We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #44 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I booked this hotel for 5 nights over new year's eve on Starwood Points. Fantastic service from the front desk, The room, or rather suite, was small but very interesting under the eves - basically two rooms up a narrow private staircase. It felt like we had rented our own small apartment. The breakfast - which unlike most Starwood properties when one books on points - was included and excellent. Location great and walking distance to everywhere. I have no hesitation but to recommend this really interesting property and to commend Starwood for creating a boutique feel, fun hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Good choice to stay in Amsterdam during New Year's Eve. It is truly magical in the city on this night. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pulitzer as your retreat during this night. As Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 authentic Canal Houses, none of the rooms are the same and the houses are internally linked through corridors and little steps. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and I hope we may welcome you back again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    921
    530
    192
    84
    59
See reviews for
259
797
103
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is under 10 minutes by taxi from the Amsterdam Centrall station. We spent 2 nights there and enjoyed it. We checked in late and was assigned a room very quickly, even offered complimentary internet as we were SPG members, normal price is €19 per day. We were not offered any help with our luggage but we understood that it might have been late. The room was on the fifith floor, not with a view of the canal but it was clean, big and the bed comfortable. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it is expensive at €19 per guest for the buffet, they have an Espresso bar but still around €15 per person for a decent first meal of the day. Try the Jennifer Croissanterie, turn right at exit, right at main, cross bridge, opposite Nadia hotel.We did not have dinner at the hotel so cannot rate this service. Did not use concierge service who appeared helpful but have read mixed reviews about his services. We used the services of the bell boy who was bery helpful on the day we left. We got a taxi that took us to the station for € 10, not sure if it was licensed as it did not have a meter and would not go all the way to the station complaining works which were non-existent. Same taxi man also offered to take us to airport for €35. Watch out. Overall pleasant stay, nice room and helpful staff. Doubt we will stay there when we return to Amsterdam for further trips.

Room Tip: Try to have room 519
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and ratings on Hotel Pulitzer. I am sorry to read that you were not assisted with your luggage, this should be offered you to anytime. Despite this unfortunate experience, I am happy to read you did enjoy your stay. Should you require a taxi, please always let us arrange one for you. Only then you are sure that you have an official licensed taxi. On behalf of the entire team on Hotel Pulitzer, I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights last week. The staff is incredible!! Our room was not ready when we arrived at 6:30 because of a late check-out. They were so apologetic that it would be an extra 5-10 minutes til we could get our room...they offered us free drinks and gave us the breakfast buffet for the inconvience...now that is customer service! The rooms are nice, beds are comfy and bathrooms were very clean. Upscale amenities and the perfect location for exploring Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to be exploring Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for highly recommending Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor! I am sorry to read your room was not ready yet, and I am glad to read our staff could solve the issue by offering you a drink at the bar and deducting breakfast from your bill. Thank you for choosing Hotel Pulitzer and I hope thank we may welcome you and your daughter back again soon.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here in my 3rd time through Amsterdam and was really disappointed in the 'luxury' status of the hotel.

Negatives
- Hallways smelled like urine
- Room was small and furniture was worn/tattered
- Internet was ridiculous expensive and really slow
- room was really pricey for the accomodation

Positives
- staff was really helpful
- location is outstanding
- very close to anne frank house and 10 minute walk from most other sites


Be aware the hotel has no parking (euro parking is a 10 minute walk and will run you 4 euro/hr) and the bells from west church (beautiful as they are) can be heard clearly early and late.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read the staff have been helpful to you and you found the location to your liking. Please be informed that I have addressed the Housekeeping department with regards to the urine smell in the hallway. It was never our intention to give you a dissatisfied and unappreciated feeling.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

As a frequent Starwood property visitor, I’ve seen many hotels from a different chains of Starwood. I've had the pleasure of staying in a Luxury collection before, so I had something to compare it with. I must say the hotel staff was very attentive. A special comment must be said about the restaurant manager/maître/shift leader (not sure) Jeroen (young guy with red curly hair). He made the restaurant, not an ordinary hotel restaurant but a very nice place to spend your evening. He even showed us the beautiful Apotheek a let us taste one of his Special Terra Vitis wines and explained a lot about the wines we tasted. Very good, lots of compliments go to him. Although the restaurant was good, I think it was a bit overpriced, but understandable as a hotel restaurant.
The rooms were fine. Didn’t have the lush experience I had when I visited The Hague. Nevertheless, the bed was ultra comfortable, the room was clean and the bathroom just fine. Everybody must no that the hotel is a maze of hallways small see trues and curious rooms which none of them are the same. A true Amsterdam experience I must say, but I can imagine that people paying lots of money to stay here, would not like it that much. So if you’re looking for spacious rooms, modern atmosphere ect, then stay somewhere else and don't post negative reviews on this. The hotel does not deserve this.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and a great diner. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a true feel of an Amsterdam canal house stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your warm comments and for your loyalty to the Starwood chain. Please be informed that we have forwarded your compliments to Jeroen, who was delighted to serve you in the restaurant. Indeed, we are different from Hotel Des Indes in The Hague, all Luxury Collection hotels strive to provide an exceptional and indigenous experience. Hotel Des Indes has a very rich history and emphasizes on that. Hotel Pulitzer is indeed not an hotel with a very modern atmosphere, but we have a very cozy and charming atmosphere. I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel consists of several old houses in the center of Amsterdam... Locationwise this hotel is in a really calm street, but still only 5 minutes walking to Dam Square...

Rooms and suites in this hotel are the most spacious in Amsterdam...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for second review on Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. It was truly a pleasure to welcome you back in the hotel. Indeed, the two Canals the hotel is situated between, are very calm. We are surrounded by boutiques in the near streets, but the busy streets are within walking distance. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Well, what can you say about a hotel that was assembled from twenty-five separate canal homes built in Amsterdam during the 17th century, that is directly on the Prinsengracht canal, all inter-connected with enclosed glass passageways, and that boasts modern amenities like a full featured gym? I can tell you it's tough to say enough.

On top of all I've said so far, the staff is fantastic. We had little notes from the management, and a couple of very nice gifts in our room. We spent four wonderful days enjoying the city. The tram stop is a half a block from the hotel, it connects with all of the mass transit in a snap, and the concierge in the Pulitzer can tell you how to get to anywhere in the city, or beyond, you'd like to see. We even went to the Central Station and took the train to Haarlem (Tulips) and The Hague (World Court).

The Anne Frank House is one block away. The stop for the hop-on hop-off canal boat is directly in front of the hotel. There are lovely little sidewalk cafes, bars, wine stores cheese stores and small boutiques within a couple of minutes walking distance.

Don't miss the annex to the Hermitage in St. Petersburg, Russia that been established in Amsterdam, and the Rijksmuseum. The Central Square, the coffee houses, and the red light district are crazy. Take a canal boat ride, we did it at dusk and it was really cool.

The Pulitzer has it's own canal boat named "The Tourist", and it's famous for taking Winston Churchill on his tour of Amsterdam in the 40's. There's great ethnic food, including an Indonesian Rijsttafel, very close to the hotel.

Only one negative, if you don't like stairs, this hotel is not for you! All of the buildings are renovated and well maintained, but it's impossible to change the basic concept that the architecture is basically vertical, so you'll have to climb stairs.

I'd go back in a second, and next time I'll stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful and extensive report. Indeed, the Hermitage exposition is a true gem and should not be missed during a stay in Amsterdam. In the evening, when the Canals are lit, the city is best shown by boat, it is truly amazing. Our own boat, 'The Tourist' has daily tours at 17:00 o'clock.
As the hotel is assembled from 25 Canal Houses, the stairs are a must in the hotel. Our porters are more than happy to show you to your room and assist you your luggage. I hope we may welcome your to Hotel Pulitzer again soon.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.