We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge city park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondelpark

Vondelpark
Van Baedestraat & Vondelpark | Museum Quarter, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #10 of 300 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Parks
Activities: Biking, Inline skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Amsterdam's most famous park was designed and built in 1850 and today is a popular place for tourists and residents who can enjoy a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, hiking, jogging and picnicking.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Huge city park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed a break from sightseeing by having a coffee and relaxing on a park bench. Lots of joggers and cyclists. Would have like to rent a bike but time did not permit. Wonderful green space-Amsterdam's version of Central Park

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,099
    1,375
    308
    39
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely park all year round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I love strolling through this park every time I visit Amsterdam. Wonderful paths and beautiful ever changing colours - and a beautiful Picasso to boot!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely area for a bike ride.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My friend and I hired bikes out for the day and spent a bit of time in Vondelpark. It's pretty big and has got some great open paths which are perfect if you want to ride side-by-side or practice before you get onto the streets. We found it very tranquil and much more enjoyable than riding through the Amsterdam streets. Stopped for a rest, lovely area.

Definitely somewhere to go if you are on a bike, if not, go if you want nature, skip if you aren't fussed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for a bike ride or a run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Not too much green space in Amsterdam, I rented a bike and biked through this park it's lovely. Also saw a lot of runners, would have liked to do the same.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful park and place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We rented bikes one day during our stay in Amsterdam and cycled through the park on a Sunday. The park was full of families, runners, skaters and cyclists, it was a wonderful experience and as the weather was nice (but cold) it was a lovely way to see the park. The park has roads / paths and only took 30 minutes to cycle.

Well worth a visit on a nice day. There are 2 restaurants on the grounds if you want food / drink. Prices looked very reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vondelpark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vondelpark to your Saves list