We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #44 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
“nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for christmas holidays for 4 nights.
we chose this hotel mainly cause it is an spg property and we are spg members and when we travel we try to stay only in spg hotels.
as every hotel in the world this also had positive as well as not so positive aspects.
positive: the location was good not far on foot from main attractions and in a nice quiet area.
everyone was very polite , helpful,proffesional and friendly.
check-in was fast and very welcoming.
bathroom marble floor was heated -very rare to find this even in 5 star hotels.
heating was excellent through out the hotel.
the public spaces were elegant but not what i call luxury collection style.
room service was fast, efficient and always with a smile.
the restaurant was cosy and very beautiful.
negatives: we were given one of the smallest rooms in the hotel with nice view to the gardens though.
the room was small for a 5 star luxury collection property-it seemed like a sigle room.
the bathroom was very compact and many times it was difficult to control the water temperature e.g from warm suddenly it became too hot and vice versa.
the bathtub was not very clean.
soundproof was limited -you could hear steps and various noises from the room above.
very limited storage space.
the decoration of the room in some parts reminded you ikea stores.
the corridors were mostly like a good motel.
in general in our opinion it is a luxuru collection hotel mostly only by name.
if we stay again in this hotel?probably not.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    905
    522
    198
    85
    57
See reviews for
248
779
102
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Pulitzer 3 times in the last 4 years...it is the only place I will stay in Amsterdam. The location is best...Near everything, but away from the "Dam Crowd". etc. If you get a canal view room, it is the most romantic place you can stay! The service is top notch, everyone wants to make your stay comfortable and easy. Every room is different, but all are charming with 5 star amentities. The gym has just been moved and enlarged..it is now great!

Room Tip: Request a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I’ve previously reviewed the Pulitzer Hotel in Amsterdam and continue to stay there when in town on business (a few times a year). Since my original review, I’ve encountered a few service issues. To the credit of the hotel, management contacted me and made corrections. I mention this because problems happen at any hotel the key is how they are addressed – the Pulitzer is a first rate hotel and the service is outstanding. Now for some concerns…

Given new hotel options that opened or have been remodeled in Amsterdam recently (Sofitel, Renaissance, Dylan) the Pulitzer is starting to fall behind. As a tourist hotel, it is highly competitive as the location is superb and the property is very charming (25 row houses adjoined in an ingenious yet slightly whimsical way). However, as a business hotel it is more of an acquired taste.

Most rooms are very small and the furnishings are getting dated – for example, most rooms have a very small armoire instead of a closet. The desks are reasonable but the internet connectivity is very spotty. The bathrooms (remember - these were 17th and 18th century row houses) are very small and need to be updated. If one is disabled, navigating the maze-like halls with stairs everywhere will be an extreme challenge.

I like this hotel. I’ll be back in two weeks. I stay at the Pulitzer because of the location, the charming architecture and the very attentive service, but unless their rooms and bathrooms are updated soon, I may find myself drifting away in favor of more current hotel options.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

A very quaint hotel in the heart of things to do in Amsterdam. Walk to Dam Square, Red Light District and shopping. Amazing breakfast /brunch in hotel. Lots of great resteraunts just round the corner.
Staff goes the extra mile for international travellers to accommodate uncommon arrival and departure times. A Starwood Hotels gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I visited Amsterdam and decided to stay in this Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel. Although the hotel appears to be one building it is actually a combination of many different buildings nested together to form the hotel. The first room we were given appeared to have someone else staying in it so we were given another room that just so happened to be an upgraded room. The staff was friendly and appologized for the mix of with the rooms. We enjoyed the high cealings and the large size of the room for a hotel in Europe. One of the best parts of staying in this hotel was its close proximity to everything we wanted to see from the Anne Frank House to our bike tour of the city to the Van Gogh museum. If we visit the city again we would definately stay here.

Room Tip: Recommend interior rooms on lower levels so you don't have to navigate narrow stair cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Very nice Hotel on the Prinsengracht, which is located on 20 different old traditional houses. The small courtyards are very beautiful.
Room is very cozy, traditional style, but very pleasent and not excessive. The bed is very comfortable.
Obviously room was immaculately clean and the bathroom was perfect as well, with very good products.
The staff was always very helpful.
We had breakfast included in the price of the room (I suggest to take this kind of rate) and the choice at the breakfast was amazing: available both cooked and continental, very nice the pastry and the amazing mini-pancakes.
During the week the breakfast is served until 11am.
The only thing really missing to this hotel is a high level bar: only a very small bar with limited space.
As a whole a wonderful place, with quite high rate, but if it definitely derserves to be visited.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Love staying at the Pulitzer. So quaint for a fairly large hotel. The staff was professional and friendly. Both Front desk and Concierge staff extremely helpful. As a Starwood Platinum member we were upgraded to a canal-facing room and it was lovely. Also a great location to stay in Amsterdam as it is within walking distance to almost every attraction. Have stayed here numerous times and won't be my last.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.