We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven from the rain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Caprese Amsterdam

Trattoria Caprese Amsterdam
Spuistraat 259-261 | 1012 VR, 1012 VR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 620 0059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #632 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This accessible Italian restaurant in Amsterdam serves antipasti, authentic pastas and scrumptious secondi piatti prepared with fresh ingredients for lunch and dinner. All the meat is organic, the mozzarella is from the buffalo and the espresso ranks among the best in Amsterdam. Genuine smiles, enjoyable music, home made ice creams & cakes and history on the wall, make Trattoria Caprese an original Italian oasis in Amsterdam. The kitchen is open from 12 a.m. till 23 p.m. but from 10 a.m. you're welcome to enjoy an excellent coffee. Highly recommended!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Haven from the rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We weren't actually aiming for this restaurant when we went out but due to the foul weather, we ducked in here instead. And what a lovely restaurant it was. The welcome was warm and friendly, and the service good. The food was very nice, although my friend got a little caught out by how hot the chilli and tomato pasta was. It felt a little more expensive than I expected but that certainly didn't ruin it.

A great find.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    134
    25
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds,UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was a superb Italian restaurant and well worth making a note of as it is close to the centre but quite easy to walk straight past, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely place to enjoy lunch on Queens Day or any day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After walking around allot on Koningennedag, my wife decided we were hungry and foot tired. This little spot looked pleasant so we stepped away from the flowing crowds for a small treat. Instead of a small treat we decided on lunch after looking at the food being brought out to some other customers.
We didn't go gaga over to much food, but instead had a light pasta meal which was perfect. Honestly I can't tell you what we had. We just pointed to the next table and said we want that. It had chicken and some veg in a nice red sauce. It was simple but extremely tasty.
We did enjoy an Apple Strudel with Ice Cream and I had a wonderful Cappuccino and the wife had a Hot Coco which fixed us up for the windy evening ahead of us.
We tried to get back for another late meal, but couldn't find another evening free with so many good places to eat in Amsterdam. But I'll be back some day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a table for two here without booking. It was very busy in a bustling and reassuring way. The Caprese starter (as I suppose it ought to be, given the name of the restaurant) was excellent. Good main courses followed. The service was welcoming, attentive and polite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Although they offered a small selection of dishes we really enjoyed all our selections. Good service. Try their home made bread. Prices are ... as expected, neither cheap but nor overprised - simply value for money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Caprese Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Trattoria Caprese Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Caprese Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.