We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy from €75 F
Ranked #45 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Pulitzer hotel for two nights in August using Starwood Points. We are gold preferred members and usually have good luck getting upgrades or nicer rooms in most of the properties we visit. We were traveling with our 12 year old daughter and opted to upgrade our room using additional points as we did not want to take any chances on an upgraded room. A few nights before our stay we received an email which allowed us to upgrade again for like 75 euro a night including breakfast. We opted for this as well assuming we would be assured a spacious room. Unfortunately when we arrived we were somewhat disappointed by the size of our room which was pretty small particularly with the cot they squeezed in for my daughter. The room did overlook the canal but since we were on the fourth floor you couldn't see the canal unless you went to the window and looked down. On a positive note the room was very clean, nicely furnished and the beds were super comfortable. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning and there is a nice courtyard where you can use the free Wi-fi or get a coffee or beverage. The valet car service was as expected...55 euro a night...but there are not many other options. The location of the hotel is perfect...lots of restaurants, bars, stores and walking distance to everything. The hotel also has their own boat which is a huge step up from the typical tourist options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear LMarieF,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us in Hotel Pulitzer.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused during your stay. It was never our intention to provide you with a dissatisfied and unappreciated feeling. In Hotel Pulitzer all rooms are unique in shape and size. Therefore it could occur that the room you are assigned to, may be smaller than expected. Please be informed that should we have the availability, we are more than happy to show you other rooms that may suit your expectations.
I am happy to read though that you found the room clean and the beds comfortable.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    569
    212
    89
    61
See reviews for
278
868
108
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the Pulitzer for a conference. Hotel is set in a number of old houses between two canals, which I find very interesting and unique. Houses are connected by glass structures, which is very nice but can remind you of a corn maze. Used the restaurant for breakfast and it was very good but not excellent and service was a bit distant (also when I tried to get dinner but everything was booked). Room was small but comfortable (as was the bed). Internet usage is a bit confusing if you are using more than 1 device. The biggest flaw - in my mind - is the lack of a little in-room coffee maker. Not sure if they are cheap or if in-room coffee making is below standards of a "Luxury" hotel. Overall, I did not get the feeling that this hotel was really so luxurious - which is how they brand it now (I believe it was a Sheraton before).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking either one of the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Kicostar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Hotel Pulitzer experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that we were not able to exceed your expectations. It was never our intention to give you a feeling that you were not in a Luxury environment. We are indeed part of the Starwood Luxury Collection hotels, as we strive to provide all our guests with an exceptional and indigenous experience.
As we would like to offer our guests high quality coffee, we situated the Espresso Bar in our lobby. Therefore we do not have a coffee making station in the rooms. However, our Housekeeping Department would be more than happy to provide you with one upon your request.

Thank you again for your valued feedback and I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yes, it is in a fantastic location. Yes, the building and layout are extremely cool. Yes, the hotel's own boat tour is a blast. All those things you can see in pictures. But what we will always take away from our 3 nights there, was the tremendous customer service. Many places claim it, very few deliver it. Not just "get it done", but get it done with a smile, concern, and friendliness that makes an impression. From the doorman (Max!), to the front desk staff (concierge team was tremendously helpful), to the bartenders.... everyone makes you feel welcome. A truly great experience......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear BroncoFan12,

Wow! Thank you very much for your wonderful words! This certainly makes my week.

It is truly heartwarming to read our Ambassadors made your stay extra special. I agree with you that when they go the extra mile, your stay gets elevated to another level.

Thank you again for your compliments and I hope we may welcome you again!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed at the Pulitzer many years ago and was glad to come back. The hotel is still very charming, with rooms spread over several houses that have been combined to form the hotel. Some of the rooms can be small, others can have windows looking into internal courts, but I still like it. It is expensive, as everything in Amsterdam is, but the location is unbeatable (next to the Anne Frank museum) on one of the most beautiful parts of town. Wi-fi connection could be faster. The guys helping with the luggage and cars are very nice and helpful, the ladies at the reception could be nicer though, they can get stressed and a bit rough at busy times.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear ckatsuya,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on your recent stay in Hotel Pulitzer. I am very happy to read we had the honor of welcoming you back after all these years.

Please be informed that I have personally shared your feedback with our Front Desk team, as we strive to treat all our guests with a warm welcome and a genuine smile.
Furthermore I have informed our IT team with regards to the internet speed.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Nicely refurbished historical hotel which exudes charm and character. Location is very good as well 5 mins stroll to the tram stop. However prices are very steep and rooms a little tiny. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. If you are planning to stay in the room much, get a canal view room, or else get out and explore Amsterdam! There's a bus direct to the airport too if you pre arrange.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear williamlye,

Thank you very much for your review on Hotel Pulitzer. It was a true pleasure having you as our guest.
As Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 authentic Canal Houses, dating back to the 17th and 18th century, we strived to preserve as much charm and authenticity as we possibly could. Consequently, all rooms in Hotel Pulitzer are unique in size and shape. It could happen that you are assigned to a room which is not entirely up to your satisfaction. If the availability permits, our Front Desk team is more than happy to find a suitable room for you.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved the hotel for its service, location and friendly personnel...what one can expect from a luxury hotel. Located on Prinsengracht, just a few steps away from Anne Frank House, in the neighbourhood of Jordaan which is an absolute top location in Amsterdam. Here, you can immerse yourself in an exciting culture and lifestyle experience. Evidently, I was enjoying life strutting my way along the canal lined with 17th century houses, going through the small alleys and stopping by to peak inside the quirky specialty shops, designer boutiques, antique shops and cafes. Such a chic up-scale neighbourhood. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Cintaberry,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on TripAdvisor! It was amazing to read your review on your recent stay with us in Hotel Pulitzer.
We are indeed situated on The Prinsengracht, a few hundred meters away from the Anne Frank House.
The best way to explore Amsterdam is either by foot or canal, and from what I can read, you certainly enjoyed the atmosphere of the city!

I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best memories of my life made in this hotel . George Clooney was right , great hotel . Thank you for filling up my mini bar so often :) PS you need to improve on the chicken wings ;) everything else was perfect . Great location friendly and helpful staff . Thank you once again for keeping our privacy private

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ninjasonic,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to read that you had a memorable stay in Amsterdam. Your comment regarding our chicken wings has been shared with our Executive Chef in order to improve this dish and our service.
I hope to welome you back to historical Hotel Pulitzer during your next visit to Amsterdam!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.