We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night during my 3 day trip in AMS. The staff are by far the friendliest and warm. Our room was smaller than most others I have stayed at in the same price category. However overall it very clean room and comfortable beds, the location and sorrounding restaurants bars bistros are very nice! It's also a short walk to the city square.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    617
    235
    94
    65
See reviews for
303
949
116
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

There are 2 gems of similar caliber a few blocks apart. Pulitzer and Andaz classy and humble.Choose them if you want to stay away but close( 10-15 min walk) from red light/coffee shop madness. You dont have to spend 38 euros for buffet breakfast at their restaurant. There are plenty of breakfast choices around including nice cafe in the lobby. We loved this hotel very mutch

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am SPG Gold. I stayed here with my college age daughter. I was here for three nights, but two nights were paid for with SPG point (which is maybe why I didn't get a canal view upgrade). I was offered an upgrade for an additional $75Euro a night, which I wasn't willing to spend. Therefore we got what they called an "upgrade" but what I would call a "garret room". It was a very nice room but the roof slanted and the bathroom was small and we had a very small window that looked out to courtyard. Reading the other rave reviews of the canal rooms makes me regret that I didn't upgrade but 75Euro is a lot of money each night. In short, I would recommend this room if you're willing to pay a stiff nightly fee to ensure a canal view. Otherwise the rooms are similar to a smaller boutique hotel which might be less money per night.

Room Tip: Not sure what the non-upgraded non-view rooms look like but I would look at the room before you take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in wonderful Amsterdam for 8 days. Spent 3 nights in a room overlooking the canal with huge windows that opened up to enjoy the gorgeous light. Spent the remainder in a large comfortable 1 bedroom/2 bath suite.

The staff in the breakfast room were very, very good. They remembered my children and brought them everything they needed each day. We were treated well and addressed by name.

Will definitely return and cant wait to return to the Pulitzer.

Only less than positive note was the service from the concierge. The head concierge is aloof, bordering on rude. On several occasions, we stood at the desk waiting for him while he shuffled paperwork and did not even look up to acknowledge us. The younger concierge provided good restaurant recommendations and we appreciated his assistance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

How great to stay in an establishment where the people who are there to assist you, are courteous, engaging, efficient, and everything they do is with the customer's complete satisfaction in mind. Outstanding service to be sure! What an admirable group of people. Hotel Pulitzer is immaculate in it's cleanliness. Canal View Suites are spectacular. Terrific location that can't be beat. Won't stay anywhere else. Kudos to all the Hotel Pulitzer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear 145anab,

Wow, thank you very much for your lovely review on your recent stay with us in Hotel Pulitzer! It is truly heartwarming to read our Ambassadors were of such good assistance to you and provided you with an exceptional and indigenous experience.
On behalf of the entire team at Hotel Pulitzer, I look forward welcoming you back at our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have enjoyed the stay in this hotel for two nights. The location of the hotel is very central and in front of the canal. The room I was given was good, clean and comfortable. The breakfast and food at the hotel is very good. There are also plenty of other restaurants at walking distance. The hotel staff are very friendly and the concierge was very helpful in providing information to us. Both checkin and checkout very smooth.

I recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear MarkFormosa1980,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on Hotel Pulitzer. It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
I have shared your comments with our team, as this is a great motivator!
I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in July, 2013. Excellent stay in a canal view room. Pros: Charming, quirky rooms, canal rooms have lovely views, authentic Amsterdam experience, canal side tables provide wonderful dining experience, great linens and décor. Cons: Disjointed layout can be confusing, busy reception area, small bathrooms.
Also, loved the boat ride on the vintage wooden canal cruiser. Pricey, but lovely experience.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Canal view rooms worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear thevail4,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Hotel Pulitzer experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree that the layout of the hotel is not a cookie cutter standard, however when walking through the hotel, you get used to the routes and it is actually nice to get lost once in a while! Furthermore I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your room and the Canal View.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.