We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of b&nb Herengracht

Save Saved
You added b&nb Herengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
b&nb Herengracht
Herengracht 176, 1016 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The location is absolutely fantastic. If you don't know what you're looking for, you'll walk right past it. It is very modern, everything was clean and the facilities were excellent.
A complementary bottle of wine waited for us.
The bed was VERY comfortable.
Only negative is the late checkin time of 3pm. I got into Amsterdam at 9.25am and dropped my bags off at the shop above the room. However, I had to wait until exactly 3pm before my code worked to open the door... I would have paid gladly for an early checkin...
Oh, and don't worry about the picture on Google Streetview - that was obviously taken last year when they were renovating the property! I assure you, it's there and fantastic to boot.

Room Tip: There's only one room - and it's fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My partner and I recently visited Amsterdam and stayed at the b&nb based on the three reviews on Tripadbisor. I'm not sure why others have not reviewed it, but it was bar none the best part of our visit to the city.

Situated in the ground floor of a canal house, this place offers an excellent opportunity to live as a resident, not a visitor.

The design is cutting edge and the amenities, including your own nespresso machine, are over the top. Although it is only one room, have no reservations about staying here, it is owned and operated by a lovcal hotel chain that cleans it daily.

If ever I return to Amsterdam, this will be the place I stay again and again and again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

When you make a booking here, they send you the code for the door, so you just let yourself in. No reception, no hassle, it's very refreshing.
The room itself is beautiful and has everything the modern traveller needs: a place to connect your iPod to wall-mounted speakers, free wireless internet, a super-comfortable bed, great rain shower, cable tv, a small fridge and 2 chair that are actually pleasant to sit in. But most of all: independence. You come and go when you want, right in the heart of Amsterdam. It's like temporarily living there, which is a feeling you would never get in a hotel. I'll never stay anywhere else again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This bed and breakfast looks like a nice hotel room, is very clean and bright. The bed is comfortable as well as the huge shower in the bathroom. I stayed here only one night because the second night I was booked in the hotel, however I could have stayed here easily another 2 nights. The art was special and it was a pity I forgot my Ipod.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to b&nb Herengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about b&nb Herengracht

Address: Herengracht 176, 1016 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b&nb Herengracht is located along the canals in the heart of Amsterdam in a completely renovated 16th-century mansion. The b&nb is decorated with modern design and furniture. Characteristics of the luxurious room are the use of high quality materials. Unique is the 5m long custom-made art work of Barbara Broekman. B&nb Herengracht offers you the opportunity to experience Amsterdam as a true resident along the canals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your b&nb Herengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage b&nb Herengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.