We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in the Middle of Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in the Middle of Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here twice this year, and really enjoyed it. Was lucky enough to have a canal view both times which was nice. Staff is very nice. The location cannot be beat. The rooms I had were very comfortable. The hotel is not a standard "big box" because it is made up of a number of old buildings joined together, but easy enough to navigate. It’s also right in the middle of a district that is very interesting with lots of great little restaurants and shops. It’s a modern hotel with plenty of old world charm. It’s the only place I stay in Amsterdam. It is part of the Starwood family, so helps to have Starwood status. After some really bad experiences at “W” brand hotels, especially the one in NY on Lexington, I have shifted to Hiltons, but this is one Starwood location that I will always go back to.

Room Tip: Canals rooms are nice but how long can you spend looking out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Worldtraveler123451,

I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experiences with other users. It is a great pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, which consists out of 25 typical Dutch and historical canal houses. I am glad the comfort of the room, the friendliness of our Ambassadors and the location of the hotel resulted in a memorable stay in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. I am sorry to read about your previous experiences with other Starwood properties. However, I am glad Hotel Pulitzer will be your ‘home away from home’ during your future visits to Amsterdam and therefore we are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    652
    248
    94
    66
See reviews for
331
1,000
118
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a recent break in Amsterdam. It has one of the best locations in the city in the heart of The Jordaan but only ten minutes into town.

Due to some problems at our other accommodation, we booked 2 rooms at The Pulitzer at very short notice. We got pretty favourable rates for both nights and 2 beautiful rooms. The reception and reservation staff were friendly and professional which made for a great first impression.

The hotel incorporates a number of canal houses which can make allocating your room a little tricky. If you have a lot of luggage or are not very mobile i would certainly request a room in the main building or have a porter assist you!

The room we stayed in was a standard room but it was airy and bright with a large window, wooden floors and one of the most comfortable beds i've ever slept in! The bathrooms are very small but are beautiful with under floor heated marble floors. The rooms were perfectly clean with good housekeeping. We overlooked an internal courtyard and were able to sleep with the window open due to such little external noise.

The hotel in general is beautiful and the bar is a lovely space to have a drink and lounge and the drinks aren't crazily expensive. There was a nice mix of clientele at the hotel ranging from families to young couples and groups to seniors.

I tend to be rather critical of most hotels coming from a hotel and private service background and sadly, i am often disappointed with hotels in general. However, I can honestly recommend this lovely hotel for a luxurious comfortable stay in Amsterdam with great service.

We are due back in Amsterdam in January and had been considering The Dylan but after this experience we may just return to The Pulitzer...for the beds if nothing else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear MIssPCT,

What a wonderful review of Hotel Pulitzer, thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other users! I am delighted to read you have chosen our hotel during your recent break in Amsterdam.

Since Hotel Pulitzer consists out of 25 historical canal houses, dated back from the 17th and 18th century, all rooms are different in size and shape. Those 25 houses are linked with each other via staircases, corridors and galleries; our porters are indeed pleased to assist our guests in guidance to the rooms and explain about the historical aspects of the hotel. I am delighted to read you have enjoyed the cleanliness and quietness of the room you stayed in as well as the comfort of the bed. Your compliments regarding the friendliness of our Ambassadors from the reception and the reservation department have been shared with the entire team.

Once again thank you very much for recommending our hotel. On behalf of all of us at Hotel Pulitzer, we are looking forward creating another exceptional, luxurious and comfortable experience during your future stay in January in Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel, very romantic. We were very happy, everyone was nice particularly when we had a problem a young man Mike helped us a lot : He spoke Arabic and 4 other languages. We were very impressed because isnt easy to find such a service in another hotel: We are from Dubai and really we will for sure come back to this magnificent hotel. Thanks to the management of the Hotel who take care of each details.

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel, very romantic. We were very happy, everyone was nice particularly when we had a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Honey 88,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding the level of service at Hotel Pulitzer. With great pleasure I have shared your compliment with our Ambassadors! I truly hope we will have to honor to welcome you back in the near future and create another memorable and exceptional experience for you in the beautiful city of Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is made of several old houses nearby the canals giving it an undeniable charm. The standards and services are those you can expect frim a leading brand. Don't miss the genuine apotheek room in the restaurant nor the huge smiling replica of a Frans Hals classic painting which you can admire while having a solid breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear YML 92,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your stay at Hotel Pulitzer with other Tripadvisor users. The hotel consists out of 25 historical canal houses dated back from the 17th and 18th century, including the house in which ‘Wijnsalon de Apotheek’ is situated. The painting, a ‘modern version of ‘the last supper’, displayed at restaurant Keizersgracht 238 was especially made for Hotel Pulitzer by Thierry de Cromières. I am delighted you have enjoyed those special and indigenous details as well as the level of standards and services. On behalf of all of us at Hotel Pulitzer, I am looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

very nice hotel. top location wi. top notch customer service. good choice for business and leisure traveller. typical high end dutch hotel. great location to explore what the city has on offer for arts, dining, historic and entertainment activities.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Espergaerde,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor, I am pleased to read you have chosen Hotel Pulitzer as your base for exploring the historical and beautiful city of Amsterdam. Due to the historical buildings (all dated back from the 17th and 18th century) and the high level of service you have encountered I am delighted you have had a true indigenous experience at Hotel Pulitzer! I hope we can invite you back soon.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Pulitzer quite a few times over the years. This last stay was for 10 nights. The hotel has an excellent location. It is on the Prisengracht canal and close to all the popular spots. There are tram lines, ATMs, grocery stores, delicious restaurants and wonderful shops just steps outside the door. It is also just a 10-15 min walk to Central Station.
The rooms are always immaculate and the beds are extremely comfortable. I always have had a good night sleep there. I love the waffle cookies and bottled water every day. Only once in all our stays did we get a room that we were not happy with but a trip to the desk quickly resolved that and we were moved into a much bigger and brighter room.
The service is excellent. Special kudos to Sajid (spelling?) who is one of the doormen. He was friendly, informative and very warm. The bar is a great place to end the day with a glass of wine and the restaurant is also very good. The service there was excellent.
My only complaint (minor one) is that for the price of the room, WiFi should be free. But I find this extra cost to be more common than not in most upscale European hotels. At the least, it should be less than the asking price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Davenrich,

Thank you for your wonderful comments; I am delighted to read you have chosen Hotel Pulitzer as your ‘home away from home’ during your last 10-day visit to Amsterdam. Due to the 25 historical canal houses, all rooms are different in size and shape. I am glad you have enjoyed the room you stayed in. The waffle cookies are called ‘Stroopwafels’ which is a typical Dutch treat for tourists as well as for the local community.

Please note the first half hour of WIFI internet access is free of charge. Furthermore, we have 4 terminals in de lobby with complimentary internet access. Charges for additional WIFI access are indeed applicable in our hotel and these charges are aligned throughout our hotels within Starwood Hotels & Resorts. Still, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Your compliments regarding the excellent service have been shared with the Pulitzer Team, especially with the porters, the bar and restaurant ambassadors. Once again thank you very much for your valuable review. On behalf of all of us at Hotel Pulitzer, we are looking forward to welcome you back and create another indigenous experience for you!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Can'twait to go back. Spent a long weekend at this Beautiful, unique hotel that is in the perfect location! Looks like canal houses from the outside but high end hotel behind. Luxury rooms with beautiful views. Professional staff with high service level.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Jenna S,

Thank you for your wonderful review! With great pleasure I have shared your compliments with all ‘Pulitzer Ambassadors’ regarding the wonderful service they delivered. We are honored to have the change to create another memorable experience for you in the near future at Hotel Pulitzer!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.