We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #12 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for about 10 days in July. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were normal size for European standards, with a nice bathroom and good range of Hermes ammenities (though for me, they felt more a scent men would prefer than women). Bed was softer than I am normally use to, but comfortable none the less. Use the free "low speed" internet in my room, which met all my needs e.g. could still do skype video chats etc. My room faced the inner courtyard, so was very quiet. Breakfast is very good, but you have to order hot food (so if you are in a rush, order it as soon as you step inside). Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main train station, and just on the edge of the red light district and shoppin area. So you are not in the middle of any, but only a stones throw away, which made the hotel very suitabel for me (ie all the convenience without the noise, but again I had a inner courtyard viewing room). lastly, there is a gym, but it is very small with just a few cardio machines and some weights and one other machine.
Only 2 small negatives were , the room rate is not cheap for those on a budget, and the lift if you need it is al little slow.
All in all, a great hotel, good location, nice rooms, and friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
We delighted to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and made good use of the hotel’s central location to enjoy the city. We are especially pleased that you found our staff so friendly and helpful. With regards to your feedback, we deeply appreciate your comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Yours, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    238
    67
    36
    20
See reviews for
190
672
65
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam for 2 night before out 12 night Baltic cruise. The staff was wonderful, the hotel specatcular, the outside restaraunt and garden was so special and the our rooms was superb!! The hotel has a wonderful location within steps of shopping, dining, attractions and just great people watching. If you have the chance to stay do it, if not have dinner, drinks, lunch or breakfast in the wonderful garden setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much. It is a pleasure to learn that your room, the service of our staff and the restaurant met all your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the future.
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a good stay at this hotel 10 months ago, and decided to stay here again. When we first arrived it was all good and we were greeted by a very helpful guest relations manager and shown to our room. The experience turned for the worst the night morning when we went for breakfast the next morning. Understandably it was a Sunday morning at 9.30am so it was packed full. The restaurant is composed of mainly a few large square tables of 8 which means you have to share your breakfast table with 2-3 other groups of guests if the restaurant is full. Otherwise you wait until a table is free - could have been at least half hour. Not a very nice "first thing in the morning experience" to share a table with strangers, especially when breakfast costs €33 per person. Service was slow at breakfast and we were not even served our coffees until we had almost finished breakfast. We also had to flag down staff to order our coffees and hot food. Again for €66 this has to be the worst and most expensive breakfast ever.

We were in our room getting ready to check out before 12pm and we had 2 staff ring our bell wanting to get in the room. It was really disruptive as we obviously had not checked out so room could not be cleaned yet. Not sure if this is their way of scooting guests out of the hotel.

When we went down to the lobby to check out, there was one long queue of about 5 groups of people waiting to be served by 2 staff. I got in line but when I got to the front of the queue another line had formed behind the desk of the second staff - effectively pushing in. The staff paid no attention and just served whoever was in front of her desk. This has got to be the worst service on check-out I've ever had. I must have waited for 15 minutes but people who pushed in did not even had to wait 2 minutes. The arrangement at reception should be made more clear to avoid misunderstandings. Even though the hotel bill had a €50 charge for overnight parking the front desk staff asked if I needed transport. Mmmm...

There were some exceptional staff at this hotel but it's typical Sofitel which I have found really is a Novotel that is better designed and decorated with designer toiletries, better bedding and a fancy restaurant and bar. Attitude is the same as any other mass market hotel chain mentality. As we were dragging our bags out to the car, the front door staff just watched us and only offered to help when we were moving our last one, which was really funny.

There is no bath in the superior rooms but shower only. The shower head had very poor low pressure even though it was about 20cm wide. The rooms facing the front can be noisy as well.

Overall it's a nice hotel on the outside but they need to improve on the "software". They also opened a spa and swimming pool on the 1st floor since the first time we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear valued guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations, certainly after your good experiences during your previous stay. We appreciate it that you shared your concerns with us, and it is our genuine hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had the most amazing time in Amsterdam and the hotel was the best we have stayed in, everyone was so helpful with such comfortable room & beds, my wife loved the way when we came back from our evening out to find our curtains had been closed :-) . we would deffinatly stay again. Loved the pancakes at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are excited to read that you had an amazing time in Amsterdam and absolutely honoured to hear that the hotel was part of your experience. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our turn-down service after a day in the city and that the pancakes in the morning left such a lasting impression.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Amsterdam can be a bit rainy, which is to be expected, but on one of our days it was absolutely torrential all day. This is the perfect hotel to be as we never had to leave. we ventured out into the cold and rain for a bit, but came back to a spa visit and a little time in the sauna to warm up. Service here is definitely first rate, Gabrielle went out of our way upon check in (room was not ready) - but we had an upgrade to a junior suite and their IT person came by while we were waiting and hooked up our internet. From making dinner reservations to ensuring all our needs were met, this hotel met all of our needs. Central location and very easy to navigate from there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to hear that –despite the weather conditions- you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our So|Spa became your refuge from the rain. We are also delighted to hear that you so actively made use of our services and that we met all your needs to make your stay a comfortable one.
We are looking forward to receive you in the future!
Yours, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

First off, the location cannot be beat. While it is a block off hte Red Light District, it is like a little oasis--very quiet and relaxing. I would recommend you opt for a canal view room as it is just beautiful viewing the canal, especially in the middle of the night. The price was reasonable for a 5 star hotel. The room was comfortable if a bit tight. The bathroom was narrow and a bit weird. The hotel restaurant (Bridges) was just ok--a bit pretentious and overpriced--but the breakfast buffet excellent at 33 Euros. The pool was small and changing rooms tight but nice to have. Check in easy, nice outdoor courtyard and small bar. Coffee shop Greenhouse down the block with a friendly mix of folks.

All in all, a great experience with a few minor flaws.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in the middle of the city centre. It is nice to hear that you liked your room with canal view and the serene courtyard. Furthermore we are glad that you appreciated our breakfast buffet so much.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights with breakfast included.
The location is perfect, 2 minute walk to the centre square and right next to the red light district, even if you don’t want the red light district this Hotel is still worth the stay. The service at the front desk and the concierge cannot get better.
The rooms are decent size with the best beds & pillows, like sleeping in a marshmallow, (maybe that had something to do with the cake I ate)
I did not use the restaurant but it always seemed busy. As for the breakfast it is very very good, very fresh, they will make whatever you want and it even includes champagne, you will not get better anywhere in the world.
The only down side it has no bath (but the shower is large and very good) and for some reason no free wifi in your room, only the foyer. In today’s world I cannot understand why Hotels don’t include this as it cost them nothing. These things did not bother me as I am happy to shower and I was on holidays and did not want to know about the PC.
This hotel is a true 5 star hotel with best service you could ask for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam so much. It is nice to hear that you liked the bed and pillows and that you were so pleased with our breakfast buffet.
We want to inform you that for the wifi in your room you always have the choice between free wifi and high-speed wifi at an extra charge, we are very sorry this was not communicated correctly to you. Furthermore we do have rooms with a bath but this depends on the room type you booked.
We want to thank you for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.