We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location on the canal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location on the canal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights on the fourth floor facing the canal . The view was perfect and you can open window and look out. The room had a queen size bed and very comfortable. Hardwood floors and a tile and marble bathroom. Need to ask for iron and coffee maker . Food and coffee bar are very good. Staff is quite attentive. Pretty courtyard areas and a lovey bar called The Pulitzer in the back of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Judith484,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is great to read your review and to learn that you've had a lovely time in our historical hotel.

I have shared your compliments with the entire team and we all hope to be welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    547
    201
    86
    60
See reviews for
268
826
105
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Pulitzer for 4 nights during August. We had two rooms facing the garden courtyard. I had stayed a previous time on the Prinsengracht side and while it had a great view, I found it a bit noisy so was happy to have an interior room. The hotel has been created by converting classic canal houses into a comfortable hotel. The rooms were tasteful with traditional Dutch furnishings. We appreciated the comfortable beds, duvet covers, wifi and blackout curtains. European hotels are always a bit smaller with limited closet space and this was sufficient but a little tight for us. Generally the rooms were quiet but on our checkout day we were awakened early by bumping around in the room above us at 6 AM followed by vacuuming at 7:00 a.m. We believe someone had checked out early and housekeeping was starting early. it was pretty annoying since we'd hoped to sleep in.

That said, the service is quite good. The concierge was extremely helpful to us; the people at the coffee stand made great coffees to order and the bartenders were great. A couple of evenings we enjoyed drinks in the garden and would frequently wind up at the bar late evening. The bar has a great feel and overlooks the Kaisergracht. We also enjoyed dinner at the restaurant one evening and were very pleased with the food and service. Our friends enjoyed the breakfast buffet several days and recommend it.

Despite our disappointment with thee early morning vacuuming on the last day, we will visit again. You cannot beat the location and the atmosphere puts one right in the mood to explore this beautiful, historic city. In addition to being within walking distance to a number of famous sites, the hotel is also very close to the 9 streets boutique area for great shopping, the Jordaan for great eating, and is close to the tramline. Finally, the hotel has it's own canal boat so one can tour the canals in style.

Room Tip: If you don't mind forgoing a canal view room, the interior rooms overlooking the garden are very...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great job! I was happy that they had recycling available in room.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kristen D,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you for your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you amongst our guests and I am thankful for such a lovely review.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused with regards to the early morning vacuuming, this feedback has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper in order for us to prevent situations like these from happening again in the future.

On a more positive note, I am very glad that you've enjoyed the garden view, the service provided by our team and the dinner in our Restaurant Keizersgracht 238.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great hotel that is a series of historic canal homes that were converted to this charming hotel. We requested a triple room with air condition and we're very please with the lovely room with open beam ceiling. It has a very nice bar/pub. Very friendly and helpful staff. A great location on a canal, with cool shops and restaurants close by.It will be my regular hotel each time we visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air condition, it can get warm during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 57kathy2014,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you've had a memorable stay in one of our historical rooms with exposed beams.
Great to learn that you've also enjoyed our Pulitzer's Bar, I hope you've tried one of our Luxury Collection Signature Cocktails as well!

Once again, I would like to thank you for your comments and I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in other hotels in Amsterdam. And some that we're twice the price for a canal view room. This by far beats them all. Yes the rooms are smaller than in other hotels but they are the real rooms in a large interconnected row of buildings on the Prinsengracht
As for the service the concierge team was wonderful. Friendly,knowledgable and introduced me to some new shops and restaurants ( used to live in Northern Europe in the 80s ) and they were correct in their knowledge. Especially that cheese shop ( dank u well,)
The breakfast is amazing buffet and eggs to your liking
The location is perfect. Essentially equidistant between Leidseplein and Oude Zijds.
The room was immaculate
Much different then a hotel like The Claridges yet so are the 2 cities thus 5 stars
Same essential theme. The staff makes you feel at home

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear AtlantaBender,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience.
It is a true pleasure to read your review and to learn that you've enjoyed your time in Hotel Pulitzer. Great to read that our concierge team provided you with some good suggestions. The cheese shop "Reypenaar" is indeed one of the hidden gems of the Jordaan area!

I truly hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Definitely not a 5 star hotel, more like a 3 star. As a Starwood platinum member the reservation specialist and at the check in we were promised deluxe rooms with garden/courtyard view, however the rooms we got were class rooms which were dark, small with musty smell and no view. After two hours inside our rooms we requested to change as we were getting headaches from the musty smell inside the rooms. The check in staff and porter were very mediocre. We were giving the wrong keys by the check in staff and could not get into our rooms, the porter dragged and dropped our luggages. The only good part of this hotel is Restaurant Keizersgracht 238 and the nice bar. The food and drinks at 238 are very good quality and the breakfast service staff was excellent. But the evening staff is another story. One of the nights we decided to have dinner at the 238, we sat there for 30 mins before a waitress came to took our order who knew nothing about the menu so we had to ask the manager to take our order.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the front part of the hotel not the back which have musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear SFtoLA,

Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for sharing your experience with us. Your detailed comments are truly helpful in understanding how you felt about your stay and I am very sorry to learn that we could not meet your expectations with regards to the products and services provided.
Please be assured that I have shared your review with the team in order for us to improve our level of service in the future.
On a more positive note, I am pleased to read about the fact that you've enjoyed our Pulitzer's Bar!

I truly hope that you will allow us the chance of welcoming you back to our historical hotel in order for us to do our utmost to create a unique experience for you.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Just between 9 streets and the Jordaan district, this hotels location is incredible.

We loved the oddly shaped rooms that reflected the canal houses' original form, whilst incorporating modern day comfort, especially the beds. The courtyard is incredible, a peaceful oasis.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear jordi_16,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and I am happy to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your compliments with the team and I truly hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

It is a unique hotel, with heeps of rooms in quite a good choice of old houses, in a charming part of Amsterdam. Not always easy to find ones way back to the room or to the restaurant.

Well equipped clean rooms, nice meals, quite acceptable service, not (yet) perfect ... some smile here and there would be great and suit the beside this well trained staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear BURGWIN,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer last November. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.
I have shared your feedback, with regards to the service provided, with our Executive Team in order for us to improve this in the future.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.