We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the Rembrandts and Vermeers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rijksmuseum (National Museum)

The Rijksmuseum (National Museum)
Museumstraat 1, 1071 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 674 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #3 of 246 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rijksmuseum is the museum of the Netherlands. The completely renovated Rijksmuseum tells the story of the Netherlands from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Including works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, Frans Hals, and more! Most famous is Rembrandt's masterpiece the Night Watch. A new display of the collection, a renewed building, new public facilities, a revamped garden and a new Asian Pavilion. Open daily from 9 am to 5 pm.
Shantou, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“See the Rembrandts and Vermeers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

See the iconic paintings of Rembrandt and Vermeer. Take in the rest if you have time. There is a bus from AMS/Schiphol that takes you directly to the museum for 5 Euros (one way). The 15 Euro price is reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,759
    2,406
    663
    166
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“from a museumphobe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This museum has many unusual collections, including some famous paintings, and some exquisite doll houses.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not enough time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A great museum. We did not allow enough time and came too close to closing time. How much time you spend depends on your level of interest. Due to our schedule, we were only in the museum for 1.5 hours and it was rushed, but we were happy we went. A real art lover could spend hours and hours here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have been to this museum three times - I never tire of strolling through the famous artwork. The que seems to get longer, waiting to get in but well worth it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was anticipating big things after reading all the press on the refurbishment. Sadly, I found the museum, cramped and parts of it, frankly, annoying. The signage in the early galleries was difficult to read, even with my glasses on. White lettering on grey boards on grey walls in a dimly lit environment didn't work for me. This did get better upstairs. The yellow pieces of paper everywhere, suggesting what you should be thinking when viewing the exhibits, were annoying and looked very cheap and nasty and not what one expects from one of the world's premier galleries. You had to queue, even at 10.30, for a seat in the cafe (part of it was roped off) and the seating was not comfortable. To get to the cafe you have to exit the collections and then afterwards join the queue for re-admittance! Some of the special collections were fascinating, Asian Pavillion and the collection of locks being the highlights for me. The room with 'Nightwatch' in was a cacophony of noise and full and I mean full of people taking pictures of the painting. The modern sections were woefully short of space ( yes I know there is another museum for modern art) Overall I was underwhelmed. Thankfully my museum card will allow me to view better experiences over the coming year.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rijksmuseum (National Museum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Rijksmuseum (National Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rijksmuseum (National Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.