We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be all things to all people, but fails” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willet-Holthuysen Museum

Willet-Holthuysen Museum
Herengracht 605, 1017 CE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 523 1870
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Willet-Holthuysen Museum like an insider
Skip the Line
$48*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #89 of 545 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this 17th-century canal-side house in Amsterdam, which is filled with furnished period rooms and works of art that were donated by the owner Louisa Willet-Holthuysen to the city in 1895.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Trying to be all things to all people, but fails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This museum tries in some rooms to be showing you how the family lived in the 19th century and in others display cases without a particular theme. It is a large house facing the canal, though I felt it was dark and a little oppressive. If you want to see how the well heeled lived in Amsterdam in the 19th century then go to the Van Loon museum, which we visited on the same morning and could compare.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    76
    33
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My favorite house overlooking a canal - "gracht". The house is built on a double lot which goes all the way between 2 canals, Herrengracht and Keizersgracht. The beautiful gardens overlook a canal, while the house overlooks another. Beautiful furnishings, paintings and rooms.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Interesting with an Amsterdam card.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I would like to rate this as good, but there's only Average or Very good. With our Amsterdam card, which has been very useful for museums and travel on the trams, we spent an hour or so looking round. It is in the process of being restored, but is a pleasant way to spend some time seeing how the upper crust lived in one of the canal side houses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a trip if you have iAmsterdam card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited this one in conjunction with the museum of Handbags and Purses. Both can be done in quick succession and are included in the iAmsterdam card. This particular canal house has been kept open for the public according to the former owners' wishes, and after a period of neglect, is undergoing a restoration to bring it back to its former glory. Wonderful back yard garden, and original kitchen, furniture, art and a display of household items really put you in touch with the former inhabitants, and leave an indelible impression as to their daily life.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Spend some time here if you have a museum card”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is an interesting place to visit to see how the rich used to live in Amsterdam. The rooms are finely decorated, although a couple of them were being restored during our visit. We saw some restorers painting the walls and ceiling in one room, and actually found the process quite interesting. We used our Museumkaart for the visit. Admission is 8 euros otherwise, which I find a little expensive. The information presented is not very detailed, so it's a short visit. There is an informative video continuously playing in the basement however.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willet-Holthuysen Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Willet-Holthuysen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willet-Holthuysen Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.