We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Property, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I recently stayed at this property and could not have had a better experience. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and located about a 15 minute walk (or 5 minute tram) from the main bus station. The platinum recognition here is as good as it is in any hotel in the Starwood family. Though clearly a luxury hotel, it comes without the pretentiousness you might associate with an upscale property. The staff was really great helping me learn about the property, get anything I needed and helping me around the town.

The only thing I could say negative, which is really nitpicking, is that once housekeeping was loud outside my room for like a minute. It didn't disturb me, but I could see how it could if you were trying to sleep in. Could have been a function of the proximity of my room and the housekeeping room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! As we constantly strive to improve our services, your feedback is highly appreciated. I am delighted to read your stay has been up to your satisfaction and that you were happy with the SPG Platinum recognition.
I would also like to thank you for your valuable comment on the Room Attendants talking outside your room, please be informed that I have shared your comments with the Housekeeping Department, to prevent any similar situation from happening in the future. I do hope that depsite this unfortunate experience, we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    643
    245
    94
    66
See reviews for
320
989
117
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Loved the location, a block away from the Anne Frank House and all major monuments and squares. Amsterdam is truly a beautiful city and the hotel is very quaint and has lots of character. Service was good and food options were optimal. However, after our first night's stay I had at least 10 mosquito bites on my upper body, including my face, not good. My husband was attacked fiercely by the mosquitoes and his arms were badly bitten. We complained to the concierge who said they would spray something in the room but that never happened and the mosquitoes kept biting us until we managed to kill them all ourselves. They were so big there were little blood splatters on the wall whenever we got one. They need to get this issue under control, if this happens in cold weather I can't even imagine how bad it gets in the summer sitting right next to a canal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read you were attacked by the mosquitoes during your stay. As we are situated between two canals, mosquitoes are a common problem in Amsterdam in general, however we have never experienced situations a badly as yours. Please accept my sincere apologies for not following up on your complaints more adequately. I hope that despite this unfortunate experience we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend. The location is great. The staff is kind,helpful, and professional. The rooms are very comfortable, not over the top but nice. my only suggestion is that you may want to request a room facing the garden instead of the canal...It was a bit noisy (at times )in the middle of the night with happy people coming home from a night on the town. That being said it wasn't terrible and we were in Amsterdam:)
Oh, and it was cold in the middle of April (I'm solar powered:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a reviw on TripAdvisor about your recent with us. I am happy to read the room was to your satisfaction, a part from the happy people passing by. The rooms facing the garden can indeed me less noisy, however the Canal Views are beautiful. I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Lovely couples stay in a loft suite. Great location, architecture and atmosphere. Art gallery corridors and nested interior patios. Super concierge and evening bar menu. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your rates and comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed our Art Gallery, which changes scenery every three months. Please be informed that we have shared your compliments to the Concierge. I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband, John, and I have traveled all over the world, and the Hotel Pulitzer is one of our favorite two hotels in the world!!! The ambiance is fabulous! The local is perfect, being located between two canals.! The staff can not be topped! Just to name a few VERY staff members, Wahjii a long time bartender, and his assistant bar tender, Turgay, Marleen, at the front desk and Ron Stoevelaar, one of the concierges, are all very special!!! The rooms are also very charming and comfortable! I can't say enough positive about Hotel Pulitzer!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow, what a review! Thank you very much for your wonderful words! Please be informed that we shared your compliments with our ambassadors, who were delighted to assist you with all your preferences and needs.
On behalf of the entire team, I hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a mini-break and we just loved this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom just a pleasure to be in. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever enjoyed in a top hotel and the staff were always welcoming and attentive. We will have no hesitation in choosing to stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful words on TripAdvisor. Please be informed that we have shared your compliments about the breakfast buffet with our Food and Beverage Department. I am happy our ambassadors were of good assistance to you and made you feel welcome in our home. I truly hope that we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Awesome hotel- feels like a boutique hotel even though it is part of SPG. The location is perfect- central to every tourist destination but not on a busy street. I was so happy with the location because I could walk everywhere I wanted in less than 10 minutes. I searched and searched for a great hotel in Amsterdam, because during my last two visits I chose hotels with terrible rooms (for high prices) and with unfriendly staff. I feel so lucky to have come across the Pulitzer. All of the staff and concierge were eager to assist and to offer recommendations. I was actually surprised by how friendly people were, especially given my last experience in Amsterdam. The rooms were also a nice surprise, perfectly decorated, not overdone, with a feel of being in an classic canal house. I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

What a lovely review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a home away from home in Amsterdam. It was our pleasure welcoming you in our hotel and I truly hope we may do so again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Address: Prinsengracht 315 - 331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.