We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Song Kwae Thai Food

Song Kwae Thai Food
Kloveniersburgwal 14a | 1012 CT, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #578 of 2,151 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location next to red light district. Friendly service. Very clean. Try their house dish "Song Kwae pad Thai with shrimp". Wonderful!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    14
    18
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very good Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic curry-and-rice plates )) HIGHly recommended! Close to the center, nice service, very delicious. Green curry with beef and rice very good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food in uninspiring surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We wandered into this restaurant looking for some food on a Saturday night- not the best time if you haven't booked. We'd been to one up the road which looked better on walking in, but was very dirty, and the waiter didn't seem to care - he didn't even give us menus for 10 minutes.
So we walked into Song Kwae, which looks very canteen like, but at least it was clean. We were just hungry and looking for something to fill us up. The waiting staff were very friendly and professional. The food was stunning. Really tasty, subtly flavoured. Not too expensive. Excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relatively inexpensive, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place has pretty decent Thai food, not the best I've ever had in my life, but pretty good. It's a great place to stop in if you want a quick, decently priced meal. It's always very busy, another sign that it's a good bet. Service is very good, and the menu has a wide variety of choices. It's a pretty small, noisy place, so if you're looking for a quiet dinner, it's not for you. Also, large parties may have to wait a while.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Simple surroundings great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We took some time to find it but worth the effort. Doesn't look much from the decor and seating but the food and service were excellent. Although it was busy which was a good sign the speed of service was still prompt. Also great value and worth the number one ranking for Thai food in Amsterdam on trip advisor

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny1966-10, Owner at Song Kwae Thai Food, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Pembo 1962, Thanks for your review of our restaurants. Your comments resembles exactly what we like to do. Great food for reasonable prices in a informal surrounding. Hope to see you again. Cheers Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Song Kwae Thai Food also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Song Kwae Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song Kwae Thai Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.