We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location, down the block from Anne Frank's exhibit. The hotel is unique, my had hardwood floors and a beautiful bathroom. I had a couple days break in a two week European business trip. The service was excellent, a great coffee bar in the lobby and an excellent restaurant attached. I actually went back to the restaurant when I visited the city a few months later. the hallways are unique and they twist and turn similar to walking through the lobby to the restaurant. I also used their gym while I was there and it had everything. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a business break. The location was blocks away from great shopping!

Room Tip: Don't rent a car while you are in Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Dagney T,

Wow, thank you very much for sharing such a lovely review about your stay on Tripadvisor. At Hotel Pulitzer, we do our best to make you, as a valued guest, feel at home and I am very pleased to read thet you had an enjoyable time in our unique hotel.
I have shared your compliments with the entire team and I hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to The Netherlands again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    589
    228
    92
    63
See reviews for
291
909
111
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Our family recently stayed for three nights at the Hotel Pulitzer, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is certainly different, with its architecture creating a unique layout. We had a family room with an excellent view over Prinsengracht. The kids beds were up in a loft - which was nice for creating that little bit of separation, given the room itself was not overly large. The hotel staff were invariably helpful and welcoming (including small gifts for the children on arrival), and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Free Wifi was also available, and adequate for email and web surfing. The hotel itself is nicely located - close enough to walk everywhere, but relatively quiet nonetheless. All in all, it was a great place to stay for a short trip to Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear 007Sydney,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am pleased to read that you and your family had a memorable time in Amsterdam.
I hope that you have gotten the chance to explore the unique city centre of Amsterdam while you were here, as there are a lot of interesting things to discover.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back whenever you decide to return to The Netherlands.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Pulitzer played its part in creating a most enjoyable short break in Amsterdam. It is well-located, comfortable, and provides good dining in the grill restaurant, all enhanced by friendly and helpful staff. The standard room was compact, but well equipped, and delightfully quiet.
The location was ideal for a busy city break, and trams are nearby. A good selection of decent restaurants are within walking distance - all in all, we enjoyed our Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jim G,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at our historical hotel. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your short break in Amsterdam and our unique hotel. I have shared your compliments with the entire team.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to The Netherlands.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The pulitzer is at a beautiful place and the hotel does have a lot of character. it is modified from an old building and does give a good feel of a historical experience. My challenge with the hotel was 3 folds:
1. Very very small rooms. i actually spoke on checking in and got a bigger room. my other colleagues had very small rooms and they did not request a change
2. the service desk is amongst the worst i have seen in 4/5 star hotels. certainly not in a luxury hotel. out of the 4 times i tried reaching them, twice the call was not answered.
3. when i did get through, the service took 45 mins to deliver

The poor service happened on 2 days hence was not a one off issue. overall one could look at experiencing a different hotel in this league.

Room Tip: Ask for Bigger rooms, the rooms are really small. with 2 pieces of luggage, you wont be able to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ritwik25,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed the uniqueness of the 25 canal houses in which our hotel is located.
Furthermore, I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding room assignment and when reaching out to our Guest Service Center. Your comments have been shared with our Front Office Manager and his team in order for us to improve our level of service in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for your honest feedback and I truly hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We travelled around Europe in December and stayed at quite a few luxury hotels. The Pulitzer wasn't the flashest but it had the most comfortable bed out of all of them!
We had the Deluxe Canal View room which was overlooking the canal, as promised. The bathroom was nice, the room had everything you expect of a hotel room, and the bed was amazing... but the room was musty and old smelling. We had to buy scented incense sticks to try and mask the smell.
The hotel itself is in a great location, very central. Walking distance to all the main hot spots and only a few doors away from the Anne Frank House which is A MUST SEE. Seriously, the most emotional attraction we had seen on our holiday.
We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant but we got coffee from the coffee shop next to the lobby which was really good!
The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a canal view. There's no point in not having a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear JJLuvsHotels,

I would like to thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer last December and I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time in Amsterdam.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the smell in the room you stayed at, please note that this comment has been shared with our Chief Engineer, in order for us to prevent this from happening again in the future.

Great to read that you have enjoyed exploring Amsterdam, our concierge team are always more than happy to provide you with some good recommendations.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We were attacked by Mosquitos in our room while we tried to sleep. We were bitten all over our hands and feet. When we approached management next morning, they could only offer us plug-ins to deter bugs and offered to move us to canal facing room, but warned it would be worse there. Clearly not solutions to a disturbing problem. This is not a luxury hotel! I was pregnant at the time too. What a disappointment.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Jennifer H,

First or all, I would like to thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer last year and for sharing your experience which allows us to improve the products and services we provide.
Your detailed comments are truly helpful in understanding how you felt during your experience with us and I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience encountered.

I am very sorry to learn about the mosquitos in your room and I understand that this is definitely not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Please be assured that I have shared your experience with our Management Team in order avoid situations like these from happening again in the future.

W e recognize that we cannot turn back the clock to change what transpired however I truly hope that you are willing to accept our apologies and that you will allow us the chance of welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Didn't stay in the hotel but walked through it. Seemd very smart and well appointed but a bit of a warren as it consists of sevral separate properties in one block. Adds a bit character possibly.Staff all very professional and friendly and helpful. Cocktail bar does some good drinks. Well worth a visit if you like cocktails..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear 78AndrewM,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent visit to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. Great to read that, altough you did not stay at the hotel, you enjoyed the character of the 25 canal houses in which Hotel Pulitzer is located.
Our knowledgeable bartenders in the Pulitzer's Bar are always more than happy to serve you one of our Luxury Collection Signature Cocktails or any other drink of your preference.

We hope that we may welcome you back to our hotel, perhaps for a cocktail or an overnight stay!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.