We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting concept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 12 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 519-521, Amsterdam 1054 LH, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Interesting concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located behind Vondelpark and opposite a tram spot. You can also walk to Museumplein to visit the impressive Rijksmuseum or just spend some time with dozens of tourists and locals on the plein.
The hotel uses a practical approach to educate about sustainability issues like water usage and recycling. The lounge/reception features an organic cafe with a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    230
    64
    22
    11
See reviews for
41
250
34
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this green hotel - very friendly, professional staff, nice bar / coffee bar in reception. Although it is not in the centre of things, the metro stop is *right* outside the hotel and the Vondelpark is a delight to walk through

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice Hotel, modern, good location and very nice staff...recomended! They also rent bikes so its very handy. Located five minutes from the center, in front of a beautyful park. There is a very good restaurant just across the street called cafe Oslo.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights here this month. The staff were helpful and informative. The room was spotlessly clean and very conformable. We really felt at home. The bar/sitting room area was very relaxing. The breakfast was also of a high standard. The quirky eco labels were fun. We faced the street and it was NOT noisy as the modern windows filter out the sound. Brilliant location, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for five nights. First let me say this property exceeded my expectations.

The lobby/bar area was lovely and had affordable drinks and a nice environment for relaxing in the evenings. The staff was friendly and courteous.

The room, while a bit small, where clean and beautiful with the wall murals. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was HUGE. I loved the eco-friendly concept. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and there was very little noise from outside the room.

Breakfast was more than worth the money, there were so many options and everything was delicious.

The location was PERFECT, the tram stops directly in front of the property so transportation is easy.

On my next trip to Amsterdam not only would I stay here, but I would also recommend it to anyone else looking for a reasonable accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: I had a "inner" room away from the streets and there was no noise at all. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

There are two buildings. If you get the room facing the street it s a bit noisy.

The corridors smell weird. Rooms are clean but they have nothing. If you dont like soft matresses don't get a premium room, you will sleep in a matress like a hamaca(first day we had to put the matress in the floor because it was impossible to sleep in that bed). If you prepay be sure because they don't refund at all.

In our room the sink was leaking.

50% of the staff not friendly just correct.

Apart from that the location is not bad 35' walking from downtown, but the connections are good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is so clean, so stylish, and so affordable. And on top of all of that it's environmentally friendly! Much to recommend.

I stayed here with a friend when we visited Amsterdam as tourists. A Dutch friend had recommended it, and I'm so glad they did. At first I thought it was slightly off the beaten track (i.e not in the middle of the tourist / red light district) which I'm now very happy about! It's next to the park and close to all the museums, and the transport links are excellent. It was so clean and light and modern but very welcoming.

I like it so much that when I had to come back to the city on a business trip I booked it again. As soon as I got in I was so glad I did. Free wifi! Great breakfast! Lovely showers! Big room! Helpful staff! Environmentally friendly! Cheap! Honestly, why can't all hotels be like this?

Now when I stay in faceless corporate places or dirty dives, I think about the Conscious hotels and wish they were a bigger chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Address: Overtoom 519-521, Amsterdam 1054 LH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Conscious Hotel Vondelpark to your Saves list