We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location and Old World Feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Location and Old World Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Friendly staff...clean rooms, old world charm...that is what this hotel is all about.
Even know it is a Starwood brand hotel, it feels very boutique.
The staff is attentive and willing to help at any moment.
Amsterdam is a great city!
We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear your nice comments about our hotel especially about our staff, cleanliness and charm of the hotel. We are all looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Pulitzer during your next stay in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    611
    234
    94
    64
See reviews for
301
938
116
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Amazing location right in the 9 streets area. Great restaurant at the back of the hotel. Make sure you get a canal view. Robin, the concierge gave some really good tips on where to eat, what to see and other insider tips.
There's also a boat cruise at night which is nice.
Great restaurants and bars within walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
It was with pleasure to read your comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed our service, restaurant and location. We always do our best to create a memorable stay for every guest and we are delighted to read that we have met your expectations. I have shared your compliments with the entire team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With kind regards,
Alexander van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The Hotel Pulitzer is a bit odd in that it is a connected maze of canal houses forming a single hotel. It is likely not odd for Amsterdam, but unusual for a visitor staying there. The very central, canal side location is terrfic for easy access to all of downtown Amsterdam. The public parts of the hotel are compact, but attractive. Our room was also compact but had all the requisites for a comfortable stay- better than average bed, linens, towels and toiletries. Front desk service was always friendly and helpful- but they always seemed overwhelmed and long waits were routine. Like most expensive hotels they charge for internet access- not sure why less expensive houses offer free access and multi-star expensive ones charge, but that seems to be the trend. We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The service was at best average in both cases and the food average or a little better. Breakfast was overpriced; dinner about normal.The stay was too expensive for value received. While anyone would appreciate the location and a good enough experience you just have to decide if the tariff is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience about our hotel with other travelers. We are happy to read that you found the location terrific. We do understand that the layout of our hotel is unusual but this will offer our guests a real experience of Amsterdam as the hotel consists of multiple canal houses. Unfortunately we have not met your expectations in regards to the price-quality relation. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly when you would like to share your thoughts with us in more details. We do hope that you will return back to our hotel and that we can make your stay an memorable one.

Kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Pulitzer for 4 nights over the New Year and had a wonderful time. The hotel was right on one of the nicest canals in Amsterdam and we had a canalside room which had the most comfortable bed. The room was fairly simple and just large enough for us both but everything was there that we needed - the only thing that was slightly annoying was the lack of movies to watch (their movie package was very limited) but we had so much fun exploring Amsterdam that it didn't really matter!
The hotel had a lovely little expresso bar where you could get really delicious cappucinos/teas etc. and dutch pastries and croissants for breakfast. It also had a very good restaurant open all the time and a bar for all cocktails etc. so we were very happy with the facilities. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and all spoke perfect English which was a real boon! We walked everywhere and had the most fantastic New Years Eve when the whole of Amsterdam exploded into a impromptu firework display with people congregating on the beautiful lit-up bridges with their glasses of champagne-we loved every minute of it and would go back again. The journey from London with Eurostar to Brussels and then Thalys to Amsterdam went very quickly and luckily all connections worked well. A really relaxing and fun 4 days ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
It is a pleasure to read you had a wonderful time at Hotel Pulitzer and in Amsterdam during New Year’s Eve. We are happy that our associates have made your stay a memorable one. Your comments with regards to the amount of presented movies will be taken into consideration during the upcoming update of our system. I would like to thank you for your feedback, it is most welcome. It would be a pleasure welcoming you back in the near future. In closure, I wish you good health, happiness and prosperity for 2011!
With kind regards,
Alexander van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed in room 503 directly on the canal for 3 nights over Christmas after upgrading from one of the more basic courtyard facing rooms which had a small bed and small window. Our room was a good size and very comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the quality of the bedding and mattress, it was one of the most luxurious beds we have slept on. Only negative point to make would be the valance on the bed had dirty marks all round it but we didn't complain as it is just a decorative thing. The breakfast is very good and worth having although the cost is high. We only had it because our upgrade included it. Our biggest complaint about the hotel is this high cost of wifi. We travel a lot around Europe and nowadays hotels provide free wifi in both the rooms and public areas. This is not the case at The Pulitzer and we felt that at the very least, Executive or the most expensive rooms should have the priviledge of free wifi. Another minor complaint is that tea/coffee making facilities and bottle opener etc should be in the room for your free use. They are free but you have to request them and then feel obliged to tip room service when it is delivered. These things should be provided in the room without you having to ask. Minor complaints aside we really had a lovely stay at this hotel and the service was wonderful. We had read some bad reviews about the service before we arrived and were concerned that the reception staff would be rude and unpleasant but fortunately I can say that they really were lovely to deal with and very professional. We will definitely return to the hotel but would make a request for one of the canal rooms on a lower floor with larger windows so we have a fuller view of the canal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
As we are constantly trying to improve our service, your feedback is highly appreciated. I would like to inform you that I have shared your compliments with regards to the efforts made by our associates with the entire team; they were pleased to hear your wonderful comments and happy they were able to give you a great experience during the Christmas time at Hotel Pulitzer. Please be informed internet is offered free of charge at our business center, located in the lobby area next to our reception. Nevertheless we will keep your suggestion in mind for in the future regarding the internet when using it on the rooms. Your comments with regards to additional amenities in your room will be taken into consideration for improving our standards and the guest satisfaction in the near future. The marks on the valance are certainly not what you might expect from a five star hotel like Hotel Pulitzer and I would like to offer my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. Our housekeeping department is already fully aware of your feedback. In closure, it is a delight to read we are able to welcome you back in the near future and we will do our utmost to give you an exceptional experience.
With kind regards,
Alexander van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

A wonderful place to stay in Amsterdam.

Strengths:
- location
- extremly friendly employees
- nice and cozy rooms
- big hotel but feels like a small luxury hotel
- free of charge breakfast for platinum members

Weaknesses:
- parking fees: 55EUR (eg. Sofitel is about 30 EUR)
- breakfast is good but nothing exceptional (I would not pay for it)
- gym is small

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor. We always strive for providing our guests outstanding service and we are pleased to read that we have met your expectations. Your comments with regards to the breakfast buffet have already been discussed with our Chef to improve our service in the future. Our parking costs are based on the average fees the central city of Amsterdam is charging for parking in the city centre. With regards to the size of the gym, please be informed that we are very limited to what can be done due to the old age of the buildings (most were build in the 1700’s), the structure and restrictions imposed by the Dutch Society for the Preservation of Monuments. However, it was never our intention to give you a feeling of discomfort. Once again, thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated, and we would like to welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards,
Alexander van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here for a week in July and had a courtyard facing room on the top floor. It's a great hotel with very unique design. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Certainly, I have no complaints. However, I can't say that there was anything truly special about the hotel that justified the cost. The overall experience of staying at this hotel is somewhat cold and sterile. It seems that this property could deliver a truly memorable experience if they stepped up the service and value for the money. It misses some of the nice touches that boutique hotels should offer. Overall, it provides excellent, professional service for the business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the time taken to write your review regarding your stay in July. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the room you have stayed and your nice comment about our unique design. Nevertheless it’s a shame that we have not provided you with a memorable stay with us and I would like to inform you that there have focused on our service last half year. Therefore I do hope that you will be able to visit us in the future to experience our improved service again. Your feedback is always appreciated.
With kind regards,
Alexander van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.