We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with a few small problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ron Blaauw Restaurant

Ron Blaauw Restaurant
Sophialaan 55hs, 1075 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)
020 496 19 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #840 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent with a few small problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We ate here for our anniversary and it was very special! The food was great, my
favorite course was the gansenlever. But 2 small problems - there was no cheese
course or cheese cart! I am a big fan of this and find these top quality places
usually have this feature. Had I known I would have chosen La Rive! And the other
small problem - the amuses came out far too quickly and on top of each other. I did
not hae a chance to enjoy one and there was the server coming with another, and
another, and it was all very special but I could not relax and enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great fun and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place rocks with people. We tried almost everything and liked it. The prices are reasonablr

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Over the top innovative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Being a regular visitor of Michelin star restaurants and Amsterdam native, although living abroad, this restaurant is most certainly different than the others. Incrowd from the local neighbourhood, the South of Amsterdam, very informal, noise, waiters very easy going, trained to say the right things (on the food and the wine) but lacking the necessary knowledge. Although I cant say the food is no good, producst in itself very good, but messed up, emphasis on unusual presentation, over the top to my taste. Lobster with a strange cocomilk foam (same look as washing the dishes), desert presented as a so called "bitter garnituur", something that goes withy a glass of beer in a pub, normally salty but only this time the look was the same but taste was sweet and a real desert. These sort of "jokes" are nice when presented but after the first minute surprise you are left with just a poor desert. Clearly a commercial succes, prices relatively moderate for a Michelin star restaurant, we went back a second time a week later and again they were unable to impress me, you just get bored with the "hooh hah". Too much new, fashionable, "we are different, look at us", waiters very informal (too much hi or hoi in Dutch). Don`t bother dressing, with a jacket you will look like an alien.Jeans will do.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful Lunch in Amsterdam's Restaurant Ron Blaauw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I flew over to Amsterdam on Thursday with a couple of friends for lunch and we met at Ron Blauuw. There were not many diners and we were able to get a lovely table outside on the terrace, and since it was very warm this made the meal very pleasant.

The service was (unsurprisingly, given the staff:diner ratio) very good. Courses came quickly and the everyone was very friendly.

There were several imaginative amuse bouches (see pictures) and a delightful starter, main course and desert. We also had a cheese course before the desert with a selection of Dutch and foreign cheeses.

It's very modern cooking with foams and inventive reinterpretations of things, so if your preference is for traditional Dutch cooking this is NOT the place (try De Vijf Vlieghen or Moeders for that). A typical example was the petit fours that came with the coffee. They looked like traditional Dutch savoury treats - bitterballen, cheese wedges etc. - but they were sweet and delicious.

What I particularly like, after three disappointing meals in French-inspired restaurants (Colombe D'Or, Hedone and L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon) was the fact that they effortlessly produced a vegetarian tasting menu for me which was tasty, imaginative and satisfying. Not just a plate of vegetables. Thank you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“GREAT FOOD.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

So we are accustomed to dressing up for Michelin restaurants and even though we traveled to Europe, we brought dress clothes (jacket and tie and dress and heels) only to be greeted by servers wearing linenblue jackets and matching blue sneakers. Others seated in the restaurant were in jeans and/polos. Needless to say, we were terribly over dressed. It would have been helpful for their website to have a picture or two of this lesser dressing. Keep that in mind and dress comfortably and take the metro or walk instead of taking a taxi.

That aside the food was incredible. Every course. We've eaten at alot of places and this was some of the best food!

We got the wine pairing which was ok but not incredible. It would have been nice if the sommelier came to our table before the last course. Especially since I mentioned to the waitstaff that my husband was a member of the International Wine and Food Society and would appreciate his opinions about the wines. ( The waiter was not so knowlegeable).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ron Blaauw Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ron Blaauw Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ron Blaauw Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.