We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Character in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Lots of Character in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Hotel Pulitzer during two lay-overs while traveling between the US and Africa. The hotel is in a great location, very convenient to tourist attractions and in a charming area with lots of shopping, bars, and restaurants. The hotel is unique in that it is in renovated row-houses along the canals - no two rooms are alike. It makes a big difference which room you get - during my first stay, my room was on the ground floor, near reception. It was a very small room with low ceilings and a very uninspired view of an internal courtyard. Although the room was clean and comfortable, it felt like a former maid's chambers and felt somewhat cramped. However, on my second stay, I was put in a very large spacious room on the third floor with high ceilings, exposed brick, a separate seating area, and a large window. (The room rate was the same for both rooms.)

Service was excellent - everyone I encountered was very friendly and eager to help. My few (minor) complaints are: (1) no free WiFi in the rooms (it's free the in lobby only, otherwise you have to pay 10 euros for one hour); (2) breakfast buffet was very expensive (30 euros) and not particularly impressive.

All in all, it's a charming hotel with excellent service in a great location. My only advice is try to get a larger room and go outside the hotel for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEB247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear CEB247,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stays at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time, while staying with us.
I hope you have gotten the chance to explore the historical city of Amsterdam, while you were here as there is lots to see!

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you again and we hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Hotel Pulitzer after looking at dozens of hotels on the recommendation of family who had been in Amsterdam only a year prior. It was a terrific way to begin a couple of weeks in Europe. We took two rooms as we were traveling with our adult children. Both rooms were very clean and appointed with everything we needed. Although the rooms were smaller than I expected we found plenty of space to put away our things and settle in. Everyone in our party commented on the wonderfully comfortable beds and nice quiet rooms which made for a great sleeping, which was especially nice because the location of the hotel allowed us to make the most of each day. Everything we wanted to do (lots of museums, and great restaurants and bars) was within walking distance yet we were out of the hectic downtown scene. Almost every day we used the outstanding concierge service and they made flawless recommendations for dining and getting around town. Every member of the hotel staff was so polite and helpful without being unctuous. We had a fantastic three night stay at the Pulitzer, I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JMSTRINGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear JMSTRINGER,

On behalf of the staff of Hotel Pulitzer, I would very much like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with the world on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a memorable time in Amsterdam.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back to our historical hotel whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have state dat the Pulitzer multiple times and have never been let down. The hotel is great and service is world class. The dutch take hospitality to a whole new level. Great city, great hotel and great staff. You won't be disappointed at all.

Room Tip: no rooms are the same and some are small. Canal view rooms never disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dzool,

One behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer and for returning to our historical hotel over the years.
I am very pleased to read that you always have a memorable experience while staying with us and I have shared your compliments with the team.

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer during your next trip to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyneside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Excellent holiday stay at the Pulitzer, Amsterdam. Hotel staff very friendly and more than helpful. Breakfast expensive but use the al a cart menu. Everyone speaks English very well. The hotel seemed to have lots of American tourists and business men when we were there. We stayed in room 309 which was overlooking the Canal. It has a king size bed and plenty of room. Bathroom more than adequate and towels and toiletries were replenished every day. On the whole, very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 309, nice sized room and king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear grantyne,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay in our historical property. Did you know that the hotel consists out of 25 17th and 18th century canal houses?

I hope we may welcome you back in the near future!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for about a week and enjoyed it a lot! It is centrally located, there are shops around, plenty of restaurants and the Dam Square is a mere 5 min walk away! The rooms are in a traditional Dutch style and very comfortable. The service is quite professional. They do allow dogs with an extra charge, we travel with a mini chihuahua, and even provided a dog bowl, bed and chew toys for us! Would definitely recommend

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Vonkhan,

Wow, thank you very much for such lovely words! I am very pleased to read that you and your dog have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel.

I hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on December 2013.

The room was great, quite comfortable with amazing view to Prinzegracht and although it overlooks the entrance of the hotel, the room was very quiet.

Beside that, the service in general is indeed as good as it gets, you feel like you're in a small boutique hotel (although the hotel is not small and part of a chain) in terms of service and hospitality.

The location is not far from Dam square, around 7-10 minutes walks.

All in all, very nice experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Alon87,

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you had a memorable stay in our historical hotel.

I have shared your compliments with the entire team and truly hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to The Netherlands again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is an odd configuration but the location is excellent - you are in walking distance to everything you would want to see in central Amsterdam. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are cozy and clean. The only concern I had was that there is no kettle or coffee maker in the rooms. If you are like me, I do not move with a coffee in the morning and we had to go on a mission each day. The coffee available in the lobby is expensive at approximately $6 euros for two small cups, so we often went to the market down the street. I have stayed there on two occasions and though it is the only European hotel I stayed at that did not provide a kettle (minimum) - the location and comfort were simply more important.

Room Tip: Buy a kettle and some instant coffee - if you are staying there for more than 3 days :0).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NStormW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Nicole B,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Also, I would like to thank you for your comment regarding the missing coffee / tea facilities in the room. Your comments are taken very seriously and will be taken into consideration during future refurbishment of the rooms. Please note that we do offer a kettle or Nespresso machine upon request.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back during your next visit to The Netherlands.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing