We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively inexpensive, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Song Kwae Thai Food

Song Kwae Thai Food
Kloveniersburgwal 14a | 1012 CT, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #589 of 2,229 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relatively inexpensive, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place has pretty decent Thai food, not the best I've ever had in my life, but pretty good. It's a great place to stop in if you want a quick, decently priced meal. It's always very busy, another sign that it's a good bet. Service is very good, and the menu has a wide variety of choices. It's a pretty small, noisy place, so if you're looking for a quiet dinner, it's not for you. Also, large parties may have to wait a while.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    16
    19
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Simple surroundings great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We took some time to find it but worth the effort. Doesn't look much from the decor and seating but the food and service were excellent. Although it was busy which was a good sign the speed of service was still prompt. Also great value and worth the number one ranking for Thai food in Amsterdam on trip advisor

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny1966-10, Owner at Song Kwae Thai Food, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Pembo 1962, Thanks for your review of our restaurants. Your comments resembles exactly what we like to do. Great food for reasonable prices in a informal surrounding. Hope to see you again. Cheers Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went on New Year's Eve to get some quick cheapish food down before the beer onslaught. It did what we wanted, no frills, not bad.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were seated right away and our order was taken soon after -- we ordered a variety of dishes and requested to have the selections made spicy. When the food arrived, we were underwhelmed with the lack of spice. We tried to flag down one of the severs and she said she would return to our table, but she never did--we were hungry and decided to eat. The food is decent if you want to have a quick meal. The portions are small and the flavors were average. Song may have been having an off night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have been visiting this small Thai restaurant for years. It's a simple non pretentious restaurant with tasty food and friendly staff. There is a large menu and all tastes are catered for, including seafood, meat and vegetarian dishes. The green mango salad is one of my favourites. If you enjoy squid I recommend the squid with snake beans and bamboo shoots and chilli. Snake beans are the Asian equivalent to European green runner beans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Song Kwae Thai Food also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Song Kwae Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song Kwae Thai Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.