We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and colorful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rijksmuseum

Rijksmuseum
Museumstraat 1, 1071 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 674 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$52*
and up
Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum...
Ranked #1 of 405 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rijksmuseum is the museum of the Netherlands. The completely renovated Rijksmuseum tells the story of the Netherlands from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Including works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, Frans Hals, and more! Most famous is Rembrandt's masterpiece the Night Watch. A new display of the collection, a renewed building, new public facilities, a revamped garden and a new Asian Pavilion. Open daily from 9 am to 5 pm.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bright and colorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you don't have photo with well-known Iamsterdam sign it means that U haven't been to Amsterdam. U can make a lot of pictures bright and colorful. There is also a park just near the National Museum.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This gallery has built it's reputation off pretty much a handful of paintings, rembrandt's nightwatch and a few vermeers'. The rest of the collection was average. There weren't too many people there with it being midweek in January. I guess we're spoiled in the UK as our important galleries and museums are free.

Helpful?
Thank Sunflowerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypsilanti
Level Contributor
290 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Vast museum with world class collection of Dutch paintings and works from Middle Ages. Come prepared to walk...lots

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank YpsilantiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's taken a long time to re-open this amazing museum completely; but definitely worth a wait! What I thought was really nice was the application you can download and follow different types of tours, which makes your trip even better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Writer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We used our Holland Pass to get in. Still not convinced that this pass was the way to go but we made use of it. Definitely should get there for 1st thing in the morning. When we left at noon, there was huge lineups for everything. coat/bag check, entry, etc. A wonderful display of the Dutch masters. I enjoyed the architecture of the building, the gardens and the beautiful fountain.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 620irene87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rijksmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rijksmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing