting the guests with ‘bonjour’ or ‘bonsoir’ is indeed the standard in each Sofitel around the world. We strive to always have an Ambassador on duty that speaks French as well.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    994
    235
    66
    35
    19
See reviews for
189
655
63
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Legend on the 20/04 - 22/04, when we arrived we were upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful and with a lovely view over the canal. The reception staff were helpful and very knowledgeable of the local area. The location of the hotel is one of it's biggest assets, but don't be put off by this as we no problem with street noise

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent, my only complaint would be that the service was a little slow. This was also evident at breakfast, I would recommend getting down early or you might have to wait for a table.

All in all it is a lovely hotel with excellent staff in the perfect location, I would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 350, overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Merci bien for taking the time to review your recent stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is great to learn you enjoyed the hotel, its location and the staff so much.

Thank you also for addressing your experience in the restaurant during both breakfast and dinner. I will ensure the speed of the service will be improved.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We booked this hotel through American Express Fine Resorts and Hotels Collection. If you've ever used this amex service you know that you can expect high end amazing quality. The hotel was in a great location, central to the square in Amsterdam but far enough away (a few blocks) that you could feel a sense of peace and quiet in and around the immediate area of the hotel. Rooms were really nice, the service was great. We enjoyed hanging out in the bar and appreciated the special drinks that Ruddy made for us; he was a great bartender. There was another guy (maybe in his late 30's early 40's) looked very nordic (maybe germanic) who worked at one of the other bars. He was also awesome. We had a lot of fun and will definitely return in the near future. Thanks again for a great stay, we enjoyed. Also I should mention the beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We had such an awesome sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear guests,

What a wonderful compliments, thank you for that. I will make sure to share your review with Rudy and Dennis (I believe this the Ambassador you are referring to) and the rest of the team.

The beds you enjoyed so much are Sofitel MyBeds (called SoBed in the US), which are especially designed for Sofitel and available in all Sofitels around the world.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again the near future.

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in the world without doubt! My wife and I have stayed at this hotel since it was in the Demure group and even though it has changed owners since then standards have not slipped in each of my 9 stays over the years. I have been through the range of rooms as my fortunes have changed so would consider myself a good judge of this hotel.
Somtimes the staff will offer upgrades and free parking but this is not the sort of establisment that you should expect freebies, it is expensive but worth every penny. Service and food are always great as is the location and ambiance. If you are in the market for a suite its well worth asking the reservation staff if there are any VIP apartments avaialble, at least twice the price but oh my they are somthing special and will give you a memory you will never forget.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, yes its expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Bonjour madame & monsieur,

First of all, thank you so much for your continued support of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. A guest returning time after time is in fact the best compliment we, as a hotel, can get.

I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you on your 10th visit.

Sincerely,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Hotel is located 5 minutes away from the city center.
The building is just fantastic inside as outside.. new and old linked together, decore is amazing!
The interior is warm and modern.
Rooms are large and extremely comfortable.
Restaurant is very stylish and has a fantastic garden.
Staff is very professional and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer, from the rooms to the service provided by the team and the hotel's city centre location.

I’m pleased you appreciated the décor; the interior designer indeed made a great effort to incorporate the rich history into the new architectural details in many ways.

A bientot,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel was by far the best we have ever stayed in. We booked the Junior Suite, but i am sure that we were upgraded to an apartment, with Butler service. The room was huge and was amazing. Loving the My Bed. Best nights sleep in a long time!! We chose this hotel for a special birthday celebration and we were treated wonderfully. It was quite overwhelming. To begin with we checked in early and shown to our room by our lovely butler, who was fantastic, so helpful. The hotel then sent up a birthday cake, which they organised. A total surprise. We asked our butler which Indonesian restaurant he could recommend, and he actually booked us one we had seen on the web prior to us coming to Amsterdam. But thought it was too late to book as booking is done well in advance, but he managed to get us a table, which was fantastic. It was called Tempo Doeloe, highly recommend it (thats another review). The breakfast, with complementary champagne was great and the staff new it was my husbands birthday, and brought him in a Dutch apple cake with candle (more like a flare) and the waitress, who was so lovely sang to him, amazing voice. We felt so spoilt. During our stay there were so many other things that the hotel did for us that made our stay spectacular. On our last day the hotel let us have a later check out time as they new we were getting a later flight and arranged a transfer to the airport. Overall, all the staff at the hotel made our stay so much more than what we were expecting, it was quite sad to leave. Since we have been back, we have recommended the hotel to all our friends and family. Thank you all so much. Brilliant memories of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is none. I would imagine that all the rooms in the hotel are wonderful. But the suite/apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you chose Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate your husband’s birthday. And even happier to read we succeeded in turning it into something special.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit among us.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.