We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My favorite hotel in Amsterdam. This is a truly Grand hotel. It is within an easy walk from Centraal Station. 2 blocks to the Dam Square, many museums are walkable, the Anne Frank House and the Flower Market are also walkable.
Bridges Restaurant within the hotel is excellent, particularly for seafood. They have a good wine list which includes a few selections from Holland as well. The central courtyard is delightful in warm months for dining or a drink. The lobby bar area is quiet, relaxing and has good selection of single malts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal. The rooms on the courtyard side are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your positive review and your room tip. We are very pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be so convenient and that you enjoyed the food and wines offered by our restaurant Bridges. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    250
    72
    36
    21
See reviews for
199
724
67
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

I travel a lot and stay in lots of hotels for fun and work.

This hotel is amazing! I always pay attention to the service and here I was amazed. It was a dream!

Please note that The Netherlands is a country were generally the client is almost never first even if you spend considerable amounts of money, i.e., Metz & Co in Amsterdam - worst client service ever. Don't bother to visit.

So with that said that this hotel makes yout stay lovely!! The staff puts attention to every detail.

Everybody is friendly, attentive and food and quality are great.

Loved room service and I was amazed by the service at the restaurant too. They have delicious sea food.

During our stay, We got three times drinks from the house.

We got upgraded so we stayed the first night in a suite and it was perfect! Living room, dinning room. Big bathroom and lovely room with walk in closet. We can't complain at all.

We couldn't leave the hotel after the great expirience. And we literally didn't leave the hotel since we went from room to great restaurant and bar and then decided to stay another night.

This time we got a normal room and still we enjoyed it very much. Thanks to the good attitude of staff.

This hotel is well located since its in the middle of the center and still gives you the relax feeling. If you want to make use of the spa book it in advance because it could be very busy.

It is quite expensive but it's more than worth it. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. We are honoured that you found our service to be outstanding. It is also a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed both your rooms and that you enjoyed the seafood at our restaurant Bridges. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Excellent service and amenities, the lounge is amazing, so was the brakfast. Located in close proximity to the red light area and coffee shops.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for posting your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We are also delighted to learn that you liked the lounge in our restaurant and our breakfast. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Kind Regards, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Close to the center of things but flanked by two quiet canals, Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam provides an excellent base for tourist or business traveler. The former Amsterdam city hall has become a luxurious hotel with an excellent seafood restaurant. It is an easy ten-minute walk from the train station and all the principal tourist stops are likewise easily accessible. The service is excellent, the rooms plush.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for leaving your review. We are honoured by your compliments on our hotel and restaurant. It is a pleasure to read you found the location so convenient and that you enjoyed our service and your room. We hope to welcome you back soon to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Do not waste your time researching any other hotel in Amsterdam ... as the Sofitel is the perfect choice!

My wife and I were there for our one year anniversary and the staff were so accommodating that they triple upgraded us to a junior suite! The rooms are beautifully decorated with a stylish twist that make you feel right at home ... and the beds ... they were so comfortable! We slept like absolute babies every night thanks to those beds!

The breakfast was great and you'll start the day with a big smile - we also ordered room service and absolutely loved it as well!

In a nutshell, you're going to walk a lot in Amsterdam and you need to be able to retire to a place that is going to be super comfortable, offers great food and has service with a smile ... and the Sofitel delivers on all of them!

(P.S. They offer free wifi throughout the hotel which was pretty cool as I could check in on work every once in a while ... which obviously allowed me to relax even more knowing that everything was being taken care of)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful anniversary celebration with us. We are also happy to read you slept so well in our Sofitel MyBed, and that you enjoyed our service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed two nights in a superior room at the Sofitel. I must say it is not as nice as other Sofitel. The room although 2 levels above Classic room is rather small and furnished ok, and not upscale. The first room that was assigned stunk chemical mized with smoke odors. I was changed for another room without much problem.
I did not like the low pressure shower head and the price ( circa EUR 30-35) of the breakfast. The restaurant is not well lighted and the food is ok but not worth EUR30.
I liked the location and the pool.
In general, l think the room was overpriced (360/night) and the service good but not like with the other Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy that you liked the location and the swimming pool, but we would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. We would like to stress how much we value your feedback and satisfaction. Therefore, we hope to speak with you directly regarding this matter. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience. We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Wonderful old building with a lot of cozy corners (old palace), great decorations (beautiful fresh flowers everywhere) with a mixture between classis and modern (award winning), very friendly service, central location (3 min. walk from the Dam), small but nice spa

Room Tip: 355 is maybe the best hotelroom. Very quiet (internal garden) and one of the first rooms with sun on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the mix of historical and contemporary design. It is also a delight to read that you enjoyed our service and location. We hope to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.