We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Watford/London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amsterdam at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

If you want a very good hotel, with real Dutch feel in a great location then you must choose the Pulitzer. Within 5-15 minutes you are in walking distance of all the attractions, the tram stop is 2 minutes from the hotel if you don't like walking.The hotel is right by the Prisengracht canel, all around the hotel there are great little authentic Dutch resturants,bars and specialist shops, well it is in the trendy Jordaan area. The hotel is luxurious,all the staff are polite, friendly, helpful and informative.The rooms have that added touch, with beds, as my wife described, as like sleeping on a cloud, slippers to use, a dressing gown, toileteries in the bathroom, flat screen t.v. with over 40 channels in English and Dutch and great views from the windows. We have stayed in other hotels on previous trips to Amsterdam, the Pultizer is the best for everything you would what from a city break, it matches, in our opinion it's 5 star rating, we will definitely be choosing this hotel for future visits.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — No coffee/ tea making facilities in the rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review. We are very happy to learn Hotel Pulitzer meets to your definition of a 5-star hotel. Good to hear you enjoyed staying with us and found our staff so friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    907
    524
    199
    85
    57
See reviews for
248
782
102
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

This hotels is one of my favourites in the world, a true "Dutch" hotel. Granted the rooms are small and the layout is disorganized however the charm of these houses overwhelms me everytime. The location is Perfect and you walk out the doors and are smack in the middle of the old center right where you want to be. 2 blocks south of the Ann Frank house and a water boat stop and 1 block from the tram stops that take you all over the city.

The hotel is made up of many many little canal houses around a garden setting. Some rooms are tiny with huge windows, some large with small windows, some view the canals and some the quiet garden ringing with distant churchbells. These houses were obviously combined over time so finding the room can be a bit of the challenge...which makes it all the more fun. Heat worked, toilets flushed, big towels, clean rooms, good cable channels in many languages.

Over time I have had the the smallest rooms and the largest rooms and they all do me fine. There are not many suites to upgrade to if you are a Starwood frequent traveler so I would not expect much. That said, the difference between a standard and an executive room is quite nice and that is what they try to give most I believe. The canal view rooms are beautiful however can be noisy.

They renovated recently and the new beds are AMAZINGLY comfortable...you do not want to get out of bed. They have lightened up the rooms a bit by adding beige chairs and removing much of their dark furniture. Nice touches.

Staff could not have been nicer albeit a bit formal. As someone who has worked cross culturally for years, I enjoy the dutch attitude because it is quite "non nonsense" and they are clear when they talk and usually with excellent English. We as travelers might not like the answers to our questions or requests however I have found they always worked with me.

Restuarant breakfast was expensive (as usual in 5*) and it was standard bacon eggs, salmon breads etc....they would also make omelettes if you asked or any special egg orders. Service was excellent and it appears they keep their staff. Which is always a good sign.

Enjoy Amsterdam and all it has to offer. I hope this has been of help.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
On behalf of the entire team at Hotel Pulitzer we would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed all elements of your stay in our ‘true Dutch Hotel’. We were delighted to receive such wonderful reviews. We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed over New Years using points. We have been Platinum for 10 years, but we were told no upgrades were available and the hotel was sold out. Of course, we found out later that they were not sold out, and suites were still available, even on New Years Eve. We had dinner in the restaurant on NYE, and it was terrible. It wias Prix Fixe, with no options on each course, and it took forever. Their excuse: It's NYE. Then do not open for it, and make everyone angry.
They lock the doors and require you to hit the bell anytime after 2am. Hopefully, they will be awake so you don't have to stand in the "dangerous" outside until they wake up from the back.

The room was fine, and the location was pretty good.

We will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Staff, at the front desk and in the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We are very sorry to hear your hotel stay in Pulitzer was not up to your expectations. Therefore your report has retained all our attention.
We are grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. All comments are valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed there on New Year's Eve in a reward room so it was free. Room is on the small side (smaller than most Sheraton standard rooms), but bed was very comfortable and bathroom luxurious. Hotel was built from combining many canal houses thus it felt like a maze navigating the property, but nonetheless fun. Room service is nice but not great. Room was in the middle of the houses so the window opened to nothing but view of the corridor outside. Rooms facing the canal may get much better view.

Located close to tram stop and walking distance to Anne Frank Museum. 10 minutes tram ride from Amsterdam Centraal train terminal. 45 mins from airport by train.

Would probably not stay here if were to pay for the room. (advertised rate was 380 USD)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKimmel, Hotel Pulitzer at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
We sincerely thank you for your comments, as we are continually striving to improve the services offered by our hotel; your comments are greatly appreciated in helping us to enhance the experience of our guests. We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.
Best Regards, Hotel Manager Patrick Kerkhoven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We booked a three-night stay using Starpoints, arriving December 30, 2008. We arrived around 6 p.m. and had to wait about 5 minutes to check in. I am a Starwood Platinum, and I was informed that no upgrades were available because the hotel was sold out for new years eve. We were assigned a "lovely garden room," room 134. The clerk did agree to include breakfast because an upgrade was not available.

Later that evening, I checked the hotel's website and saw that the hotel was not sold out. There were Deluxe, Classic, and Executive rooms available for a three-night stay starting December 30. That was something of a disappointment. I cannot imagine that any of those rooms would not have been an upgrade over room 134. It was tiny. We could hear noises in the hallway, from the room above us, and from the heater. Also, the towels were ridiculously low quality for a hotel that is part of Starwood's Luxury Collection.

The positives were the exceptionally comfortable bed and the breakfast. The hotel also provides use of a business center free of charge.

Overall, our stay was satisfactory. However, that's not good enough for a hotel like the Pulitzer. Next time in Amsterdam, we will stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Very comfortable bed, the breakfast (but only if included with the room)
  • Disliked — The room (small size, noises, lack of a view), the cheap towels, very poor value
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimrandewijk, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
First of all we are very grateful that you took the take to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am happy to read that we have met your expectations with the breakfast we have served you and with the bed. I would like to apologize for the fact that we were not able to provide you an upgrade and that you were not completely satisfied with the room we have offered you. I hope that we will have a second change to welcome you back in our hotel.
Warm Regards,
Kim Randewijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We loved the Pulitzer Hotel for its location and its ambiance. We traveled from the airport via train to Central Station and via tram from Central Station to the West Market stop, all with the help of local people we met upon landing. It was a 1/2 block to the hotel from the tram stop. The hotel is a series of canal homes linked together so that the historical ambiance of the streets isn't marred by a big boxy hotel. We loved our room, the beds were heavenly, the bathroom very comfortable, the flat screen TV great and having hard wood floors made it feel very clean. The location was extremely convenient and we walked everywhere. The Ann Frank House was a block from the hotel and the fantastic Pancake Bakery just beyond that. (Don't expect American style pancakes and embarrass yourself like I did-"pancakes" here are crepes!) Its about a 10 minute walk to the Dam. All of the restaurants that we tried in the immediate area of the hotel were excellent. We used the hotel's business center often and found the front desk staff friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimrandewijk, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review regarding your stay in our hotel last month. We are all very proud to read that we have met your expectations with the room we have offered you. We are also very happy that you were satisfied with the service we have offered you. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel soon!
Warm Regards,
Kim Randewijk
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Certainly a comfortable hotel and well located. But hardly five star. The grandly named "Pulitzer Gym" is a tiny, hidden room with a few exercise machines (attached to mostly unworking televisions). The hotel seems to nickel-and-dime everything, including the amenities that are offered to Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum members. An unhelpful front-desk clerk kept insisting -- repeatedly -- that a reservation didn't include breakfast, even though it was noted on the written confirmation. Double-billed for internet use, etc. Room service trays were left in the hallways for hours and hours.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimrandewijk, Duty Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
Dear Loyal Guest,
First of all we would like to thanks your for sharing your thought with us regarding your stay in our hotel last month. We are happy to read that you experienced our hotel as comfortable and well located. I am sorry to read that we have not met your expectations with our fitness facilities. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel!
Warm Regards,
Kim Randewijk
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.