We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! Simple & affordable with some style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Vondelpark to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 519 - 521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good! Simple & affordable with some style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I picked this hotel for the price - it was the cheapest hotel I could find last minute on a 5 night trip to Amsterdam in December 2011. It is a budget hotel; simple amenities in the room and a slightly out of the way location. However, it is styled very nicely, so it stills feels fun & like you're on vacation. In addition, the staff is very nice.

My husband and I like to walk, and even in typical Dutch winter weather found the walk from the hotel to various sights and Central Station enjoyable and not too time consuming. I imagine in nice weather it would be down right pleasant.

The breakfast in the hotel is quite good and not too expensive; the first morning we did not have the breakfast and walked quite far before we found a suitable spot and probably paid the same amount in the end; so the next four mornings we ate at the hotel. It would be a nice addition to the breakfast if hot chocolate was available!

There is a small bar in the lobby where drinks can be ordered at any time; we had hot chocolate or drinks late every night after hoofing it back from Central Station.

The bed was good - but the pillow are of the awful neck breaking variety I hate and often find in hotels . . . so I'm beginning to think maybe it is just me and most people love these huge pillows.

This hotel could make a few small additions to add to the budget appeal of it's accommodations; a mini fridge and kettle would be awesome, allowing guests to take advantage of nearby groceries and affordable take-out spots to save money. I would pay a little extra for an "enhanced" room that included these features.

I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 512 and it was very nice! Not too noisy, although the wind howls at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The hotel presents itself as an environmentally-friendly establishment, which is really good but remains a marginal aspect for the average traveller (like myself).

What I most appreciated is 1) value for money compared to other hotels in the city; 2) location: a walkable distance from the canals; 3) proximity to the tram stop (number 1 at your doorstep).

Despite being quite bare and not particularly spacious, the rooms are rather comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and look pretty recent, plus we found ours to be pretty clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in tower A, they're more easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The maximum temperature outside was 10C and the first might we nearly froze. This hotel is eco-friendly and they shut down the heater when a host leaves. They never told us and as we got there at 7PM the room was cold. After that lesson learned, the following night was fine even if there's a constant air fan regenerating the room's air, as we were told, which didn't make it cozy enough.

The standard rooms are smaller than expected specially the bathroom but it's clean and new.

Staff is friendly even if asking for a room in tower B wasn't specially well received by the woman that checked us in: "you're just guessing" she replied when I asked her for a room looking towards the park (following other TripAdvisor tips)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpclapham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My only complaint about this hotel is that I only stayed for one night. I had an overnight layover and booked the hotel based on reviews from other travelers and wasn't disappointed. It is away from the hustle of the city center, but a tram to Leisdensplein and the main train station in the city center stops literally at the front door. The staff were incredibly helpful- I arrived a day early and had booked through Expedia and the front desk clerk allowed me to use the hotel phone to call Expedia to change my arrival date. I wish I could have stayed longer and explored the large park behind the property, but will be staying here again for sure the next time I visit Amsterdam. Note that the beds are twins, pushed together, as is the European style.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

i stayed at conscious for a night on the 24th november 2011. the hotel is incredibly clean, smart and modern. i like that it had a eco-friendly twist, most things are recycled and the bathroom has little notes about little changes that have been made to help the environment. we didn't eat at the hotel but there are a few restaurants around. the staff were incredibly friendly and the beds were so comfy! i would stay here again.

Room Tip: if you choose the sixth floor you can have a balcony which looks out onto the city. the friendly sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

my girlfriend and i stayed at conscious hotel for 4 days a few weeks ago. it was such a nice stay. great location, modern and clean rooms, nice lobby area and overall good feelings. we've never been to amsterday before, so we were not sure where in the city to stay, so we did some research and asked around friends, etc. Definitely ignore the downtown area. it's a mess and it doesn't represent amsterdam at all. it's dirty, full of loud, drunk tourists. the rest of the city is amazing, around the canals, the jordaan, de pijp. well worth walking around and discovering nice cafes, stores, galleries. this hotel is located by vondelpark, and its a 15 min walk to the nice part of the city. we never took the tram within the city, but it can be done, itd take 5 mins.
we never had breakfast at the hotel, but there are many cozy cafes around the area, so we didnt think it would be worthy.
the room itself was very clean, modern, cozy and comfy. it was facing the street, so there was a bit of street noise, but i'm kinda used to it, growing up in a big city. but for those looking for absolute silence, should request a room on the other side of the building.
overall it was a great stay. cool hotel, great price, good location and more importantly, super clean and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0dines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Just came back from a two night stay at the Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, and was quite happy with it.
The rooms are a decent size, the bed was big and comfortable, if I can complain about something it would be he oversized pillows, but having said that if a pillow is over one inch high it's oversized to me. Toilet was nice and clean, however a door, or curtain, on the shower box would be nice. Room and toilet were clean, but the wall needed a lick of paint, as it was full of marks.
Staff was always friendly and happy to help. Did not have breakfast, thought 10euro per person was a bit overpriced.
It's a bit far from the centre, but the tram that takes you there stops right in front of the hotel, but do yourself a favour and walk through Vondelpark.
All in all a good hotel for the price, would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerioprolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#99 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#91 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#138 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Address: Overtoom 519 - 521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing