We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first choice for visits to Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #43 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My first choice for visits to Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pulitzer has the charm of an old small hotel with the amenities and service expected of a larger modern hotel.

Lovely rooms with wooden beams running throughout, indicative of the historical architecture of the canal houses. Exploring the hotel is fun with multiple passages throughout.

Friendly staff who have always immediately sorted out the few issues that I have run into when I've visited. Good location for getting in/around Amsterdam - and if you're lucky enough to get a room overlooking the canal, enjoy the view. Gym has also been recently upgraded - good quality equipment. Breakfast is also better than the usual hotel breakfast fare.

I'm on the road about 20 nights per month and Pulitzer is one of the hotels I look forward to returning to each time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    909
    524
    199
    85
    58
See reviews for
249
783
102
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The location is superb. Less than a block to the tram/bus lines and taxi stand. Near the Anne Frank house and a three minute walk to Dam Square. The staff is superb, always a smile and always very helpful. The room, well, is a room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila de Cruces
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

A really original hotel. Adapted dutch merchant houses to a beautiful hotel. Luxury, but not as in a business hotel, almost familiar. Very kind at reception!!!! Awesome breakfast!!! We really enjoyed it.

The only thing we didn't like was the cleaning service waking us up at 0830 am

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This place is truly beautiful... The lay out of the hotel is so interesting. Staff are extremely knowledgeable and cannot do enough to please you. Beds are extremely comfortable and tasted the best cocktails we have ever had in the bar (which is to die for.) Have a Beatrice flower, you will not regret it.
A fantastic meal in the restaurant. Front office staff very poised, presentable and well spoken.
A fantastic weekend!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have been regular visitors to Amsterdam since 1977 and have at one time or another stayed in all the top hotels however, for the last 5/6 years the Pulitzer is the only hotel for us. We were last there in December (2011) and the service was excellent as usual. From the minute we arrived and throughout our stay, front desk, concierge, bar and restaurant staff were unobtrusive but there when you wanted them. The culture is right in this hotel, service with a genuine smile!

Room Tip: A canal view room, if available, is ideal, its Amsterdam after all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your rates and comments on TripAdvisor. We love welcoming you in our hotel for all this time already and our ambassadors will assist to all your wishes and preferences. I look forward meeting you again in Hotel Pultizer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstrana, Croatia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

great hotel great location near anna frank house near dam square great breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pultizer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have just returned from another stay at the Pulitzer Hotel in Amsterdam and to my mind, you cannot stay in a better hotel. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in Europe and nothing compares with the Pulitzer in Amsterdam – it is like coming home. The staff are professional and yet always welcoming – they make you feel that nothing is too much trouble. Some years ago I bought two garden tables and without asking the tables were bundled up securely to protect them from the flight home. They arrived home without a scratch! The Service in the Restaurant is excellent and the food imaginative and delicious. I have eaten at other 'best' hotels in Amsterdam but there is something about the Pulitzer that makes it stand apart from the rest. The rooms are very well decorated and maintained to a high standard. The canal rooms are light and airy and have magnificent marble bathrooms. As the hotel is built within a number of canal houses, finding ones way around can be daunting for the faint-hearted, but all corridors lead to the well-designed enclosed passageway across the central garden courtyard. Check-in and check-out couldn’t be easier and the staff at the reception are charming, efficient and knowledgeable. I shall be returning later on this year, as it is the only place to stay when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read our amassadors were able to provide you with a memorable and exceptional experience. On behalf of the enitre staff of Hotel Pulitzer look forward welcoming you back in our lovely hotel.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.