We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay - wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #11 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay - wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Sofitel The Grand was our second stop on a 4 stop honeymoon. The hotel gave us a complimentary upgrade and champagne to celebrate the occasion. Aside from the upgrade, the staff was extremely warm and welcoming upon check-in. They escorted us to our beautiful room which overlooked the courtyard and walked us through all of the features of the hotel room.

The room was well decorated and very clean. The bathroom was amazing, with a dual head shower, a large soaking tub and his and hers sinks. Also, the location of the hotel itself was great as we were within walking distance of the city center. We both used the gym, swimming pool and steam room (all complimentary) during our stay. While the gym was definitely tiny, the indoor pool was a decent size. The concierge’s recommendations were all a hit from Pancake Bakery, to a new Vietnamese restaurant, to a great wine bar. Even though the weather wasn’t ideal (pockets of rain the whole weekend) our trip was excellent because of Sofitel The Grand. We will definitely be back and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much and especially because it was part of your honeymoon. It is nice to hear that you liked your room and bathroom, the location and that you had the opportunity to make use of our So|Spa. As well as that the concierge’s recommendations were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    996
    236
    66
    35
    19
See reviews for
189
658
63
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was just perfect. What a beautiful atmosphere and nice people. We stayed in a Prestige Suite (124) and the room was very, very nice. Could not be better. Very spacious and clean. The service we had was outstanding, especially at Reception and Guest Relations, beautiful and very kind ladies!! We defenitely are going back to the Grand. What an amazing hotel..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guest, We are charmed to hear that you had a great stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the room and the atmosphere in the hotel. As well as that you appreciated our service so much. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Service second to none, we have stayed here before and was well worth going back, and will use this hotel in the future, friendly staff, in the middle of the town easy access to night life etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and of course for your stay in our hotel in the heart of the city centre. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam again and especially that you appreciated our service so much.
We are already looking forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We were upgraded to a suite apartment which had a full kitchen and its own entrance. This made our stay in Amsterdam very special. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom with double vanities and a good amount space, the living room very spacious. Everything is brand new and furnished in a stylish fashion that is comfortable at the same time. If our travels take us to Amsterdam again, we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback. At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam your opinion is of utmost importance. We are delighted to learn that your Suite Apartement added to your experience of the city and that your stay in the suite was so comfortable. It is also a honour to read that you liked the design and style. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

stayed here for 4 days in May 2011
within walking distance of the central train station as well as the Dam area
it is an oasis in the busy and touristy area

The architecture and interior decoration is truly exquisite, there is a large flower filled courtyard to relax in, and the staff are very professional and helpful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear that you had an exquisite stay with us in our historical hotel. It is very nice to learn that you experienced our location as an oasis in a busy and touristy area. As well as that you enjoyed the architecture and interior decoration. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

i visited this hotel with my girlfriend on June 2nd for 3 days and had a great great time! they upgraded us to the William suite and offered great service all around , i specially want to thank Mauricio and Domingo who were our butlers and were of great assistance , i cannot recommend this hotel enough , if you want to visit Amsterdam and want a genuine 5 star experience look no further. other perks are great location, and the best in room dining you can ever taste! try there daily chocolate dessert and the 4 cheese pizza! to top it all of they have a horse carriage downstairs that can take you anywhere!

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are charmed to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We find it very pleasant that you enjoyed the service of our butlers and the in-room dining so much.
We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Grand and stayed in one of their newly renovated apartments, truly amazing with its oversize living-room (complimentary nespresso machine included) and bathroom (best shower ever) and its quiet, comfortable bedroom. Nice view on a small canal (sleepy swans drifting slowly at night, their neck twisted back to rest their head on their feathers, a sight to be seen). I stayed in this hotel 5-6 years ago and it looks so much better now : I remember a very outdated decoration in the bedroom but everything looks fresh now. There were beautiful pink and violet tulips everywhere in the hotel, it was gorgeous.
The breakfast room is impressive, not to be missed. Breakfast itself is good although not as good as Sofitel London or Berlin. The food at the restaurant was good, not amazing, and the service a bit slow although restaurant was only half full.
Location is very good, red light district very close but you wouldn't believe it, there was absolutely no nuisance from it.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much. It is nice to hear that you liked the refurbished apartment you stayed in and that you appreciated the daily fresh flowers.
We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.