We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! Simple & affordable with some style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Vondelpark to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 519-521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good! Simple & affordable with some style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I picked this hotel for the price - it was the cheapest hotel I could find last minute on a 5 night trip to Amsterdam in December 2011. It is a budget hotel; simple amenities in the room and a slightly out of the way location. However, it is styled very nicely, so it stills feels fun & like you're on vacation. In addition, the staff is very nice.

My husband and I like to walk, and even in typical Dutch winter weather found the walk from the hotel to various sights and Central Station enjoyable and not too time consuming. I imagine in nice weather it would be down right pleasant.

The breakfast in the hotel is quite good and not too expensive; the first morning we did not have the breakfast and walked quite far before we found a suitable spot and probably paid the same amount in the end; so the next four mornings we ate at the hotel. It would be a nice addition to the breakfast if hot chocolate was available!

There is a small bar in the lobby where drinks can be ordered at any time; we had hot chocolate or drinks late every night after hoofing it back from Central Station.

The bed was good - but the pillow are of the awful neck breaking variety I hate and often find in hotels . . . so I'm beginning to think maybe it is just me and most people love these huge pillows.

This hotel could make a few small additions to add to the budget appeal of it's accommodations; a mini fridge and kettle would be awesome, allowing guests to take advantage of nearby groceries and affordable take-out spots to save money. I would pay a little extra for an "enhanced" room that included these features.

I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 512 and it was very nice! Not too noisy, although the wind howls at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    305
    90
    26
    15
See reviews for
52
337
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The hotel presents itself as an environmentally-friendly establishment, which is really good but remains a marginal aspect for the average traveller (like myself).

What I most appreciated is 1) value for money compared to other hotels in the city; 2) location: a walkable distance from the canals; 3) proximity to the tram stop (number 1 at your doorstep).

Despite being quite bare and not particularly spacious, the rooms are rather comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and look pretty recent, plus we found ours to be pretty clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in tower A, they're more easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The maximum temperature outside was 10C and the first might we nearly froze. This hotel is eco-friendly and they shut down the heater when a host leaves. They never told us and as we got there at 7PM the room was cold. After that lesson learned, the following night was fine even if there's a constant air fan regenerating the room's air, as we were told, which didn't make it cozy enough.

The standard rooms are smaller than expected specially the bathroom but it's clean and new.

Staff is friendly even if asking for a room in tower B wasn't specially well received by the woman that checked us in: "you're just guessing" she replied when I asked her for a room looking towards the park (following other TripAdvisor tips)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpclapham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My only complaint about this hotel is that I only stayed for one night. I had an overnight layover and booked the hotel based on reviews from other travelers and wasn't disappointed. It is away from the hustle of the city center, but a tram to Leisdensplein and the main train station in the city center stops literally at the front door. The staff were incredibly helpful- I arrived a day early and had booked through Expedia and the front desk clerk allowed me to use the hotel phone to call Expedia to change my arrival date. I wish I could have stayed longer and explored the large park behind the property, but will be staying here again for sure the next time I visit Amsterdam. Note that the beds are twins, pushed together, as is the European style.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

i stayed at conscious for a night on the 24th november 2011. the hotel is incredibly clean, smart and modern. i like that it had a eco-friendly twist, most things are recycled and the bathroom has little notes about little changes that have been made to help the environment. we didn't eat at the hotel but there are a few restaurants around. the staff were incredibly friendly and the beds were so comfy! i would stay here again.

Room Tip: if you choose the sixth floor you can have a balcony which looks out onto the city. the friendly sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

my girlfriend and i stayed at conscious hotel for 4 days a few weeks ago. it was such a nice stay. great location, modern and clean rooms, nice lobby area and overall good feelings. we've never been to amsterday before, so we were not sure where in the city to stay, so we did some research and asked around friends, etc. Definitely ignore the downtown area. it's a mess and it doesn't represent amsterdam at all. it's dirty, full of loud, drunk tourists. the rest of the city is amazing, around the canals, the jordaan, de pijp. well worth walking around and discovering nice cafes, stores, galleries. this hotel is located by vondelpark, and its a 15 min walk to the nice part of the city. we never took the tram within the city, but it can be done, itd take 5 mins.
we never had breakfast at the hotel, but there are many cozy cafes around the area, so we didnt think it would be worthy.
the room itself was very clean, modern, cozy and comfy. it was facing the street, so there was a bit of street noise, but i'm kinda used to it, growing up in a big city. but for those looking for absolute silence, should request a room on the other side of the building.
overall it was a great stay. cool hotel, great price, good location and more importantly, super clean and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Just came back from a two night stay at the Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, and was quite happy with it.
The rooms are a decent size, the bed was big and comfortable, if I can complain about something it would be he oversized pillows, but having said that if a pillow is over one inch high it's oversized to me. Toilet was nice and clean, however a door, or curtain, on the shower box would be nice. Room and toilet were clean, but the wall needed a lick of paint, as it was full of marks.
Staff was always friendly and happy to help. Did not have breakfast, thought 10euro per person was a bit overpriced.
It's a bit far from the centre, but the tram that takes you there stops right in front of the hotel, but do yourself a favour and walk through Vondelpark.
All in all a good hotel for the price, would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Address: Overtoom 519-521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.