We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Unique Hotel Experience-- Great Location- away from Redlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #43 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Unique Hotel Experience-- Great Location- away from Redlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This is one of my Favorite and most unique hotels that I’ve stayed at. The Hotel Pulitzer is so fantastic. Its in a perfect location, right on around the corner from Anne Frank Haus. The hotel is made out of something like 28 houses that have had the walls in-between removed to connect the hotel. The inner courtyard is covered by gazebo like glass tunnels that wind and turn up and down connecting many different buildings so that you feel like you are in a fun labyrinth with a different dozens of different staircases that lead to different buildings-- a “Amsterdam induced” experience through the hallways is “highly” recommended. There is an art gallery in the lobby, the bar is very cozy with couches. Rooms are small, but so is everything in Amsterdam. Super interesting hotel that you shouldn’t miss out on.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at Hotel Pulitzer. I’m glad to read that you appreciate our hotels’ unique character and location. Hopefully we may welcome you again soon at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    543
    198
    86
    59
See reviews for
264
815
104
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel towards the end of March. We had 2 separate stays booked - the first for one night and the second for 2 nights...for two nights in between, we made a quick trip to Brussels and stayed there for two nights at the LM Brussels. Overall, we had a great experience and cannot wait to return!

We landed for our first stay fairly early (around 9am) - I had been in touch with the hotel early on to check about early check-in and was advised that they would try their best to ensure a room. They also mentioned that they would charge a fee of 50 Euro if the room were to be ready before 9am (which I was fine with). The hotel had pre-upgraded us to an Exec Canal room (the standard Plat upgrade) but that room was not ready upon check in. We were given a choice of waiting for a couple of hours in order to check in to the upgraded room or check in to a regular room...given that we had just come off a 9hour flight, we decided to check in to the regular room. The room was comfortable but quite small - we were too tired in any case and just spent the day resting.

We checked out the next day to go to Brussels and came back two days later to check in. The hotel had pre-upgraded us once more and gave us a choice between a Junior suite and an Exec Canal view room. The Junior suite was very quaint and we loved it, but unfortunately the beams were a little too low for us (we are both 6 ft. tall). We decided to take the Exec Canal view room which was terrific - spacious, luxurious with a fantastic view on the Prinsengracht side (See pics). We had no issues with noise as reported in some earlier posts.

The hotel treats SPG Platinum guests very well - the Plat rooms are definitely a great upgrade from the regular room (MUCH more spacious and a much better view). The free breakfast provided to Plats is a nice touch - the buffet spread was great, and comes with made-to-order omelets which were superb. The internet connection was fast and worked without any problems - when we checked out, they had added the breakfast and the internet bills to our folio by mistake but readily removed them on being reminded that I was a Platinum guest. Each room also has 2 bottles of complimentary bottled water.

The hotel itself is simply gorgeous- very traditional with a great location right in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood. The rooms are fairly luxuriously appointed and were on par with other luxury properties we have stayed at (for some strange reason, the toilet paper resembled those found at airports - hope they replace it with paper of better quality). The beds at the Pulitzer have to be hands down the best beds we have ever slept in...we love the Westin and W beds but these beds blew all those out of the water. We had a really tough time waking up each morning!

The hotel has a maze like interior which we had fun exploring. There are multiple wings and stairs but there are ample signs everywhere. Some of the steps were quite steep (see pics below) but we used the elevators for the most part. Overall, it never really felt like we were at a chain hotel...we felt more like being inside a house (and I mean this in a positive sense) - having access to such unique properties is one of the reasons why we continue to remain loyal to SPG .

There are tons of great cafes within walking distance (Vyne, a wine bar next to the hotel was especially superb - great for dates ). There are also some good ethnic restaurants - Poorna (Indian) and Sampurna (Indonesian) both had great food and an upscale ambiance. We did not really try the restaurant at the hotel except for breakfast.

The staff were exceptional - right from the front desk to the waiters at the restaurant. Everyone spoke flawless English and seemed eager to help. Unfortunately, the hotel no longer offers a local gift as a choice for Plat amenity...they did offer some cookies instead of the points and we took the points one time and the cookies the next. The hotel also runs its own 10-seater boat (the explorer) and we took a tour of the canals on it one evening...a fun experience (38 Euro each).

Overall, we were very happy with our stay - I had booked this on a Cash & Points rate of $90 + 4800 Starpoints a day...and the cash rate was well in excess of 250Eur for each of those nights for the most basic room. At these rates, it was definitely great value for money...Amsterdam is a lovely city and staying at the Pulitzer made our trip even more memorable!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to compose such a complete review, here on Tripadvisor. I’m glad to read that we were able to give you the unique, indigenous experience we always aim for. Moreover; it is great that you recognize the extra efforts we undergo to make you, as a SGP Platinum guest, feel more valued since you are so loyal in visiting our hotels. On behalf of everyone at Hotel Pulitzer, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We have been staying at Starwood hotels for a few years now after taking advantage of the Starwood Points program. The Pulitzer Hotel is in the luxury line of hotels that Starwood owns and has its own charm and personality.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location close to the tram line, shops, cafes, restaurants, etc. Getting to the hotel is very easy via public transport – once at Centraal Station, exit onto the street and take tram 17 or 13. One hour on the tram is 2.60 Euros, or you can purchase a 24 hour pass for 7 Euros (good value if you are planning on travelling around the city). Approx three stops from Centraal station and the hotel is within walking distance of the stop (look for the big green flags). The hotel had scaffolding on the outside but there was no active renovations taking place in the interior. We arrived early in the day but the hotel managed to get our room ready in two hours and kept our bags for us while we explored. Staff were very pleasant and attentive to our questions and requests.

The room itself was cozy – hardwood floors, comfy king sized bed, in-room safe and mini-bar. The bathroom was quite spacious given that we were in a European hotel room. We were given a gift when we got to our room of a blue delft tile with typical canal houses and the Pulitzer’s address on it. A very nice token from our stay at the hotel. There is a business centre with two computers and free internet for a limited time period. There is also one more computer in the lobby area for guest’s use.

The concierge keeps tickets for both the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum. If you are interested in attending either of these places, purchase your tickets in advance from the hotel concierge. When you arrive at the museums, you are able to skip the line with tickets in advance. We skipped both lines which would have been at least a 1 hour wait without our pre-purchased tickets. We also purchased tickets online for other city attractions at the business centre and printed them off prior to going.

The only downside of the hotel is that we must have had a family staying in the room above us – given the age of the building and the hardwood that each room has, we could hear EVERY movement the family made at various times throughout our stay anytime they were there. We didn’t feel it was worth it to request a move since we weren’t staying much longer, so the hotel may have done something if we had mentioned it.

Overall, a lovely stay – great location, clean hotel, comfortable bed. When in Amsterdam, you won’t want to spend too much time in your room anyway, there is just too much to see and do!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your detailed description of the hotel and for your feedback here on Tripadvisor.
It’s always a joy to read that we were able offer you a unique experience here in Amsterdam. However I’m sorry to read that you heard every movement from the guests in the room above; Please know that we would have been happy to search another room for you. When you plan your next visit to Amsterdam, it would be a pleasure to accommodate you again.
Warm regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I am on the fence about the value in this hotel. Great location and staff. The bar is very nice and the gym adequate. We had a canal-view room but the view of the 70's building across the way is not particularly interesting. The ground floor garden rooms might actually be a better value as the garden is quite pleasant and it gets some sun. They charge a ridiculous rate for WI-FI which should be free at this point in any hotel. And our bathroom could use a redo.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, hotel manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for your compliments regarding our associates. I have shared these thoughts with the rest of my team and they were very pleased to hear that you appreciated their efforts.

I regret to read that you did not enjoy the canal view of your room. Hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back in the hotel and accommodate you in one of our beautiful garden rooms.

Warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I travelled with two other friends from the US, all of us guys, so we are already spoiled with huge hotel rooms. Space and comfort were the only things we were really concerned about. The room was not the biggest but all three of us were perfectly comfortable in the room. The service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly, accomodating and triend their very best to make our stay very comfortable. The hotel is situated on a quiet canal in the Prinsengracht area but not far from shopping and exitement.

The bathroom was very Luxe with great products. Huge tub, great shower and the robes and slippers were great. They even brought an extra set for the third room guest.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, hotel manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Dear valued guest,

With a smile I am reading your extremely positive comments here on Tripadvisor and I am very happy you and your friends were very satisfied with our hotel.

I am very delighted to see that you appreciate the efforts made by our associates to make your stay, one to remember. I have shared your compliments with the rest of the hotel team. Thank you again for your great feedback. If you will return to Amsterdam, it would be a pleasure to accommodate you again.

Warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I was afraid of being disappointed after having read some of the reviews on your site. Simply cannot understand why people were so critical. We were utterly impressed and satisfied with everything. We were upgraded to a deluxe canal view room in honor of our anniversary. The breakfast - thankfully included in our excellent room rate (1800 hotels) - was fabulous and the atmosphere so relaxing. ( The only criticism we have is that the bacon was funny smelling.) A great way to start a day of siteseeing in such an atmospheric neighborhood of Amsterdam.
The reception staff were pleasant and always friendly and helpful.
We could find no fault with anything at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to compose a review here on tripadvisor.
I’m glad to see that you gave us the chance of giving you a unique experience in Amsterdam. I hope that we may welcome you again soon for yet another indigenous experience!

Warm regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

This is a lovely hotel. Check-in experience was smooth and quick, whilst my room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The in-room entertainment was excellent, with numerous TV channels in many languages and many radio stations and film options.

Just one criticism - my bathroom was very small. The shower was in the bath and very limited floor space. The standard of fittings was high, but the space did rather let it down.

The breakfast was good - lots of fresh fruit and cereal/bread choices too. There was a hot buffet offering, although I did not try this.

Location is good - close to the centre, and on a canal.

For a business guest, this was an excellent choice. It does seem to be very expensive for Amsterdam though. Try and get some deals on the rack rate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay at Hotel Pulitzer. It is great to read your review and I’m glad with your feedback.

Because Hotel Pulitzer consists out of 25 different canal houses dating back to the 17th and 18th century, it has been a challenge to balance the size of the guest rooms and their bathrooms; this is one of the aspects that makes the hotel unique.

I’m looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel within the near future for yet another indigenous experience.

Warm regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.