We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Boutique Hotel with excellent decor, staff, food, and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Boutique Hotel with excellent decor, staff, food, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful Boutique Hotel that is unique and stylish, with exceptional service at all levels. Modern and Contemporary artwork at every turn. Excellent food, and a very Stylish Bar/Lounge that will delight your senses.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Gunnergirlss,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure having you as our highly valued guest and I hope we may welcome you again soon.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    643
    245
    94
    66
See reviews for
320
988
117
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a fantastic New Year here. Hotel and staff were both welcoming and of a high standard. Loved the bar and restaurant and biggest thank you to Clement Denarie who went out of his way to accommodate our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Katie P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read you enjoyed celebrating the New Year in our hotel. We have shared your compliments to Clement, who was delighted to hear he was able to accommodate your needs successfully. We look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here using Aeroplan points, otherwise it would have been way too pricey for us. BEAUTIFUL rooms, love how they have a write up in each room on what your particular canal house was used for historically. Concierge was great, and I felt treated just like any other well to do guest even though I was just a lowly backpacker.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Daheim86,

It's a pleasure to read you felt at home in our unique property. Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you noticed the new stories on the history of the rooms and Canal Houses. We recently implemented the stories and I am happy to read it is appreciated.
We look forward welcoming you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in December. The property is lovely and I like the fact that its a lot of connected row houses. The room was nice, but definitely a 4-star room, not 5. Maybe even 3.5 stars. The conceirge was very helpful, but overwhelmed -- the line was long for help. We were disappointed in the bar, where a waiter was subbing for the bartender and did not know what sweet vermouth was -- we had to show him which bottle to use. Also, we had skipped dessert after dinner, but after walking home I wanted some. All the waffle trucks we passed were closed (it was only 11:00), but I figured we could order some in the hotel for sure. No luck! They don't serve dessert after 11 PM, the best I could do was a hot chocolate. Bummer. What kind of 5-star hotel doesn't have dessert after 11 PM? None, that's why this is not really a 5-star, but just a lovely 4-star hotel. They should call it what it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear kate0614,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay in Hotel Pulitzer. Please be informed that we have shared your comments on the Room Service menu with our Food and Beverage Department, in order to improve our service. I am sorry to read we did not meet or even exceed your expectations with regards to your room and the general service in the hotel. I hope we may welcome you again and show you we can do much better.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great Starwood property made up of connecting old buildings provides for an old Amsterdam feel with all of the great Starwood amenities. Close to the center without being too much in the thick of it and also close to great, less well-traveled neighborhoods for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear smeyler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. Indeed, Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 Canal Houses dating back from the 17th and 18th century. We strived to maintain and preserve the charm and authenticity of the buildings to provide our guests with the old Amsterdam feel, so I am very happy to read you appreciated the feeling and atmosphere in the hotel.
I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been staying at the Hotel Pulitzer for many, many years...more than twelve! I have recommended this property to others, and all have thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The staff of the Pulitzer are most genuine in their interests at having guests be comfortable; the Pulitzer Hospitality is very real..and not forced. From the diverse Concierge Team who are most eager to assist down to the Housekeeping and Bell Staff who always have time to say " hello ", the Pulitzer is really an oasis of hospitality and efficiency..a rare combination these days. With each room being quite different from each other, staying at the Pulitzer is always a kind of exploration. The Restaurant Staff...from the Chef to the Waiters...always want to provide a taste of home for Americans...even with Lox and Bagels! I find staying at the Pulitzer to be like being in my neighborhood.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a Canal View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear alanglobal,

Wow, what a review! Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. Its a pleasure to read you enjoy the service level of our ambassadors and genuinely feel at home with us. This is certainly the best compliment a guest can give us! Naturally we look forward welcoming you again to our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel lived up to our high expectations. We had booked a room with a canal view and was very pleased with the one we got on the second floor. Be aware that there are threes just outside of the hotel so if you get a room on the third or fourth floor the threes just might block your view, but that's just a guess. The location is great, we walked everywhere and there are plenty of good restaurangs and boutiques just around the corner. A perfect place to stay if you spend a weekend in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Adam G,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am very happy to read we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your room with Canal View. Indeed, we do have some trees just outside the hotel, however they do not block the view of the rooms on the third and fourth floor.
I hope we may welcome you again in our hotel, should your travels take you to Amsterdam in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.