We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fascinating house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willet-Holthuysen Museum

Willet-Holthuysen Museum
Herengracht 605, 1017 CE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 523 1870
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #105 of 569 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this 17th-century canal-side house in Amsterdam, which is filled with furnished period rooms and works of art that were donated by the owner Louisa Willet-Holthuysen to the city in 1895.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Truly fascinating house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We hadn't heard of this museum before our trip, but decided to go after seeing that we could get a discount with our tickets from the city museum. We were certainly not disappointed! It is a great way to get a look inside one of the canal homes, and get an idea of what life was like for some of the wealthier families in the city's history. The decor is beautiful, and the insight truly adds to any visit to Amsterdam. It is well worth dropping by, and probably won't take more than an hour to see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    85
    34
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best of the canal houses-turned-museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a must-do, especially if you have the Museumkaart! I went to three different canal houses, and W-H was my favorite. DEFINITELY spring the 2 Euros for the audio tour, which is comprehensive, detailed, and very interesting.

Plan to spend an hour or so in the house - you won't need much more than that, unless you spend a long amount of time wandering through their collection of miniatures.

What can you expect to see? The gorgeous rooms, staircases, furniture, wall paper, and beds that you would have seen around this time. The kitchen area was also fascinating, and will certainly remind you a bit of your history reading (or Downton Abbey).

So, don't pass this up because it's not the Rijksmuseum. Check it out - you'll enjoy it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 attraction reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely canal house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Interesting insight into 17th/19th century canal house life. Enjoyed the two contemporary art installations(little ones - with designer dresses and postcards of Richard Long like journey). Still work to be done in restoring but a number of the rooms very well done up and atmospheric, the restored study especially, and the staircase. Found the stories of the husband and wife, and paintings of them etc, who were the last owners quite compelling

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice time-travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This house was a delightful bonus for me; I had a voucher from Amsterdam Museum and I paid €5 with a discount. If you love history and want to picture how daily life was in the 19th century, this museum is just for you. Not too big, so you don't get tired while walking around. It was great to see the parlors, all the beautiful furniture, home gadgets, and domestic details. The house is overlooking canal and its garden is amazing. You can also sit in the kitchen which was once the heart of this mansion and enjoy a cup of tea, trying to imagine what people were doing in that spot then.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
70 attraction reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“MISSING SOMETHING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A few minutes walk from the Rembrandt statue.The house is a beautiful example of a canal house and I was looking forward to see how the other half lived during the late 19th. century in Amsterdam. I did not get that feeling, as so much is a work in progress, which was a shame. What has been renovated is excellent -magnificent staircase and the rooms do give you a feel of the luxury they had in their lives.But the whole does not totally add up.As it was January the garden was bare -but you could see it would look good in the summer time. The film on the development of Amsterdam is good. Used our Museum Card for entry.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willet-Holthuysen Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willet-Holthuysen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willet-Holthuysen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.