We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bees B&B

Save Saved
You added Bees B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bees B&B
Leliegracht 30-B | 1015 DG, 1015 DG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #14 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 3 days in Nov here.The apartment was lovely and as described with thoughtful extras.We were met on arrival by Hans and Brigitte and made to feel welcome,Hans had lots of useful information for us.
The apartment is in a great position for Dam square and central station.
Although Amsterdam is always cold in Nov it was very cold with constant rain and a massive hail storm,what was so nice about our stay was to return to under floor heating,fridge stocked and dvds provided
and must not forget the fresh fruit and warm rolls left outside are room every morning. Pat and Shirley

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was very well presented, spacious & clean. Hans was on hand whenever a question needed to be answered and was incredibly helpful.

At the time we stayed there were some building works at the neighbouring apartment - while it didn't particularly bother us Hans & Brigitte went the extra mile to compensate. I got the feeling that if Hans could have pulled the scaffolding down himself to make our stay more pleasant he would have.

More food and breakfast was provided than we could possibly eat - another bonus and the location with it;s proximity to Dam Square and the Nine Streets is superb.

My one criticism is that it could use a decent sign at the front door - when we arrived we were unsure that we had come to the right address (compounded by the scaffolding) but never the less there were a few panicked moments that I'd rather have missed.

Room Tip: There is only one room to choose from, but don't be concerned it is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte L, Owner at Bees B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Denis and Philippa,

Thank you very much for placing your very positive review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to Amsterdam and stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were having some panicked moments finding the place (mainly due to the scaffolding). We are pleased to say that the scaffolding is gone by now (i.e. by 14 November) - which means that the street number and the building itself will no longer be obscured. Thanks also for your suggestion of a bigger sign - we will certainly consider it. We hope to welcome you again some time in the future. If anybody reading this is worried: the noise from the work next door is all finished now!

Kind regards,

Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful room in 1700 house, Hans and Bridgette are terrific, stocked the fridge with delicious cold cuts, beer, etc. breakfast was delicious, location is ideal. Bed is super cozy. Loved Bar Brandon and Portole Via pizza next door, great spot! Do have to mention if staying in the near future, building is under renovation, and it is loud starting early in the morning. Not a problem for us, as we are up to explore, but may be if you plan on sleeping in-

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte L, Owner at Bees B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Stefanie & Aaron,

Thanks very much for your very kind and positive review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay and loved the location! We are very sorry indeed for the noise in the morning and luckily it was not a problem for you. The main cause at the time being the renovation of our upstairs neighbour’s bathroom – which we are very pleased to say is finished already. The other cause was maintenance work of the building next door, which is also nearing completion in the next couple of weeks. So any visitors after that need not worry about building noise any more! Anyway, thanks again for your kind review – (Brigitte, Bees B&B).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Bees B&B for 3 nights in September to celebrate our mini-moon. I chose Bees based on the positive trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The studio is based in a typical dutch style house alongside Leliegracht canal, the location was perfect for us, next to the Jordaan and only a 5 minute walk from Dam Square. We received a friendly welcome from Hans who showed us how to use the Tv/ shower etc and also took us through the various city areas on a handy map.

There was some construction work during our stay and Hans/Brigitte kindly left an apologetic note and ear plugs for us, however the work didn't really impact on our trip as we were out and about fairly early and the bed was so comfortable that we didn't have any trouble sleeping.

The studio itself was extremely clean and welcoming with a number of little touches such as a fridge stocked with snacks (ham, cheese, beer) and also Amsterdam guide books which we used to plan our day trips. Hans & Brigitte provided a substantial breakfast each morning with fresh fruit, homemade bread and a lovely boiled egg!

We would highly recommend Bees for anybody wanting a relaxing break with a touch of Dutch hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As a couple on a weekend adventure this area of Amsterdam was perfect for us. Located alongside a pretty canal somewhere between the cobbled streets of Jordaan and the city center. Only a short walk north west takes you into the heart of Jordaan where you will find curious little shops selling bric a brac, antiques and trinkets nestled between a wide variety of bars cafes and restaurants. Just 5 mins to the east will take you to the bustling city center.
The room itself has been tastefully decorated with luxurious fittings and comfortable furniture. On arrival the fridge had been stocked with good quality cheese, ham and salami, butter, milk and yoghurts along with a couple of cold beers (a nice unexpected touch). Hans put together a wonderful breakfast which was left outside the room in the morning at our chosen time. Warm bread rolls, croissants, fresh fruit salad and a couple of boiled eggs. The cupboard had plenty of tea, coffee and jam. This delightful breakfast saw us through the day where all we needed at lunchtime was a coffee and a hot waffle from one of the many cafes. Another nice touch from the hosts was the discount card available to use which will save you on many of the attractions Amsterdam has to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend Bees B&B to anyone who wants to explore this fascinating city. Thanks Brigitte and Hans, we hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

All the excellent reviews that we read prior to coming this B&B in Amsterdam were affirmed during our 4-day stay with Brigitte and Hans. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a canopy bed, heated bathroom floor and a great shower and accented with blooming orchids. Every possible need for comfort, convenience, sightseeing and leisure was provided. The breakfasts were wonderful, complete with fresh cut fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice, a variety of freshly baked rolls and eggs every morning added to the well stocked fridge and cupboard which included cold meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal and all kinds of beverages.

The central location in the Jordaan District allowed us to walk to many of the significant sites. It is just around the corner from the Anne Frank House (buy your timed tickets before you arrive) as well as being a short walk to Dam Square. Canal buses were also very near by.

We certainly enjoyed the hospitality and kindness of our hosts who provided discount attraction passes along with an informative map and explanation of the city. We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to spend time in Amsterdam and look forward to a possible return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for three nights in September 2013. Even from before our arrival, I knew I had made the right choice. Communication from Brigitte was quick and comprehensive, with all the information you could want and more. The hospitality from both Hans and Brigitte were second to none. We were welcomed into their lovely home for coffee and a chat, and were provided with a city map on which Hans marked out places of interest according to our tastes. During our morning walk, the room was prepared (there were guests checking out when we arrived) and Hans sent a SMS when it was ready. It was excellent. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, a fab wet room, and a fridge with cold meats, cheese, juice, milk, yoghurt and beer. Breakfast of fresh fruit, bread rolls, croissants and eggs left outside our door each morning was delicious. The location was spot on, and it really helped to make our trip an enjoyable experience. All in all, I could not recommend Bees B&B highly enough, and we would like to thank Hans and Brigitte for providing such brilliant accommodation in the heart of their beautiful city. We hope to see them again soon. Dave and Nick. And for those who do not understand the title of this review... The phrase was first recorded in the late 18th century...Its current meaning dates from the 1920s, at which time a whole collection of American slang expressions were coined with the meaning 'an outstanding person or thing'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bees B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bees B&B

Address: Leliegracht 30-B | 1015 DG, 1015 DG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bees B&B is located in a canal house from 1700 in the heart of Amsterdam, on the edge of the popular Jordaan area, on one of the most romantic canals of Amsterdam: Leliegracht. Dam Square, Anne Frank House and the 'Nine Streets' shopping area are at your doorstep. Central Station, the Red Light district and all major tourist attractions are within easy walking (or cycling) distance or just a short trip by public transport away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bees B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bees B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.