We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in an incredible city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, Amsterdam 1016 GZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #46 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Gettysburg, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel in an incredible city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

You know it's a good hotel if you remember the name 2 years later. This is on my Top 10 favorite hotels. Great room, comfy sleep. Informative and willing to help concierge desk.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennartMaas, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2009
Dear loyal guest,
Thank you for positive feedback. It is with great pleasure to read that Hotel Pulitzer is one of your favorite hotels. I will surely pass
on your compliments about the great room and helpful concierge to the relevant department heads. However, since feedback helps us improve our guest service, do not hesitate to provide me with more detailed information regarding your stay.
In closing, dear guest, it would be my pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Pulitzer in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lennart Maas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    889
    519
    198
    83
    58
See reviews for
242
771
101
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new south wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

From the moment we stepped inside the staff were warm and friendly. The hotel was in a great location. The rooms were a little dated and the plumbing was poor. (when in the shower/bath the water got half way up your legs) it didnt runaway quick enough. The a/c was not cold enough, and sometimes the corridors were too hot. Be careful of the taxi company the concierge use ( they overcharge). The restaurant and bar were very good and the quality was high. However, the bar staff had to be asked about bar snacks, before they offered them. ( this is supposed to be a chain standard) Re room locations. The garden/ courtyard rooms are much quiter than the canal/view rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennartMaas, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2009
Dear loyal guest,
I am delighted to read that our associates made you feel welcome during your stay. Furthermore, it is with great pleasure to read that the location of Hotel Pulitzer, with its 25 canal houses was very convenient for you. Nevertheless, I truly apologize for the inconvenience occurred during your stay. I would like to assure you that I have had contact with the relevant department heads in order to strive this will not happen again in the future. On behalf of all associates, it would be my pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Lennart Maas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed one night. Check in was efficient. After flying all night it was a nice surprise to have rooms available by mid-morning. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Location is great. Located on the main canal, you are centrally located. Just a short walk to the main square, and even shorter walk to the Anne Frank house.
Room was very nice and comfortable. Quiet.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennartMaas, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2009
Dear guest,
Thank you for your honest and positive feedback regarding your stay with us. I am honored to read that our associates made you feel welcome and met up with your expectations. I am please to read the location of Hotel Pulitzer was convenient to you as well. Hotel Pulitzer consists of twenty – five canal houses which have the heritage of the Amsterdam culture. I read your stay was excellent, but do not hesitate to provide me with more detailed information regarding your stay, since thorough feedback helps us improve our service. I look forward to welcome you back to the Pulitzer Hotel in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lennart Maas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We were in Amsterdam for 2 days as part of a quick tour of several European cities.

We used our SPG points for the room so no free upgrade to a canal view for us!

The room is typical European -- small! But as with most SPG properties the bed was very comfortable and all of the amenities in the room were top notch.

The location is excellent and as we had limited time we appreciated that we were centrally located to many of the things we wanted to see.

The service for our visit was exceptional -- from check in and check out, but especially Robert at the Concierge desk who was friendly and helpful several times with suggestions on restaurants, the order of things to see and booking transfers to the airport.

As with most higher end hotels, the restaurants and bar were expensive, but at least in the case of the bar, the service was attentive and generous.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennartMaas, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2009
Dear Loyal guest,
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic and great review regarding your stay with us! It is with great pleasure to read that you and your partner had a pleasant stay at our hotel and I will surely inform Robert our concierge about your compliment. However, I regret the fact you did not have the opportunity to enjoy one of our rooms with beautiful canal view. We were proud to have you as our guests and it gives me pleasure to read Hotel Pulitzer met up with your expectations. Nevertheless, we value feedback a lot as it helps us increase our service level. So please do not hesitate to provide me with more detailed information regarding your stay. On behalf of all Pulitzer associates, it would be my pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel to give you unforgettable stay.
Warm regards,
Lennart Maas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

regular biz stayer in amsterdam, this is a backup hotel since i like to get starwood points

hilton is much cleaner, better service but less good location

intercontinental is good but very stuffy and expensive

this place just does not cut it, couple of examples from this week alone

i put my breakfast tray outside my room on Tuesday morning, it was still there weds night and amazingly still there thursday morning

also i am nursing 5 or 6 mosquito bites from the mosquitos

overall, avoid if you can

starwood seriously needs to delist this as a luxury collection property, it just does not meet any kind of quality or service standard

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennartMaas, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2009
Dear Loyal guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay, it helps us a lot to improve our customer service. I sincerely apologize for your room service tray incident I will inform our room service department about your comment. However I truly hope the hotel, with its cultural heritage and enthusiastic associates did meet your expectations in some way. The Pulitzer Hotel just reopened its newly restyled restaurant, with a new atmosphere and tasty new dishes so in the event you will visit us again I truly believe we can meet up with your expectations. Dear guest, please feel free to provide me with more detailed information regarding your stay, which can help us to strive certain thinks will not happen again in the future. On behalf of all associates, I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lennart Maas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Top-drawer hotel, staff and experience. Location: excellent. As an SPG PLA on points, Pulitzer generously upgraded me to an Executive Room over-looking the canal. Over-sized room included flat-screen TV, Bose Wave radio, comfortable bedding and small, but impressive bath. View from room: Five Stars!. Other ample and well-appointed rooms overlook courtyards that charm . Nice bar, restaurant, small fitness room and business center complete your experience. Nice, one-of-a-kind property!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marloesvanraamsdonk, Duty manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
What a lovely review you have written on Tripadvisor. I am incredibly proud to read your enthusiastic comments regarding our hotel. Since we are always looking for ways to exceed the expectations of our guests, is there anything we could do for you to make your next visit even more convenient? Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to share additional feedback with us or if you would like to inform us regarding your personal preferences. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Warm regards, Marloes van Raamsdonk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Although expensive this hotel is really well located in a beautiful part of Amsterdam. I used to live in Amsterdam and often wondered what it would be like to stay in the Pulitzer. Returning after 5 years I found it a perfect place to rediscover the city. Rooms are expensive and reasonably small although this is typical throughout Amsterdam. However they have a 'genuine' feel about them - our room had one exposed red brick wall and wooden beams across the ceiling, very much in keeping with the canal house theme. Food is expensive but Amsterdam is a wonderful city for restaurants so there are plenty of options. We didn't get a chance to take the hotel's canal tour but it looked a beautiful boat - far nicer than the public tours. Would highly recommend bike rentals for at least part of your stay - the hotel will point you in the direction of a friendly rental shop.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marloesvanraamsdonk, Duty manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Amsterdam is indeed a wonderful city in which you will never stop discovering new things. Our hotel is situated in 25 canal houses typical for Amsterdam which are built in the 16th and 17th age. The charm of these different canal houses that each room has its own special characteristics like a very high ceiling or the brick wall and wooden beams you mentioned. However, this also results in one room being a little bit smaller than another. I hope to welcome you back in the future to enjoy another stay at Hotel Pulitzer and experience our special boat trip.
Warm regards, Marloes van Raamsdonk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, Amsterdam 1016 GZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.