We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely end to our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely end to our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We started our trip to a top hotel in Dublin which was wonderful! And ended our trip in Amsterdam by staying at the Pulitzer. The room was very nice and well appointed. We had a lovely canal view, we were exhausted after a long day of touring but slept well in our room. I'd love to come back and stay a couple of days. We did have some billing issues that only disappointed us somewhat.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear sbowers56,

I would like to thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel last May. It is a pleasure to read your review and to learn that you've had an enjoyable time in Amsterdam.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any issues occurred with your invoice upon your departure, as it was never our intention to give you a dissatisfied feeling.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    607
    233
    94
    64
See reviews for
298
933
116
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We are SPG gold travelers and visited three cities during our recent trip to Europe. This was by far the nicest hotel both from a pure beauty standpoint and from a staff friendliness one too. Both of our rooms, although not the canal view we would have liked, were very comfortable and well appointed. We found the staff at the front desk and the concierges to be very approachable and always wiling to help with a friendly smile. The location of the hotel, right on a beautiful canal, was outstanding. It's a 5 min. walk to the Anne Frank House, an easy walk to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and to fun shopping areas too. Our family loved to try the pancake houses located close to our hotel each day and, by day 3, we had our favorite! I highly recommend staying at this terrific hotel!

Room Tip: From what we have heard the canal view rooms on any floor are the best to get! Unfortunately, we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Jetfan8,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay, especially with regards to the friendliness of the staff.

I have shared your compliments with the team and I truly hope that we may welcome you back to our unique canal houses in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As others have noted, this is a perfect location in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam. As others have also mentioned, no two rooms are alike in the hotel. I would second the advice that if you don't like your room, ask to see others. We did just that, and liked the second room much better than the first. The staff couldn't have been nicer in making the change. Judging from the two rooms we saw, the decor is a little sparser than in the website pictures, (e.g. bare wood floors, no carpeting) but it is a charming place, with helpful staff, a beautiful restaurant and courtyard and we were very happy we'd chosen it as our base in Amsterdam.

We got a fairly good bed and breakfast deal (AARP comes in handy sometimes), but there are also many, many places for a great breakfast a block or two away. (Koffie Huid "De Hoek" is one). The canal view rooms can be a bit noisy, but if you're in Amsterdam, I'd recommend it anyway. We got to hear all the groans and cheers coming from every bar in the neighborhood when The Netherlands played in the World Cup.

One bit of advice: If the bellman offers to carry your luggage, say yes. There are a lot of little steps leading from one row house to another, and even with wheels on the suitcase, it was a little tricky.

Room Tip: If you want absolute quiet, the couryard rooms are probably better, but the canal view is very speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear dha205,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for writing such an extensive review on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read your comments and I am very happy that you've enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.

Indeed, all our rooms are different and our team is always more than happy to show several rooms to our guests.

I have shared your compliments with the entire team and I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nine months after a very poor experience at the Pulitzer I have returned to find the service back at it's top-rate level. The staff were extremely attentive and kind. Even in the middle of the busy summer season the staffing was obviously improved. There was always a staff member available at the front desk. There was never a line. It is very reassuring to see that they are back on track. The service is truly at a Luxury Collection level. Bravo to one and all!

Room Tip: Be mindful of the age of this hotel when checking in. Many rooms have low beams which can be danger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear newyorkbo,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience. Especially as a returning guest, it is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay after a disappointing one a few months ago.

I have shared your compliments with the entire team and we all hope that we may welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer on many more occasions in the future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I knew the Hotel Pulitzer would be a great place to stay, but it far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we checked in, we were taken care of. Our room wasn't ready, but they rushed to get it ready in a few hours...the room itself turned out to be great. Aside from the fabulous service, you probably couldn't have a better location in Amsterdam for walking around or biking. We didn't have a canal view room, but it didn't matter...I don't think its worth the cost unless you are in the room a lot. Had drinks in the Pulitzer bar, which overlooks the canal, so there's your view. Since the hotel is a collection of canal houses that are put together, it makes for a really unique and historic property. The concierge service is great for simple requests, or a good dining location. We happened to be in town when the hotel was hosting a garden party for their hotel partners and clients; hotel guests were allowed to crash the party. We ate so much amazing food, angus beef, oysters, cheeses, deconstructed pork bao, and flowing booze...it was a wonderful treat. We can't wait to return to Amsterdam, and hopefully the Hotel Pulitzer will be part of that.

Room Tip: I don't think a canal view room is worth the extra cost, unless you plan to spend lots of time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Adam H,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing such lovely words on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your time in both Amsterdam and our historical hotel. Great that you also visited our Pulitzer's Bar and had the time to join our annual Midsummer Night Garden Party, held in our innner gardens.

I am very much looking forward to be welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and yes it's tons of canal houses fit together so if your wheelchair accessible this may be difficult our room was nice but smelt a little weird and the restaurant was good for dinner and the service at the hotel was really good I am spg gold and the options were free wifi a welcome drink or extra points and we chose the wifi . We did the boat tour and the kids loved it and saw some of amsterdam.This is my first luxury collection hotel and I will be coming back next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jarrett A,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your review and to learn that you and your family had a great 1st experience at a Luxury Collection Hotel. There are many more Luxury Collection properties across the world, so there is a lot to explore!
I have shared your compliments with the entire team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay at hotel Pulitzer. It has to be one of the best hotels I've stayed in, in a long time. Lovely Dutch architecture, great bar and morning cafe. Service with a smile and even the gym was classy albeit small. Best of all the location is within walking distance to everywhere. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Pdittay,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for sharing your experience with the world on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that you loved our hotel, especially with regards to the "service with a smile" and central location.
Once again, I would like to thank you for your compliments and I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.