We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Outstanding Customer Service - at its very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy from €75 F
Ranked #45 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Luxury & Outstanding Customer Service - at its very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Worth paying the extra, to experience a luxurious hotel in a quiet area of Amsterdam, only a few minutes walk from the tram. The whole experience from arriving outside the hotel through to a reluctant departure; leaves other hotels way behind. All the staff display what can only be described as outstanding customer service skills; coupled with a true desire to make your stay an experience to be remembered; but in a quiet and unassuming way. The restaurant, bar and most of all the breakfast experience just has to be the best we have had - worldwide; ever. Well done indeed you leave other establishments in awe of what you "deliver" as the overall customer experience. Keep it up!

Room Tip: Canal view is an extra; however its an old builidng and well insulated, and the aircon only operates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear nick290459,

Thank you very much for your review and compliments to Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the service level of our ambassadors and that you felt appreciated and special as a guest. Please be informed that we have shared your review with our Food and Beverage team, who were very excited and delighted! We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer soon.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    569
    213
    89
    61
See reviews for
278
869
108
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just returned from a three day stay at the Pulitzer in Amsterdam. Everything was perfect - the welcome, the room, the location, the breakfast, the restaurant. We had mentioned that it was our 40th wedding anniversary and had champagne, chocolate and flowers waiting in the upgraded room. We can't say anything about the other rooms and I suppose with 25 houses put together, they are of varying sizes but ours was wonderful. We had a view on the canal and only once in the three days did we hear anything from outside. The personnel was exceptionally smiley and it seemed, sincerely friendly. The only time it seemed less than sincere was when a waiter in the restaurant told us he had a wonderful table for us and led us to the table next to the kitchen door. We asked for another one and there was no problem - we wouldn't actually have minded too much the table next to the kitchen but didn't like being told it was a "wonderful" table. All in all, it was a wonderful stay that made us want to return as soon as possible. The hotel is fascinating, with staircases and corridors connecting the houses. There is very interesting art throughout the hotel. Just a bit of advice for those arriving at the airport - take the hotel shuttle - more convenient than the train, less expensive than an individual taxi. It goes to the hotel the passengers are staying at so you get a little tour of Amsterdam at the same time.

Room Tip: The gardens are beautiful as is the canal. The garden side is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Aliden49,

Congratulations on your 40th Wedding Anniversary and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pulitzer to celebrate this special occasion! Indeed, as Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 Canal Houses, all rooms in the hotel are unique in size and shape. Furthermore I would like to thank you for your feedback on the waiter in the restaurant, please be informed that I have shared your thoughts with our team. We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer when your travels take you to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambéry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Pulitizer to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The stay was wonderful from beginning - champagne, chocolates and tulips waiting in the room, efficient and friendly check-in - to the end - limousine instead of hotel shuttle to the airport. The location is perfect for nearly everything from all the tourist attractions to quiet walks in the Jordaan. The personnel is competent and efficient which is to be expected of course but also smiling and, it seemed, sincerely friendly - we were invited into the Service elevator when the client elevator was long in coming. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, delicious food. The only slight incident was when a waiter, with a big smile and "I have a wonderful table for you here", showed us to the table next to the kitchen door - it would have better to let us decide if we thought it was a wonderful table or to let us choose - which in any case we did with no problem. The hotel itself is fascinating with beautiful gardens, staircases linking the different houses, interesting art in the corridors. If you have something to celebrate, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: We were on the canal side and only once (in three days) heard people celebrfating outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Denis M,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing Hotel Pulitzer as your destination to celebrate this special occasion!
I am delighted to read you enjoyed the service level and efficiency of our ambassadors. Please be informed that I have shared your review with our Food and Beverage team, in order to prevent any similar situations in the future. We look forward welcoming you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great stay at this hotel through excellent service and, high finish of location details and perfect location in the Jordaan, the place to be in Amsterdam. Loved the breakfast and advised to take your time to enjoy.

Room Tip: First choice for stay in hotel in Amsterdam. Take your time for the great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear MartinNederhoed,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you with us and I am delighted to read you appreciated the service of our ambassadors. Our breakfast is indeed quite extensive, so I fully agree with you on taking the time to enjoy breakfast!
We look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st andrews
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights at the Pulitzer in Amsterdan. We stayed here 3 years ago and enjoyed our trip and decided to extend this years break to 6 days to allow us more time to explore and enjoy the hotel ( I see no point in paying for a 5* room and not using it). The first room we had was the top room in one of the rear buildings full of exposed beams and rafters. plenty of space, a view of the inner courtyard and the only problem being trying to find our way back the first few times! on the 3rd day we were advised that a water supply problem would cause us problems the next day and we were offered an upgrade room for the rest of the stay - as the director of a property management company I am well aware things go wrong and the way the request was made to us was exactly as I would have hoped my staff would handle the matter. The staff moved everything for us and to our surprise later in the day we were caught in the bar and informed that the drinks just ordered were on the hotel as a thanks for allowing the move.
Each day was set up with an excellent breakfast (with or without sparkling wine) don't miss the smoothies and the sausages were superb and although we didn't use the restaurant the Pulitzer bar laid on excellent bar food and cocktails for us in the evenings.
The Pulitzer Hotel lived up to the physical expectation we had but the real icing was the staf f- from the maintenance team just walking round, to the front of counter staff we have never come across a team who are so concentrated on coming across and talking to customers in a genuine and friendly manner. You can have the best operation in the market but without your staff you are run of the mill - Pulitzer is most certainly not run of the mill!

In response to the last reviewer - if you had bothered to look in the wardrobe you would have found the bag and instructions to use the complimentary shoe cleaning service - just hang out and use the phone number for your shoes to be cleaned overnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Michael F,

Wow, thank you for your amazing review! It gives me great pleasure reading your experience in Hotel Pulitzer and I am very proud that the ambassadors assisted you accordingly throughout your stay. I agree with you that the staff makes the difference. Every 5* hotel offers the same, but the experience is personalized by the staff. I hope we may welcome you again in the near future, when your travels take you back to Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The closest any part of the Pulitzer had to “Luxury” was its inclusion in Stanwood’s “Luxury Collection”. The rest of the property was so pedestrianly disappointing that I checked out after one night and spent the rest of the week at the genuinely 5-Star De L’Europe.

At the Pulitzer, our canal view suite was small, plain and cramped. The armoire, which supplanted a closet, was so tiny it could barely contain the 2 terry robes and certainly could not hold any dresses, coats or jackets.

The bath was smaller than the miniscule one we had just shared on a river barge. On a barge one expects a demi-bath, here I certainly did not. As one expects in a tiny space there was no room for shelves or hooks to place one toiletries making the bath as useless as the armoire.

The lack of horizontal surface carried into the bedroom did not have space to permit both my wife and I to use our laptops simultaneously without one sitting on the bed.

The décor was Plain. My wife called it “Dutch Practical” I called it less stylish than my college long since forgotten dorm room (and that was a dump).

To me “Dutch Practical” was the shoe-polishing machine by the elevator on our floor.
Luxury places its shoe shining in a bag to be picked up at night and returned in the morning.

I was looking forward to my first visit to Amsterdam carefully picked the Pulitzer from amongst the 5 Star hotels, especially as it has been voted on Trip Advisor as one of the best, partly because of its location and partially as the idea that someone had taken the effort to carefully connect a block of old houses into an outwardly charming place. Starwood should consider rebranding this property as a Westin, to lower guests expectations to what they can deliver. Until then I suggest any traveler go elsewhere if they expect more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Venamo,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments on Hotel Pulitzer. We strive to provide all our guests with an exceptional and indigenous experience, and I am sorry to learn we were not able to provide these important values to you during your stay. Please be informed that your review has been shared with our team, so we can learn and improve our service. I hope that despite your unfortunate experience, we may welcome you again in the near future. We would truly appreciate a chance to show you we can do better.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have traveled through Amsterdam frequently as a gateway to other places in Europe but this time we stayed a few days to see the Ann Frank house and to revisit Keukenhof again. We were directed by our travel agent to the Hotel Pulitzer because of its convenient location to just about everything and because it is such an excellent hotel. I suggest you visit their website first. It speaks for itself with pictures and videos that tell a true story of what really is a 'Collection Luxury Hotel'. It seems the owners purchased about 25 individual buildings and stuck them together to make a rather unique hotel & restaurant. It is fabulous if a bit confusing - but fun - to navigate with multiple elevators and passageways. Take the same canal tour boat Winston Churchill used on his stay and visit the 'red light district' and easy walk away and do not miss the Ann Frank house a few steps down the canal. The hotel itself is way above board for comfort, luxury and service. You cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 'back side' facing a canal and over the restaurant. It was quiet and offere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sumner B,

Thank you very much for your review on Hotel Pulitzer. Our property consists of 25 authentic Canal Houses, dating back to the 17th and 18th century. To maintain as much charm and original pieces of the houses, the houses were linked internally with staircases and corridors. Therewith, all rooms are unique in size and shape and the corridors may indeed be a little bit confusing. Our boat tour is indeed definitely a recommendation. We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.