We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niemeijer Bakkerij

Niemeijer Bakkerij
Nieuwendijk 35, 1107 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 020-7076752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #359 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dam Square
East Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent coffee and croissant with friendly service. What more could you ask for in the morning? It may not be the most attentive service but that's not the type of place it is. It is a casual environment where you seat yourself and then pay at the cash when you are done. The place is very clean and you can watch the bakery as it is all open.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“bad, not french and arrogant people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well, I'm French living in Amsterdam
We went there yesterday afternoon to buy some French cakes: millefeuille and chocolate éclair
First the guy, maybe the owner, said to us: "wait"!, not even something like "sorry, I'm with you in a minute" or something like that..
Not a smile, not a thank you not a good bye....
Mille feuille just horrible and dry: no icing. It was just a dry puff pastry with custard
Chocolate éclair: bready... heavy and the presentation was just hugly, not shiny
3.euros for an éclair...
So if you like French cake don't go there, it's everything but not French
If you like to be welcome by rude people: this is the place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great home made bread, beverages and food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply great to get your little pastries, bread or stop by for french breakfast or drink.
They use all organic ingredients, home made lemonade, home made iced tea, etc. They even do macarons and little tartines. Great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great for a continental style breakfast. We chose the jam with several small breads and croissants option. On first glance it didn't look much but filled our boots. The coffee and tea (several choices) were good. Service friendly and helpful. Niemiejer's is very busy with locals popping in for their daily bread and pastries so it's also a good place to people watch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3 mornings in Amsterdam, 3 breakfasts here, that good it was!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The title says it all, we were 3 full days in Amsterdam, and the 3 days we stopped for breakfast here. And it was NOT close to our hotel.
You can choose between take away or sitting in to have breakfast/brunch/lunch, and the last option has the plus that the bakery is just there, downstairs, so the place smells delicious!
The bread is so good and fresh I would recommend any of the sandwiches in the menu, and I know my boyfriend would complain if I don't say he bought there the best brownies he has ever had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niemeijer Bakkerij also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Niemeijer Bakkerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niemeijer Bakkerij, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.