We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of Four - a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #44 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family of Four - a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Two adults two children (9 + 12), we chose the Pulitzer on the availability of a family room (ie separate sleeping area for the children), which seem rare in cities (please contact us if you can recommend any, anywhere in the world), and the other good reviews on tripadvisor / the hotel’s website.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. The Location is excellent – you can walk to all the major tourist sights. Room comfort was very good; the children liked their separate beds on the separate level in our room in the attic. Room size was fine with a desk and chairs so plenty of room to also do a bit of work when required. Breakfast – better during the week than the weekend; the staff were more attentive and the food refreshed more frequently – but perhaps that’s just the weekend – overall it was fine.
The view over the Canals’, one on each side of the buildings from our room and from the from restaurant were lovely.
The Gym is not the most well equipped but to be fair it rarely gets used, so again it was fine.
The hotel is a charming historical set of buildings with plenty of interesting twists and turns and a few steep staircases so if you prefer your hotels to be the same box in every city of the world along identical corridors then you won’t like this hotel. We came across a couple struggling with their cases on one set of steep stairs, so we lent a hand. Personally for a 5 star hotel in my opinion all guests luggage should be delivered and collected to / from rooms without the need to be asked. The Art Gallery corridor was a great touch.
Concierge were very good and took care of all our requests.
We are not known for being fashion victims so we did get a few up and down looks from other quests but they were in the minority. The Dutch guests were by far the friendliest, then the Americans.
We booked direct through the hotel website. Payment was deducted on the day of arrival with a €50 per person per night payment on account added. Our final bill was less than the original amount charged, the refund was credited back two days after returning.
There is a church clock locally that chimes all through the night, so if you are a very light sleeper - mention this when booking.
Overall would we come back again? –Yes without hesitation.
Other
we booked a taxi from the airport to the Hotel with Suntransfers – very efficient €74.26 return.
Schiphol Airport very efficient – for the first time at a major international airport our luggage arrived on the carousel before we got there.
All the main tourist sites / trips are worth a visit – do book online in advance though if at all possible as it will save you queuing. The Anne Frank House was well done – take time to absorb what is around you – don’t rush through as the impact will be lost – all current world leaders would do well to visit before making certain decisions! Many Canal boats to choose from, the all seemed much of a muchness.
Beware of bicycles; around the heart of the city along with trams they have the priority – look in all directors before crossing a path – we saw a few crashes and we were only there a few days. The locals must find us tourists rather annoying.
I think I have finally come under the bracket as being prudish – an adult shop, with many of its products in the windows, situated next to a McDonalds! (Nowhere near the Red Light District I might add) The Dutch are well known for being liberal and commendable for it – but this seems a step too far for me. I am not a fan of smoking in public places either so choosing a café was easier said than done.
Amsterdam is a great place and well worth a visit, the Hotel Pulitzer was a good choice for us – both highly recommended destinations.

Room Tip: Chose a Canal view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear familyof4since2004,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking some of your valuable time to write such a detailed review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in both our historical hotel and the unique city of Amsterdam. I am very happy to read that our concierge team was helpful providing recommendations and assisting with requests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the breakfast experience during the weekend. I have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager in order for us to improve the level of service we provide in our restaurant on the weekends.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    521
    190
    84
    58
See reviews for
250
782
102
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 weeks for business, and it was totally amazing! Situated in the heart of Amsterdam, it is a comfortable walking distance to the Dam Square, Centraal Station, Anne Frank House and other tourist attractions, and we were totally spoilt with the vast array of food and shopping options in the area.

The hotel is made up of 25 connected canal houses. While it can be quite a maze finding your way to your room or breakfast restaurant or gym, it is extremely quaint and charming. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and I especially love the canal-facing rooms on the higher floors.

What really stands out from this hotel is that the staff are truly amazingly warm, friendly and helpful. Because of them, my stay at the Hotel Pulitzer felt like home even though I'm away from home.

Room Tip: Request for canal-facing rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear nemrac_coco,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay in our unique hotel, especially since you have stayed with us for such an extended period of time.
Also, I would like to thank you for your compliments about our staff; I have shared your review with the entire team.

I truly hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel was nice, the staff were lovely and the view over the river was gorgeous! The hotel is near attractions such as the infamous "Anne Frank House Museum" which is extraordinary to have a look at. The only "problem" with the hotel is that if you have more than 2 people staying, you are all in the same room which are very small and cramped.

Room Tip: Go as a couple- more room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sarah J,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay especially with regards to the staff and view over the famous canals of Amsterdam.
Please note that we do have Family Rooms in which we can accommodate a family of up to 4 persons, which have 2 bedroom areas.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you again for your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Very much enjoyed a 4 night stay here in March. The staff were very helpful, polite and professional. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and good bathroom. The hotel generally was clean and smart. We had breakfast in the Expresso bar as it was substantially cheaper than the main restaurant. It was nice to have the option. The position is ideal, central with very pretty streets and good restaurants on the doorstep. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Clare T,

Thank you very much for your stay with us in March and for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable experience in Hotel Pulitzer especially with regards to the helpfulness and professionalism of our staffmembers.
Great to read that you've enjoyed our Espressobar as well, for the upcoming summer season we have extended the opening hours until 8 PM so that you'll also be able to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the lounge or on the terrace!
I hope that we may welcome you back whenever you'll return to The Netherlands again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was really blown away by the Hotel Pulitzer - it was unexpected. Having been to Amsterdam and walking down the Prinsengracht several time, I guess I never stopped to take notice of this hotel. Staying here was a real treat - the staff were amazing, friendly and really helpful in getting me situated. The rooms where really nice, big and well appointed. The best part was really the "uniqueness" of each room - my room was in the back overlooking the courtyard, but the actual room had a lot of character with wooden beams and a a great big bed to relax in.

Location wise, this property can't be beat, situated right on the canal, easy walking distance to everything but far enough away from the Red Light to make it a quiet and relaxing experience.

Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Canal facing is key, but even a room in the back has it's merits
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Joe W,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your room and the location in the heart of Amsterdam.
You are defintely right about the uniqueness of the hotel; as it consists out of 25 canal houses, not one room is the same!
On behalf of the entire team, I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I used to stay at The Hotel Pulitzer frequently 10 years ago while in Amsterdam for work and always had a great experience. I decided to take my two kids to Amsterdam for the first time and The Hotel Pulitzer was a perfect choice.
First, it's location is perfect for a family trip. It is situated in the heart of The Jordaan, the prettiest part of Amsterdam, and walking distance to Anne Frank House, The Nine Streets, The Houseboat Museum and several great restaurants.
The concierge staff is amazing and Pieter, from the concierge team, went above and beyond to help me plan our trip. He made great restaurant recommendations, arranged a private bike tour, and provided invaluable tips that made our trip fantastic. The entire staff was great to the kids.
I recommend the boat tour from the hotel also. They have a beautifully restored 110 year old canal boat with a friendly and knowledgeable captain.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Karin G,

Wow, thank you very much for such lovely words! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially being such a loyal guest for over 10 years!
I have shared your compliments with the entire team, especially with Pieter!
We all hope that we may welcome you and your family back to Hotel Pulitzer in the near future and thank you for your continued loyalty.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Hotel Pulitzer is the perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The staff is outstanding and could not be more helpful. The location is amazing. Many of Amsterdam's major tourist attraction are within walking distance. The tram line is easily accessible.

Room Tip: Request a canal view...the view at night unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Leealyn B,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay in our unique hotel and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and helpfullness of the staff.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;