We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly & fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #44 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Palmetto, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly & fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 4 days on two different occasions in August 2013. We found the room, staff & location were great! We even went for a tour on the hotel's 100 year old boat that was polished to the nines! While we didn't have dinner in the hotel(it was all booked up) their pies are delicious! We would definitely stay at the Pulitzer on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Donald D,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful words with us on TripAdvisor.
Please be informed that I will inform our team with your compliments.
Our associates will be proud to hear about your impressions regarding the courtesy and quality of service.

I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    925
    533
    194
    84
    59
See reviews for
260
800
103
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We splurged in the middle of a long trip are spending two nights at this hotel, and it is a wonderful respite. Some loudness in the morning (trash collection, construction) but that is countered by the lovely canal view. Great location! Concierge is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Charlotteella,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pulitzer as your destination during your travels to Amsterdam. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

As the Canal View rooms are directly located on the Canals, it can occur that there is some outside noise during the morning and day.
Should you wish to have an entirely tranquil stay, I would recommend the rooms facing our Gardens.

We look forward welcoming you again in our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent 2 days at the Hotel Pulitzer in August 2013. It is in a perfect location. Close to major attractions and in a beautiful area with lots of cafes and restaurants close by. We loved this hotel. It had a charm about it that you don't get in large hotels. The staff were wonderful - friendly - and very helpful. We loved the fact that they had a Nespresso machine in the lobby in the early morning so you could grab a free cup of coffee before everything else opened up. The only downside to our stay was that the room was on the small side. It was beautifully appointed with a really, really comfortable bed, but not a lot of room to store suitcases, etc. HOWEVER, everything else made up for this fact and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Kathy3197,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on Hotel Pulitzer!
As Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 Canal Houses dating back to the 17th and 18th century, we strive to preserve as much charm and authenticity as we can. Therefore all of the rooms are unique in shape and size. Consequently this means that you may be assigned a room you are not entirely happy with. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Office, to check which other rooms may be available.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I regularly visit Amsterdam and really wanted to try the Pulitzer for a romantic week-end with my husband as we once lived nearby, a long long time ago. We used to walk past and I thought it looked terrific, being made up of those old canal houses. It really has a romantic feel from the outside.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it is on one of the main canals and in easily walkable distance of the main attractions and charming shops of the Jordaan.
However after my stay I feel the hotel is more of a 4 star than a 5 star, although I would agree the pricing is 5 star! Breakfasts are expensive and not fantastic value for money and it is best to eat in one of the little cafes nearby. Our room had charm ans was clean but it had a terrible view on a wall on thr other side of the atrium, that was all we could see!
Ceilings were low and you did head a lot of noise from the nearby rooms and upstairs.
I would not pick that hotel again unless I paid for a canal view room.

Room Tip: Unless you pay for a canal view you will probably be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear FTR2013,

Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet or even exceed your expectations. Hotel Pulitzer strives to provide all guests with an exceptional and indigenous experience and I regret to read we were not able to provide you with these important values.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor, and I hope we do may welcome you again in our unique property again. We would greatly appreciate a chance to show you we can do better.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is absolutely superb. The rooms were ok but not great -- nothing comparable to the 5-star hotels we stayed in at The Hague and Lille. The breakfast and lunch are excellent. But it is mostly the location that will bring me there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear stcyrienne,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Pulitzer experiences with us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as our breakfast buffet and lunch. Did you have lunch in our garden? It is very nice to have lunch in our gardens around this time of year.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that you did not think our hotel would suit in the 5* segment. As we so unique with the Canal Houses, it makes our hotel quite charming and quirky, so we do not have the grandeur that a normal 5* hotel would. Be we believe our quirkiness and the fact that we are not a cookie- cutter hotel, makes us so special.

I do hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have to say I was disappointed in this hotel, almost accross the board. From the exterior it looks pretty swanky, but upon entering one gets a completely different impression. The staff was pleasant. I believe our room was in an older part of the hotel - it felt tiny and cramped. The wood floor creaked, and we could hear every word from the couple above us - when they walked on the floor it was so loud in our room! I wasn't really expecting the creaky old Amsterdam hotel. The bathroom was small but fairly luxurious, but the shower is the smallest I have ever seen. We are on the shorter side - if you are taller than 5'10" you will not be able to stand erect. The hotel is quite scuffed and worn - the whole hotel needs some paint touch-ups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT in the old, creaky part, though I'm not sure if there IS a newer part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear 493Ron,

Thank you very much for your helpful feedback on your recent stay in Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection hotel.
It was a true pleasure having you as our highly valued guest.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused during your stay. As Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 Canal Houses dating back from the 17th and 18th century, we tried to maintain as much character and authenticity as possible. I am sorry that because of this, you were able to hear the guests staying above you. Please be informed that our Painter is making a round through the hotel for the coming few months, to touch up all the rooms and public areas.

I do hope we may welcome you again in our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

choosing a hotel in Amsterdam was not an easy task... wanted a larger room, great location and excellent service! Voilá - Pulitzer Hotel!
Everyone very friendly - especially the concierge Ron Stoevelaar who taught is a trick to avoid lines in museums - uhuu!
Aslo recommend Erick Oterdoom - fantastic driver for excursions outside of city limits!

Room Tip: suite 474 is on top floor of the back side of hotel - very good except for having only 2 small windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Andreas K,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on Hotel Pulitzer. I am happy that you ultimately chose for Hotel Pulitzer during your travels to Amsterdam.

Ron was delighted to hear he was of good service to you, I have shared your compliments with him and his team.

We look forward welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.