We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #44 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pittsburgh PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel! It was a great location on the canal, a quick walk away from the Tram, Anne Frank House, pubs and restaurants. Definitely upgrade to a room overlooking the canal. The room itself was modern and luxurious yet still very quaint.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    543
    198
    86
    59
See reviews for
264
815
104
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Pulitzer is a Starwood property and they have worked hard to modernize it. If you are looking for a modern hotel, stop right here. If you are looking for a nice hotel in the Old town of amsterdam, read on-Excellent location alongside the canal in Prinsengrach, Its a beautifully restored 1600's era neigbourhood and a walk every evening is worth your time. The hotel is really is a bunch of older canal house put together, and so there is a warren of corridors and the lift is for just one person- no luggage please. On the plus side, the staff are incredibly helpful and the bathroom/linens are Starwood quality. The breakfast is good. The rooms are a bit tired given the constraints of old rafters, leaky windows. and older brickwork. For americans- be prepared its very much a European style smaller room. Its a nice hotel with an older charm though I do wonder why the pricing is structured as a premium SPG property. The staff do everything to make your stay pleasant and that helps.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent the week including New Years at this wonderful hotel. The hotel has been forged out of half a block of traditional center Amsterdam houses. The amenities are modern and the concierge was incredibly helpful in suggesting and arranging the details of our stay including a terrific walking tour. The hotel layout is cozy and yet still spacious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pulitzer to be your home away from home during New Year. I am happy to read we were able to assist you with all your preferences during your stay. On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Pulitzer, I hope we may welcome you again in our lovely hotel.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've stayed in many luxury hotels, and this is one of my favorites. It is small, intimate, and the staff is incredibly acommodating. Breakfast is included in the price of your stay, and it really is a great complimentary breakfast. In addition, the rooms and beds are very comfortable. We had a room that overlooked the garden (as opposed to the canal) and thought this was just lovely. It had large windows and beautiful furnishings, it was clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

The staff went above and beyond to greet us on our arrival (we were arriving from Africa), and the three day stay was well worth it. I was a bit concerned before arriving, because I had read some mixed reviews, but I certainly found my stay to be one of the most memorable of my life.

In terms of location, it is in a quieter neighborhood with cafes and high-end shopping, and is close enough to all of the major attractions to be ideally situated.

I would most certainly come back here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Spent a delightful 3 days at this unusual 5-star hotel in May 2011 following a transatlantic cruise that ended in Amsterdam, a city we truly enjoy. As SPG members, we stayed on Starwood points (a very reasonable amount, too!)--and considered an upgrade to a canal-view room but decided to wait for check-in to see the property. As others have explained and as the hotel website states, it's nearly a whole block of connected individual historic houses fronting the beautiful Prinsengracht canal. We requested a room near the central elevators without too much climbing up and down the stairs between the buildings--and the front desk immediately complied. (Don't worry about getting your baggage to the room if you ARE a bit further afield, as this 5-star hotel has gracious top-drawer bellman and excellent concierges, one of whom was the president of the concierge assocation. The bellman also immediately brought ice and flutes for champagne we'd brought from the ship, along with complimentary biscuits!) Our room on the 3rd floor was exactly as depicted in the photos--with gleaming light-wood floors and magnificent though not overly large bathroom and lots of huge windows overlooking the courtyard behind the hotel through which we'd walk each morning for breakfast and each evening for dinner. (Normally, we like to sample a variety of local venues for meals, but I'm a vegan, and the hotel's restaurant staff understood exactly what I needed and what I did NOT eat--and they went out of its way to present gorgeous plates for me in a charming setting with views of the canal behind the hotel and the street alongside.) Perhaps if you hadn't been on the ocean for 24 days as we had, you might want to spring for a canal-view room, but our courtyard view was peaceful and quiet--and we were out and about along the canals every day. NOTE: The hotel has a private canal boat for tours each day at 5 p.m.--but book at once to avoid disappointment!) We would definitely stay here again if the points required were similar (or if pay-and-points were available)--and we might even consider the high price of this hotel, which is well worth it for location and elegant but down-to-earth friendly service.

Room Tip: As noted above, the 3rd-floor courtyard-view room not far from the central elevator was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your extensive review on our hotel. I am delighted to read our ambassadors took the extra step to assist you with your room preferences and dietary wishes. I can imagine indeed that after such a long time at sea, you would prefer a garden or courtyard view, however the Canal View rooms are stunning as well. On behalf of the entire team of Hotel Pulitzer, I hope that we may welcome you, as a highly valued SPG member, back to our hotel.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam at 7am with a check-in time of 2pm at Hotel Pulitzer. After a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport, we arrived to an amazing lobby with a giant revolving door with display cases in it! They informed us our room wouldn't be ready until at least noon, but they would do their best to expedite the process seeing how exhausted we appeared. The hotel is out of the crazy Red Light district right on the canal, but a short walk to city center. At noon I was feeling very ill and we returned to the hotel to a clean room awaiting us. The room was immense with a giant, comfortable bed, and large bathroom. We nestled in for a nap and ordered very tasty room service.

For a prolonged trip in Amsterdam, this hotel is a great home base to sight see and experience all the comforts of home. The hotel is pricey but worth every penny!

Room Tip: We had a standard king and were completely satisfied with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The negative comments on this website and negative feedback from an acquaintance left me a bit unsure but since we were using Starwood points, it was this or the Sheraton at Schiphol. I am so happy that we chose the Pulitzer.

The room was spacious, clean, although a bit cold. The thermostat didn't seem to work too well but the time spent in the room was minimal so it didn't bother us. The stroopwafels (so good!!) and bottle of water were a nice touch. The location of the hotel couldn't be better! Very easy access from Centraal Station, trams, buses, lots of restaurants and shops in the area.

The staff was amazing! From the attendant of the Espresso Bar to the concierge, everybody was so friendly, professional, courteous. One of the front desk attendants, Renske, notified us about the railroad strike in Belgium, helped us sort out our train situation (since our train had been cancelled), notified our hotel in Paris, gave us an upgrade for the extra night we stayed in the hotel. She really went above and beyond.

I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The canal view room was really nice but if I wouldn't pay extra for it. The courtyard view was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.