We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, historic hotel with an incredible staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €75 on select meals
Ranked #44 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, historic hotel with an incredible staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel is fabulous. Comfortable beds, nice sized rooms, and within walking distance to great shops and historical places. The restaurant inside the hotel is amazing. The food is wonderful and the staff is very friendly!! I definitely recommend that people stay here when they are in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

It is an true honor to read your review regarding your experience at Hotel Pulitzer. It warms my heart and your nice feedback has been shared with everyone. If there is anything we can assist you with please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    543
    198
    86
    59
See reviews for
264
815
104
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Greatly enjoyed our 4 night stay. Excellent location - walking distance to Dam square and 1 block to Anne Frank house and tram system. The hotel consists of many different buildings that are connected but many up and down steps to reach your room - have a porter carry your bags! Excellent buffet breakfast with a lot of choices including cooked to order eggs.
The staff were friendly. Only downside is that they have only 3 converters for the hotel. Make sure all your appliances run on 220V . No free internet!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for nice feedback and your thoughts on our hotel, Hotel Pulitzer. We are happy that you were able to enjoy your time here in Amsterdam. It is great to hear that you found the associates friendly and the breakfast excellent. Perhaps you find it interesting that we offer free internet on the computers in our lobby for our guests. I hope you will have a chance to come back to Amsterdam soon. My team and I wish you a warm welcome back.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Our stay at the Pulitzer was on April 23rd and April 24th. We had an executive room up high that faced the inner courtyard. Wonderful room and very nice view. Unfortunately, the room also seemed to "scoop in" the noise from the LOUD church bells nearby. The bells rang, to one extent or another, every fifteen minutes. At midnight on April 23rd the bells rang constantly for about fifteen minutes. During the day the issue is not so bad but at night - - whew!! Fortunately, I always carry earplugs so that helped to mitigate the ringing somewhat. Otherwise, the hotel is terrific. The breakfasts included with the executive room were wonderful. Also, although we arrived quite early in the morning and could not get into our room until later in the day, the hotel coffee bar provided us with coffee and pastries and bottled water at no charge as a courtesy. Nice touch, that. We found the hotel staff to be friendly, outgoing, and interested in helping us. Oh yes, the location is perfect.

Anyway, I would recommend the Pulitzer - - just chat with the reservations clerk about which rooms are best to avoid the church bells all night long.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent visit with us here at Hotel Pulitzer. It is great to hear that you had a good time and that we lived up to, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations. How unfortunate that the church bells disturbed your rest. As you have stayed in the weekend the church has a service on the Sunday morning which could have caused the long ringing of the church bells. Our front office associate are always willing to assist you to look for a different room. For in the future our reservation associate can advise the best room suitable for you. We are happy that you have enjoyed the coffee and pastries as our gesture. I sincerely hope we will see you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel Pulitzer twice now. It is a series of interconnected canal houses, so the rooms vary a great deal. There are lots of small sets of stairs in between the houses, so if mobility is an issue, be sure to let them know in advance. This time we had a lovely, spacious room at the top of one of the houses, with a hugely high ceiling and a view of the Prisengracht canal. The Hotel is located down the street from the Anne Frank Museum and in the midst of the "Nine Streets" area, in easy walking distance from all the main parts of Amsterdam. We found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. We will go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Great to hear that you already stayed with us twice and that you will come back! We hope the first stay was just as pleasant as the second and we will do our utmost best to make the future stays as memorable. One of the charm of Hotel Pulitzer are the canal houses which are linked to each other and that no room is the same. Thank you for the compliments with reference to our associates. We will share your review with our team. On behalf of all of us we are looking forward welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here for Queen's Day, and it was great. Even though it seemed that nearly every other hotel in town was already booked, the Pulitzer was happy to accept our Starwood points (seemingly without charging any premium over the normal prices).

A series of canal houses set on the Prinsengracht canal, the hotel is idyllic. There is easy access to the tram system (a half block walk to the Westermarkt stop) and the pricey (and touristy) Canal Bus (in front of the hotel). As an added bonus for us, it happened to be within a stone's throw distance of our friend's house in the Westermarkt.

What really set this hotel apart, though, was the staff. They are incredibly friendly and willing to go out of their way for their guests. Although its guests likely had no idea what Queen's Day was, the hotel got into the act, selling beer on the street and having a DJ spin on a stage next to the canal.

The room we had was on the top floor of one of the back houses. It was very large and very clean. Our room also included a delicious buffet breakfast (with a good spread of meats, cheeses, eggs, baked goods, etc.).

We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

How wonderful that you had a great time in Amsterdam and that you have had the opportunity to meet your Friend on the Westermarkt. Queens day is a great event to experience here in Amsterdam. I am proud to read that you have enjoyed the efforts made by our associates and that we have met your expectations regarding the room and breakfast. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if there is anything else I can assist you with. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We traveled from the US to Amsterdam, arriving very early in the morning. From the minute we got to the hotel, we found the service to be wonderful. From the check-in staff to the bellboys to the concierge to housekeeping, I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly everyone was. Our rooms overlooked one of the canals with big picture windows and the beds were perfect for a great night sleep. The only criticism i can make is that the food choices at the hotel were limited and breakfast was quite expensive, but the concierge was very helpful in giving plenty of recommendation for other options. The location was also perfect as everything we wanted was within walking distance and the Anne Frank House was just down the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Proudly we would like to thank you for your nice comments about our associates and that you find our hotel perfect. We appreciate you feedback about the food choices and breakfast price. We will discuss this within the food & beverage team. Hopefully you were not too tired from the long flight to enjoy our Beautiful city of Amsterdam. Looking forward to welcome you back when you have the next opportunity to visit Amsterdam again.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel is fantastic. If you enjoy walking, it is well located to Old Amsterdam and even the museums. It is in a great part of town (near the charming Jordaan area). It's made up of 25 old canal houses. Fresh flowers were everywhere in the public areas! Ask to see the old Saxenburgzall hallway and banquet room. We had a lovely room on the 5th floor. The room and hotel were wonderfully clean and maintained. The restaurant food was scrumptious (the best meal in Amsterdam that week). Every night guests relax in the bar. The staff at the hotel are marvelous!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a light and bright room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

What a great review that will motivate us even more to provide the best for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write here on tripadvisor. If there is anything else I can assist you with please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We will share your nice feedback with the team. Hoping to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 315-331, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Downtown Hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.