We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pulitzer prize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #45 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
toulouse, france
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“pulitzer prize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

This hotel is a real gem. As picky travellers (my husband spends about 1/2 the year in hotels) we both found this delightful. The location is excellent, staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious, very comfortable had windows overlooking a canal. It was charming. As far as food goes, we had room service the entire weekend and all of it was above par. Much better than what the dutch usually pass off as 'cuisine' . Sorry dutch folk but food and Holland are really not exciting. Hubby stated that the room service menu and quality were one of the best. All in all, we had a lovely, comfy weekend and with the TV having UK channels and WiFi we were quite happy not to leave the room. Okay, I went for a short walk and bought a postcard. The location is great however if you do want to explore. Lots of nice shops, museums and such in walking distance.

  • Liked — just about everything
  • Disliked — nothing...weather wasn't great but not the hotel's fault
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We are delighted to read your wonderful comments on Hotel Pulitzer. Our aim is to provide a personal service to all our guests and we are very happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. Once again thank you for your valued comments.
We hope to welcome you back.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    554
    205
    86
    61
See reviews for
272
834
105
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed for one night at The Pulitzer in October 2008 and I was pretty much deceived by the place.

The hotel is extremely well located and definitely charming. We were given a nice room, large enough and as quiet as possible in an old building like this one. The bed was tremendous and compensated for the furniture which looked a bit run down.

On the less positive side, the service was definitely not up to what you can expect from a "Luxury collection" hotel. A couple of examples below.
Check-in was a bit slow and not very polite. Don't count on anybody to carry your luggage or show you the way to the room (which would be helpful as the hotel is a maze!). And check out was even longer, for a mere 1-night stay.
Breakfast was not included even if stated otherwise. However, it was good and plentiful, but the dining room was almost dirty, including the tables.
Regarding activities, when we asked for what to do & see in the city, the concierge did not told us about the "night of the museum" that happened on the day when we were there - and it was impossible to visit without prior purchase of a ticket.

Mixed feelings at the end: the place is nice and so romantic, but not worth it with such a service.

  • Liked — Location, the building itself
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We are very sorry to hear your hotel stay at Pulitzer was not up to your expectations. Therefore your report has retained all our attention.
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. All comments are valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Pullitzer on Starwood preferred points the night before New Year's eve. As a Dutchman usually staying with family when back in the Netherlands but occasionally staying in hotels when visiting, this stay was perfect. Maybe the freezing cold and, hence, frozen canals as well as the light dusting of snow on New Year's day made the picture rozier, however, I think that even without these very romantic and picture perfect Old Dutch Mssters circumstances, our stay would have been wonderful.
Complaints from other reviewers about indifferent or rude staff; not our experience. However, this hotels is a collection of a multide of buildings hundreds of years old, hence no huge lobby and multiple check-in desks but a large enough lobby with three staff memebrs manning the check-in. We have waited longer in other and bigger hotels of this caliber. and the service was pleasant and excellent: with for the hiliday bowls of "oliebollen" and "appelflappen" (Dutch traditional New Year's pastries: fried doughnuts with raisins and apple beignets) plentiful available for guests/visitors.
Our room was on the ground floor (for americans:1st floor), renovated and spacious with a beuatiful bathroom, not huge, but sufficient (larger than NYC Waldorf Astoria suite bathrooms!) and the bed was outstanding. With a view of a courtyard,it was very quiet. at night.
Breakfast was very good and service pleasant. Which hotel, by the way, allows breakfast until 1PM on New Year's Day (11 on regular days, also excellent)
The location is great, a 7 minute tram ride (line 13 or 17) from the Central (train) Station, which is only an easy 20 minutes train ride from Schiphol Airport. Most (tourist) attractions are in walking distance and restaurants and pubs a plenty in the neighborhood.
Yes the Dutch could have demolished these beautiful buildings and put an ugly modern hotel here ( as some advocated in the 60ies). Fortunatley, they thought the better of it. You now see a beautiful collection of old buildings not easily recognized as a great hotel, with all the modern amenities you expect or want. We'll be back there for sure if we decide to spend a night (or more) in Amsterdam

  • Liked — location, quality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Marketing Department at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. It is always great to have satisfied guests. We are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed staying with us on the night before New Years Eve. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Hotel Pullitzer was a great place to stay at. Very conveniently located, we were able to walk everywhere. The service was wonderful. Everyone we came in contact with at the Hotel was so nice and helpful. The agent who checked us in was very welcoming and took the time to explain where we were at, how to get around and made a few recommendations of must see/ do things in Amsterdam. The bellman gave us his personal umbrella to use during our whole stay. As far as the accommodations, the room was actually pretty good size considering how small rooms are in Europe, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom tile floor was heated (my personal favorite!). Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review to our hotel.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Pulitzer. Thank you for your great compliment about our service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Top Contributor
557 reviews 557 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 242 cities Reviews in 242 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This property is not a Luxury collection property. The front desk staff were horrible - have never seen worse at any Starwood property. They simply did not care about the customer at all.

The room was among the tiniest most cramped I have ever stayed in. I think it was supposed to be charming but it was a little scary.

The property has neat glass walkways to get to the restuarant definitely worth checking out and the neighborhood was very nice.

The hotel offers a boat tour of the canels and this tour was wonderful and rescued the hotel's image in our mind it wa sthe best part of the stay.

  • Liked — Tour offere dby the hotel
  • Disliked — Horrible service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. We are sorry to hear the service of our staff was not following our standards. Your comments are very valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. All comments have been shared with these particular associates. Once again we apologize for your inconvenient experience with us. Should you return to Amsterdam in the near future we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford/London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

If you want a very good hotel, with real Dutch feel in a great location then you must choose the Pulitzer. Within 5-15 minutes you are in walking distance of all the attractions, the tram stop is 2 minutes from the hotel if you don't like walking.The hotel is right by the Prisengracht canel, all around the hotel there are great little authentic Dutch resturants,bars and specialist shops, well it is in the trendy Jordaan area. The hotel is luxurious,all the staff are polite, friendly, helpful and informative.The rooms have that added touch, with beds, as my wife described, as like sleeping on a cloud, slippers to use, a dressing gown, toileteries in the bathroom, flat screen t.v. with over 40 channels in English and Dutch and great views from the windows. We have stayed in other hotels on previous trips to Amsterdam, the Pultizer is the best for everything you would what from a city break, it matches, in our opinion it's 5 star rating, we will definitely be choosing this hotel for future visits.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — No coffee/ tea making facilities in the rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to learn Hotel Pulitzer meets to your definition of a 5-star hotel. Good to hear you enjoyed staying with us and found our staff so friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

This hotels is one of my favourites in the world, a true "Dutch" hotel. Granted the rooms are small and the layout is disorganized however the charm of these houses overwhelms me everytime. The location is Perfect and you walk out the doors and are smack in the middle of the old center right where you want to be. 2 blocks south of the Ann Frank house and a water boat stop and 1 block from the tram stops that take you all over the city.

The hotel is made up of many many little canal houses around a garden setting. Some rooms are tiny with huge windows, some large with small windows, some view the canals and some the quiet garden ringing with distant churchbells. These houses were obviously combined over time so finding the room can be a bit of the challenge...which makes it all the more fun. Heat worked, toilets flushed, big towels, clean rooms, good cable channels in many languages.

Over time I have had the the smallest rooms and the largest rooms and they all do me fine. There are not many suites to upgrade to if you are a Starwood frequent traveler so I would not expect much. That said, the difference between a standard and an executive room is quite nice and that is what they try to give most I believe. The canal view rooms are beautiful however can be noisy.

They renovated recently and the new beds are AMAZINGLY comfortable...you do not want to get out of bed. They have lightened up the rooms a bit by adding beige chairs and removing much of their dark furniture. Nice touches.

Staff could not have been nicer albeit a bit formal. As someone who has worked cross culturally for years, I enjoy the dutch attitude because it is quite "non nonsense" and they are clear when they talk and usually with excellent English. We as travelers might not like the answers to our questions or requests however I have found they always worked with me.

Restuarant breakfast was expensive (as usual in 5*) and it was standard bacon eggs, salmon breads etc....they would also make omelettes if you asked or any special egg orders. Service was excellent and it appears they keep their staff. Which is always a good sign.

Enjoy Amsterdam and all it has to offer. I hope this has been of help.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
On behalf of the entire team at Hotel Pulitzer we would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed all elements of your stay in our ‘true Dutch Hotel’. We were delighted to receive such wonderful reviews. We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.