We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place in a really nice city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Vondelpark to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 519-521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Really nice place in a really nice city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall a really nice place to stay. It may seem a little ways away from the city hub, but we love to walk and it made us explore the beautiful Vondelpark, which was simply delightful. We probably won't have explored the park had we not stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    309
    90
    26
    15
See reviews for
52
339
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you'd like to spend a couple of days in Amsterdam, treat yourself right and in meantime stay environmental friendly, you must book a place in Conscious Hotel. The look from Overtoom street can make you underestimate it, because it looks small. The inside hides two towers of rooms located on 5 floors. Hotel's lounge is spacious, designed in modern way with some flowers and funny photos on the walls. Using Wi-Fi you can sit on a couch or on a pillow on the windowsill. Breakfast is simply good, with variety of coffees, fruits etc. Rooms are clean, decorated with photos of flowers. Bathroom is almost talking to a guest, saying how much water will you save, while showering. Clever are also soap dispensers under shower and next to washbasin, which can be refilled. Soap of very nice consistency and smell is produced ecologically. Hotel is located a few steps from beautiful Vondelpark and a couple of stops from city centre. Tram station is just in front of the building, what is really convenient. I had a very nice stay in Conscious Hotel and I am recommending it not only because of its location or amenities, but also for very nice and helpful STUFF!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've stayed at Conscious Hotel before and really loved it! I knew that booking a room there was the best value in town after extensive research and experience. The staff are always so cool and lovely. I especially love the lobby wall garden. I stand behind everything they stand for. Another quirk is the messages posted in the room about being earth conscious. I have stayed in two of the the roof terrace rooms and they're fabulous. A great time has been spent here, I appreciate the feeling of looking forward to getting back to your hotel room. I will definitely be back. I have a loyalty to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, I highly recommend staying with them!

Room Tip: go the roof terrace on the top - it's so nice to have a balcony and fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent hotel , staff and facilities. We found the hotel through the Cocomat web page. Most probably the best beds in the world. Highly recommend the deluxe rooms with cocomat beds. Only one negative point. You sleep like in a cocoon but the pillows are not cocomat therefore your neck gets in a bad position. I recomend the hotel to buy cocomat pillows that will make your sleep heavenly..........Otherwise very well connected and excellent for all kinds of travel.

Room Tip: Rooms with cocomat beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was delighted to find this hotel, which promotes an ethical/organic experience as a matter of course without it really being overbearing. In this respect I was satisfied that their corporate behaviour is sound, and I could enjoy my stay without any concerns relating to other communities suffering unduly as a result. It is non-smoking throughout. There are two towers that make up the accommodation, which is quite unusual.

The room was bright and appealing, with an en-suite toilet/shower room - ideal for a short break/city break; television (including BBC1) and tasteful artwork.

Breakfast was a very nice buffet-style affair and set on the ground floor away from reception. The food on offer ranged from cereals (including their own granola blend) with fresh yoghurt and toast, continental style meat and cheese with delicious breads, and bacon and eggs all available with the breakfast charge. A help yourself coffee machine provided a nice start to the day.

Service from staff was a combination of politeness and efficiency and the hotel bar well stocked and comfortable. There is a recycling point in the hotel where guests can sort their rubbish accordingly, in keeping with the planet-friendly approach the hotel has.

Situated on a tram route and far enough away from the bustle of the city centre without being too far (it is in fact walking distance - it takes around twenty minutes dedicated walking, should you be inclined), and situated near the park for reflective strolls, this hotel ticks all the boxes for me. It's worth noting that the kitchen provides snacks throughout the day but for an evening meal there are a number of establishments along Overtoom to enjoy if you are not seeking the night life of the city centre.

Overall, somewhere I would definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a built-up area with corresponding views. As this is my first stay, I can not reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Conscious Hotel Vondelpark.

The hotel staff are pleasant and friendly, and we were able to upgrade to one of their rooms containing a Coco-mat bed (which make for a great night's sleep!). Our room was large, clean and very comfortable.

The hotel has a lovely seating area (complete with a 'living wall' of plants) and bar serving hot and cold drinks. This is a great place to spend a couple of hours, making use of the hotel's collection of board games!

The tram stop is right outside the front door and takes you to Leidseplein in a few minutes.

We really liked the environmental focus of this hotel, and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room with a Coco-mat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent two days in this hotel. We both had a bike with us so it was perfect to reach the center of amsterdam by a bikeride trough the Vondelpark.
I've chosen this hotel a second one because they try to bring the touristic business to a suistanable way. The room was clean and friendly equipped and a very cozy mattress. Additional it has a iphone/pod soundsystem. The bathroom was almost that big like the sleeping room with a nice modern shower. It would be perfect if the room has a small balcony.
The breakfast buffet has quiet a wide choices (bacon, eggs, fruits etc.) and it's all organic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Address: Overtoom 519-521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.