We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rijksmuseum (National Museum)

The Rijksmuseum (National Museum)
Museumstraat 1, 1071 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 674 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #1 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rijksmuseum is the museum of the Netherlands. The completely renovated Rijksmuseum tells the story of the Netherlands from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Including works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, Frans Hals, and more! Most famous is Rembrandt's masterpiece the Night Watch. A new display of the collection, a renewed building, new public facilities, a revamped garden and a new Asian Pavilion. Open daily from 9 am to 5 pm.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'm very lucky, I can visit this museum after under renovation for years. What I like on this museum is the Rembrants collections especially The Night Watch. Easy to reach and not far from Amsterdam Central. You can take photos inside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,909
    3,672
    949
    216
    93
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

As with most museums we lost track of time. The sun was up when we went in, but down when we came out. There are some interesting pieces inside. The rooms are time period themes, so if you are short on time, locate the rooms with styles you want to ensure you see first. There is an I Amsterdam sign behind the museum. It's a great place to take pictures.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots to See; Not Enough Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This museum has a lot to see. Wide variety of artefacts through the ages. It is a lot to take in!

What I liked most were the art pieces. Good selection of art by the Dutch masters.

The cafe was a little disappointing as the food selection is very limited. As one needs a whole day to be able to see everything in the Museum, we would need to eat in the Cafe. Only cold food available and limited variety.

Great gift shop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Many things to see, gives you an idea about Dutch history. Be sure to allow at least 3 hours for this visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fab museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Wonderful pictures stunning building fab facilities lovely and clean you could be there for hours there was a café too but it was very busy when we were there

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rijksmuseum (National Museum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Rijksmuseum (National Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rijksmuseum (National Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.