We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy from €75 F
Ranked #45 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just spent a week at the Pulitzer. We were offered a spectacular junior suite (I believe it was 318 or 418) with three massive windows on the Keizersgracht. Apart from being at the centre of everything in Amsterdam, the Pulitzer benefits from truly excellent building design work. Details were looked after, and the staff were polite, attentive and sufficiently invisible. The little espresso bar was adorable, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious every day. Everything was reasonably priced, as is the case with most of Amsterdam. We have also stayed at the Dylan and the Amstel, and neither even comes close to the Pulitzer. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Keizersgracht get better light during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Iezunip,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on TripAdvisor! It was a true pleasure having you as our guest in Hotel Pulitzer.

Please be informed that your compliments on the Espresso Bar and our breakfast have been past on in our teams.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward welcoming you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    571
    214
    89
    61
See reviews for
278
871
108
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The beds are some of the most comfortable I've had while traveling, the bathrooms are great, and the breakfasts are good. The only problems were the size of the rooms (smallish) and the noise if you get a canal view room (deliveries are made early in the A.M. and are not quiet, and the rooms do not have good soundproofing). If sleeping in is your thing, opt for a garden view. Also, it is, technically, within walking distance of Dam Square, but it is a long walk. Pretty area, but not as close to the museums/attractions as some others. You will either need a taxi, or you will have very tired feet! One tip, if you are taking the canal buses (boats), the stop for Anne Frank's house is less than a block from the front of the hotel, but you can't buy tickets at that stop (the bus drivers sometimes have them on board, but sometimes forget). But if you're out and buy a canal bus pass for the day, it's an easy way to get back to the hotel, and it's scenic, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed comfort of the bed.

All rooms in Hotel Pulitzer are unique in size and shape, as the hotel consists of 25 authentic Canal Houses. We strive to provide all our guests with the room of their liking, so please do contact us should you not be happy with your room.

We hope to welcome you again in our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Only stayed two nights but the situation of the hotel was perfect Walking in this city is a must and very easy. Everywhere very accessible.
The hotel is not cheap but this level of Starwood hotels is not going to be.
The check in staff were very pleasant as was any one else we spoke to especially Ron, the concierge, who was extremely informative.
The room was quite small, not quite what we expected of a de luxe room but as usual the bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathroom although again small, was of a very high quality as were the toiletries.
The only problem we had was that the room was very warm and it seems the air con is only available in the summer.

Would definitely stay here again when next in Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Hepburn42,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Hotel Pulitzer. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I am delighted to read you enjoyed and appreciated Ron's service. Please be informed that we have shared your compliments with him, and he was very happy to hear he was of good service.

I am sorry to hear your room was very warm, please be informed that the air-conditioning is indeed available in the spring, however we have shared your comments with our Engineering department, in order to prevent any similar situations in the future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is overlooking two of the city's most picturesque canals, the Prinsengracht and the Keizersgracht. Great hotel, terrific location in the heart of the old city center. I loved the fact that the hotel is comprised of a block of 25 restored 17th and 18th century canal houses with many historic details.
The staff were very friendly and helpful everyday. The bed was amazingly comfortable along with the rest of the room. The shower had great pressure but it was pretty narrow even for a slim person. We didn't visit the restaurant so I can't rate the food but the surrounding area has a lot of great choices. Be sure to check out The Pancake Bakery for breakfast but don't expect them to open on time. We waited outside for 30 minutes after said opening time but it's worth the wait.
We used hotel points for our entire five days stay which was a fantastic way to spend the points. Be sure if you can afford it, to get a room facing the canal...we didn't and regretted it. The courtyard side is nothing special if your looking for a view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear smattox114,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Pulitzer experience with us on TripAdvisor. Especially as an highly valued SPG member, your feedback is very important to us.

I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer. Furthermore I would like to invite you to try our restaurant Keizersgracht 238, and am very interested in your findings.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after checking and out of another hotel that was terrible. We found this hotel online and they had availability. We booked only 1 hour in advance. What a wonderful place! Great friendly staff. The rooms are immaculate and have very comfortable beds. A great place to relax after a long day of touring the city. Definitely worth paying a little extra for the comfort. We had a courtyard view which was not anything special but nonetheless very cozy. I will definitely be booking this hotel again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear M M,

Thank you very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to read that we welcomed you in Hotel Pulitzer so last minute. What a wonderful words on describing your stay with us!

I hope that we indeed may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer, should your travels welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made a return visit to the Pulitzer after a number of years since our last visit, and we weren't disappointed. This is a superb hotel and can only be described by two Qs... quirky and quality. The location is perfect with all amenities, restaurants, museums and shops all within easy walking distance. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well-appointed, and those with either canal or garden views are special. The food in the restaurant had improved out of all recognition since our last stay, and the ambience in the bar is top rate. Can anything top this? Yes, and that's the staff throughout the hotel - warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. When you combine all these factors, you're in for a treat - just don't expect it to come cheaply!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Keizergracht canal side are good, although the outside of the hotel was being refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Vesparian,

Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you very much for your comments and praises. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. Furthermore I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Pulitzer, I hope we may welcome you again in our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Location, decor, service, food, bar, staff. All superb. Arguably a little pricey but I do believe it is worth paying for. A great city but not my cup of tea, Pulitzer was a welcome retreat and a great quirky 'Amsterdam' kind of place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear dmc1edin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Furthermore I would like to thank you for your comments on the prices in the hotel. Please be informed that I did share this with our team, even though you found it worth paying for.

Next to Amsterdam, The Netherlands has a lot of other exciting places to see, perhaps one with more of the features you are looking for.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.