We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after checking and out of another hotel that was terrible. We found this hotel online and they had availability. We booked only 1 hour in advance. What a wonderful place! Great friendly staff. The rooms are immaculate and have very comfortable beds. A great place to relax after a long day of touring the city. Definitely worth paying a little extra for the comfort. We had a courtyard view which was not anything special but nonetheless very cozy. I will definitely be booking this hotel again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made a return visit to the Pulitzer after a number of years since our last visit, and we weren't disappointed. This is a superb hotel and can only be described by two Qs... quirky and quality. The location is perfect with all amenities, restaurants, museums and shops all within easy walking distance. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well-appointed, and those with either canal or garden views are special. The food in the restaurant had improved out of all recognition since our last stay, and the ambience in the bar is top rate. Can anything top this? Yes, and that's the staff throughout the hotel - warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. When you combine all these factors, you're in for a treat - just don't expect it to come cheaply!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Keizergracht canal side are good, although the outside of the hotel was being refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vesparian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Vesparian,

Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you very much for your comments and praises. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. Furthermore I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Pulitzer, I hope we may welcome you again in our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Location, decor, service, food, bar, staff. All superb. Arguably a little pricey but I do believe it is worth paying for. A great city but not my cup of tea, Pulitzer was a welcome retreat and a great quirky 'Amsterdam' kind of place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc1edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear dmc1edin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Furthermore I would like to thank you for your comments on the prices in the hotel. Please be informed that I did share this with our team, even though you found it worth paying for.

Next to Amsterdam, The Netherlands has a lot of other exciting places to see, perhaps one with more of the features you are looking for.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely room overlooking canal. Very conveniently located - could walk everywhere we wanted to go and a couple of blocks from a bike rental shop. Very good restaurants within two block radius. Breakfast was great. Turn-down service every night and room was well maintained. We had an issue with a lost wallet and the staff were very helpful. It was my second visit to this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I have stayed here before and there is a big difference in quality from one room to the next. Last t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear VJM02,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pulitzer as your destination during your travels to Amsterdam. I am sorry to read you lost your wallet, but I am happy to read our ambassadors were helpful in the situation.

We look forward welcoming you again in Hotel Pulitzer, should you require any assistance with a booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to Amsterdam to have a nice, long weekend away from the kids. We chose Pulitzer based on location and referrals. It was nice, good service and all that. But sorry to say, we expected a bit more than we got.
Nice bar, the 238 restaurant was nothing more than average (only tried it once). Location was great though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacmor73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jacmore73,

Thank you for your comments and honest feedback on your stay in Hotel Pulitzer. Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to provide you with the exceptional and indigenous experience we strive to provide all our guests. It was never our intention to give you a dissatisfied and unappreciated feeling during your stay.

I do hope we may welcome you again, we would truly appreciate a chance to show you how we intend our service in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked this through BA Holidays as a package, 1 adult 2 children aged 10,details of ages passport number and everything else given well in advance, flight ok transfer ok, check in it starts..the room. I have booked is small, they can show it to me and if I accept it move in a camp bed! Or I could pay 70€ a night supplement to upgrade....when I said I'll take the room I booked weeks ago with 3 beds in please, he went to get his supervisor, long story short, whilst polite and helpful, two managers showed me 3 rooms, the one booked , not safe for 3 beds, one in the loft with sloping ceiling and beams, again too small, then came the upgrade... Ended up accepting as been over an hour now and children getting worried, haggled the cost to €50 per night to include Internet, camp bed brought in to room other furniture taken out...

Room 182, not a canal view, not executive. As on ground floor in liine with canal so not really a view, also need curtains drawn or get mistaken for a lady in the window! Noisy as people pass late at night, and every time the guest in the room Next door or above go to the loo you hear all the details, that goes for showers too.

Staff friendly on front desk, but used to dealing with business clients, at breakfast an element of a club you are not included in, as business chaps get coffee and etc first, lots of waves and welcomes for those guest, after3 nights , we still got asked if we had been in the restaurant before?

That aside location great for sights, and breakfast well worth the annoying over important brigade on their electronic devises....

Would only stay again. If came away with out the children so not goi g to happen

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the hotel guide re rooms and use this not package companies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jo P,

Thank you for sharing you Hotel Pulitzer experience on TripAdvisor. I am grateful that you have also shared your feedback, especially with regards to the reservation process and the breakfast. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during the check-in procedure. We have shared your feedback with our reservations team, to take an extra focus on the rooms booked through the travel agent packages. Furthermore the breakfast team has been informed on your experience, so we can prevent a similar situation from happening.

I do hope that we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer, despite the unfortunate experiences you encountered.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A lovely hotel in a good position only a few mins away from the central station, overlooking a canal. Staff were all helpful without being stuffy. The room was clean,large with a nicely appointed bathroom ensuite with a selection of luxury toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally123308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sally123308,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guest in Hotel Pulitzer.

I am delighted to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the service level of our ambassadors.

We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer, should you travels take you to Amsterdam again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing