We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Garden, Interesting House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willet-Holthuysen Museum

Willet-Holthuysen Museum
Herengracht 605, Amsterdam 1017 CE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 523 1870
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #51 of 296 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this 17th-century canal-side house in Amsterdam, which is filled with furnished period rooms and works of art that were donated by the owner Louisa Willet-Holthuysen to the city in 1895.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden, Interesting House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nearing the end of the day, we wanted a quick museum tour along with actually getting into a canal house. This satisfied our need. The garden behind the canal house was a wonderful surprise. Although small, it really was very diverse and beautifully manicured. The inside highlighted artwork and antiques, and was less about the architecture of the house. Only the lower level and two floors above were open to view. I was hoping to see the entire house. Funding limits what is available, which is too bad. Interesting visit though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    52
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't Mess with the House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This wide house on Herengracht with its beautiful garden is a gem, with wide stairway and period furnishings. However, there was a ludicrous exhibit of lace as body decoration (I never quite figured it out) that got in the way of everything. It was as if Lady Gaga was the opener for a Mozart Concert.

I had a Museumkart, so didn't pay separately - or I would have felt cheated.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Glimpse of a glamorous past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is an intriguing and unique opportunity to view a splendid house as it was at its grandest. And it has one of the best addresses of the time, being situated on the Herengracht.

We began in the lovely and surprisingly large formal gardens. On the way we passed through the kitchens and also saw the side kitchen where less pleasant jobs such as preparing fish were done.

Some gorgeous rooms are on view. Highlights are the ballroom and the Blue Room. There are numerous paintings including those of previous owners. The staircases are ornate with a luxurious carpet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good audio guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The tour starts with a very good video presentation about how the development of Amsterdam as a city and how the house came to be. It explains why Amsterdam streets on the canal ring are so well laid out - urban planning on a massive scale.
Parts of the house are stunning, particularly the Blue Room, staircase and rooms overlooking the gardens (also pretty good). It is worth spending an exta ?2 on the audio guide - this really explains how the house functioned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good insight into life of wealthy Amsterdam residents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited the museum last week after having been to the Our lord in the attic museum on a rainy day and receiving a money off voucher for the Willett-Holthuysen museum, as the rain wasn't showing any signs of letting up we decided to go. In contrast to our lord in the attic which gave us a good look at the life of both relatively well off people and more simple living priests this was a no holds barred unashamedly luxurious residence. We did not opt for the audio tour as this was at extra cost but had we done it would have solved the problem of arguing over what the many objects in the kitchen were used for! The garden is simply beautiful and such a suprise being right in the middle of Amsterdam, I enjoyed the many rooms and in articular the kitchen and bedrooms but would have also liked to have seen the way that the servants had lived. All in all a good insight into the lives of the rich in Amsterdam, worth a look on a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willet-Holthuysen Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willet-Holthuysen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willet-Holthuysen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.