We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #9 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Very good experience in this historic hotel. Great decor in the hall, in the garden and in the restaurant. Great service from the reception to the housekeeping. In the modern room nothing is missing.
Did also the guided tour of the hotel to discover the different historical room.
Position is perfect in the very centre of Amsterdam.
Having to find a negative thing, taxi are not waiting outside the hotel. the concierge has to call them and usually it takes ten minutes. But this is nothing compared to all what is offered from this hotel.
Tea time amazing.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us in our historical hotel. It is very nice to learn that you had a very good experience in our Restaurant Bridges and that you also enjoyed our garden and service. We would like to assure you that we will address your comment regarding the waiting time for the taxi. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    256
    73
    37
    21
See reviews for
206
735
68
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

A beautiful Hotel from start to finish. Lovely room overlooking the canal, fantastic bed!...so comfortable. Excellent service. All in all a great place to stay - will go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand we feel your feedback is extremely valuable and it is a pleasure to hear you had a great stay with us . We are very pleased that you enjoyed the quintessential Amsterdam view and Sofitel MyBed in your room. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Wonderful stay in the heart of Amsterdam! The restaurant serves amazing seafood, the bar is cosy and opens on a intimate garden. Service is elegant and friendly. There is a fireplace room next to the lobby where it is nice to relax and have a drink after walking around Amsterdam. We'll come back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. At Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand we value your opinion greatly. It is an absolute pleasure to learn you had an amazing experience in our restaurant Bridges and that you also enjoyed our garden and Library so much. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stopped there for 3 nights and was very well looked after.
food and service is fantastic!!
It is in the centre of amsterdam turn right out the hotel and your in the red light district, but you wouldnt know from inside the hotel. turn left out the hotel if you want to avoid the red light area. Anyone put off by this should reconsider visiting the city as you will stumble unplanned into the red light area where ever you stay.

Loverly building (where the queen got married), fantastic staff, swimming pool, gym all things considered you must stop there

Room Tip: 10 minute walk from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your encouraging review about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We were very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and especially the location. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We spent a long weekend at Sofitel The Grand in March 2011 for a city break. The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of everything. After arriving from the airport, we managed to walk everywhere - not a single taxi, bus or tram was required! Very handy for sightseeing, attractions such as the Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank's House, the Red Light District and the Bloemenmarkt, shopping and lots of fantastic restaurants all within easy reach. Our room had a lovely canal view, which we also enjoyed.
We asked if there was the possibility of an upgrade from a basic room (as this was the only type of room available at the time of booking) and were offered different types of rooms at an additional cost. So we paid an extra 30 euros a night to upgrade to a Superior room, which we had wanted to book in the first place. There was no option of a free upgrade, which we have previously been given at the Sofitel St James in London. Also we did not receive a voucher for two complimentary drinks at the bar as we do at the Sofitel St James (due to having the Sofitel loyalty card). However, once all that was out of the way, we were happy to be given a brief tour of the hotel and be shown to our room.
The room was very nice apart from one major upset - no bath! I like to take lots of baths on holiday as I don't often have time at home, so this was a real shock. Even in the most basic room at the Sofitel St James there was a bathtub, so for this to be missing in a Superior room is unacceptable. Another issue with our room was the sliding bathroom door, which did not seal closed. This made me feel very uncomfortable using the toilet (right next to the door), as I could see part of the room - I feel that ladies need some mystery when it comes to using the toilet! Apart from these issues, the room was nice and spacious and had a Nespresso coffee machine in it. The bed was comfortable and the room was kept clean and tidy by housekeeping. It was a very warm room and because the cool fan option didn't seem to work, we had to switch the temperature controls off and open a window. There was a bit of noise late on Saturday night from passers-by, but nothing major.
We really enjoyed our breakfast at The Grand as there was a huge selection laid out and cooked items available to order. We also had champagne cocktails in the bar one evening, and they were excellent. We used the spa twice, enjoying the pool, sauna and steam room. Unfortunately there are only a couple of seats at the side of the pool, so there is no space to relax there. Also the jacuzzi wasn't working.
All staffmembers that we encountered were friendly and helpful, apart from on one occasion. We asked a staffmember at the concierge desk specifically for tickets for the City Sightseeing Tour Bus (as you can buy the vouchers at the desk). He then showed us a guide for the Touristbus Amsterdam and a map of the route. We explained that we wanted the hop on, hop off bus and he told us that we could hop on & off this bus. We assumed that there was no other tour bus so we went ahead and purchased the vouchers and went on that tour bus. Well it was a strange old bus (not open top), the information provided on the tour was minimal, and basically it was a lot of rubbish. The bus stopped at a diamond factory and they tried to get everyone to go on a tour in the diamond factory and get back on the next bus. We hadn't planned to visit the diamond factory and we didn't want to. So we asked if we could stay on the bus. There were a few looks exchanged and they asked us if we really didn't want to go on the diamond tour (they tried to tell us that it was good!) then they agreed to let us stay on the bus and we waited about twenty minutes for the bus to get going again. Later on that day, we saw the Amsterdam Sightseeing Tour Bus, the good quality, open top tour bus that we had actually wanted to go on. Lets just say, we're not too happy that the hotel didn't sell us the tour we wanted or even just be honest that they didn't sell the vouchers for that tour but we could get them at XYZ. I would like to warn future guests to make sure they go on the good bus tour. We would like to visit Amsterdam again, so hopefully we can right this wrong.
Overall, it is a lovely hotel and the location is ideal. We would happily stay here again, but next time we will make sure the room has a bath and a proper closing bathroom door. Also we will be wary of being mis-sold any bad tours.

Room Tip: Pay for it! Make sure theres a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for your feedback but most of all for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the location, the room and our restaurant Bridges. However we would like to assure you that we will certainly address your points of improvement. At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam we consider your feedback as the most valuable tool to evaluate the high quality of service expected by our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.