We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Song Kwae Thai Food

Song Kwae Thai Food
Kloveniersburgwal 14a | 1012 CT, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #883 of 2,338 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ordered pad thai with beef and soup. This place is relatively quiet and the service is pretty fast with friendly attitude. The prices are also good if you're on a budget. And the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were a group of 4. They quickly set up a table for us and service was very swift and friendly (though staff was not looking for lengthy explanations). The food arrived very quickly also and was of reasonable quality (seasoning was not fabulous thus a bit bland for some of us). Rice portions were too small really. The green curry looked good. Pricing was reasonable considering the quick service. Not a place really for a lengthy meal but more a quick bite on your way.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location next to red light district. Friendly service. Very clean. Try their house dish "Song Kwae pad Thai with shrimp". Wonderful!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very good Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic curry-and-rice plates )) HIGHly recommended! Close to the center, nice service, very delicious. Green curry with beef and rice very good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food in uninspiring surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We wandered into this restaurant looking for some food on a Saturday night- not the best time if you haven't booked. We'd been to one up the road which looked better on walking in, but was very dirty, and the waiter didn't seem to care - he didn't even give us menus for 10 minutes.
So we walked into Song Kwae, which looks very canteen like, but at least it was clean. We were just hungry and looking for something to fill us up. The waiting staff were very friendly and professional. The food was stunning. Really tasty, subtly flavoured. Not too expensive. Excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Song Kwae Thai Food also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Song Kwae Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song Kwae Thai Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.