We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Save Saved
You added Conscious Hotel Vondelpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 519-521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Double room and bathroom were perfect, very clean. Staff were nice, friendly and helpful.
Short tram ride away from the city but that didn't matter. I think it was about 12 euroes for a 48 hour tram pass and it took about 15 minutes to get to Central Station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    241
    73
    21
    13
See reviews for
45
279
35
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Every little detail is taken care of: warm, friendly staff at reception, organic food at a fab breakfast buffet, cosy rooms and little touches like refillable bottles of eco-friendly toiletries.
The rooms are well-appointed, with everything you will need but none of the wasteful little 'add-on's that you will find at chain hotels: over packaged things like shower caps that increase your carbon footprint just by checking in!
The 'conscious' part is underlined throughout, but with cheery, funny notices that keep it from becoming too righteous. I particularly love the green wall in the cosy lobby, and love that they have made a window seat to relax in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I chose this hotel from among many available options because of its location and their philosophy regarding conservation of resources.

Let me quickly note that I would gladly stay here again. I will, however, provide some details that may help other travelers who choose this hotel.

Right away I'll state that the hotel's staff was great. Everyone I encountered was engaging, welcoming, pleasant, informed and service oriented. My thanks to all, especially Gent, Oliver and Nikka (the only names I know) and also to the Housekeeping Supervisor, whose name I don't know but who spoke lovingly about "the magic of Amsterdam" in an impromptu conversation in the corridor between the "A" and "B" Towers.

Some other reviewers have noted the odd and somewhat awkward location of the "B" Tower rooms, where I stayed. Yes, it's a bit involved to start in the "A" Tower (location of the hotel's entrance, lobby/lounge, Reception, and breakfast room) go up one flight, walk along a corridor to the "B" Tower and then navigate to one's room among four floors, but it didn't bother me as I typically made that trek only once or twice each day.

My first stay (night of 1st December) was in room 428, which I found peaceful and quiet with its location at the end of the main hall on the fourth floor of "B" Tower. I'm not a fan of the hotel's "COCO-MAT" mattresses, which were bowed in a concave fashion, but that's a subjective issue and the bed wasn't truly uncomfortable; it just didn't provide the firm support to which I'm accustomed.

My second stay of four nights (6th-10th December) was in room 423, which was laid out differently and which seemed a bit smaller than room 428 but that didn't really matter to me. What did matter, however, was the noise I could hear from adjacent rooms especially the opening/closing of doors. The entire floor has acoustics that ring "hollow" with metal doors and locking mechanisms and walls that seemed 'metallic' in their quality. Sound readily transmitted from adjacent rooms and/or the hallway to my room. That quality was especially apparent with the family occupying the two rooms adjacent to mine with doors opening/closing frequently as they went between their rooms at night and in the mornings. Did I sleep? Yes, I slept but not without some rather jarring moments (the sound of doors opening/closing and other room-to-room sounds). It was very different from my stay in room 428.

Returning to the positive aspects of this property, I loved its location. It worked perfectly for my needs and the convenience of Tram line 1 literally in front of the hotel was a huge benefit to me. Tram line 1 will take you to/from Amsterdam Lelylaan rail station (three stops from the hotel), which is only one stop from Schiphol airport. No need to go the extra distance to/from Amsterdam Centraal station when traveling between the airport and the hotel.

The surrounding neighborhood boasts a number of cafes, restaurants, pubs and an Albert Heijn supermarket within easy walking distance (or short tram ride) and the serene beauty of Vondelpark is but a couple of blocks away.

I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was sufficient and satisfying at 13.50 Euros and the gentlemen serving the area were always very cheerful and accommodating. I also enjoyed the wine selection offered in the lobby lounge. They offer only a few choices but the wines were of good quality and the price was very reasonable; it was a good way to unwind after a busy day of exploring.

Other reviewers have been a bit bothered by the signs extolling the conservationist approach throughout their rooms, but they're just signs and I appreciate the hotel's commitment to sustainable practices, none of which impacted my ability to enjoy my stay. I think it's fair for the hotel to call out their efforts.

Overall I would gladly return to the Conscious Hotel - Vondelpark and I hope to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am very impresed with the hotel and how quiet it was! Went to Amst for my hubby's bday and couldn't ask for more at the end of the day. Breakfast there is great, especially freshly squeezed orange juice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is easy to find if you are coming from the Centraal stataion - take the number 1 tram. Easy as it stops right outside the hotel.
The room was very clean, cannot fault housekeeping and the heating warm. We were in tower B, it was really quiet so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room in that tower.
We had breakfast each morning, it was a little pricey but it was very tasty. As a tourist I fill up on B'fast then have a small lunch on the go.
The bar in the evening is very expensive. The service is fine however the beer is only brewed down the road a little way (look for the windmill) and about 2 euros cheaper.
The staff were happy and friendly and nothing seemed to be a problem for them.
I would reccomend this hotel if you are happy to use the tram, are not worried about being in the center of the city and like walking through the park.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room in tower B - room 424 nice view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Basic hotel, not the best location for tourism, although it's a 15 min walk from the old city. Anyway, I've been here twice for business, but I wouldn't choose for visiting the city. I'm preety sure there are better options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

tram stop is in front of the hotel, nice restaurants at a walking distance, bicycles are for rent (which is the best way of visiting amsterdam). Breakfast is good, but less expensive if you go to one of the many restaurants in the street . Make reservations if you want to put your car in the garage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Address: Overtoom 519-521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.